Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No psycho-babble spoken here
The Dance of Fear is the book formerly known as Fear and Other Uninvited Guests. The name change most likely came as the result of author Harriet Lerner's other Dance book titles - Dance of Anger, Dance of Intimacy, Dance of Deception and so on.

Lerner uses her experiences, patients' experiences, and other people's experiences - a valuable way to teach what...
Published on August 28, 2005 by Meryl K. Evans

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light weight
It's good book for someone with light to moderate fear issues, but doesn't seem to have enough substance to help those with deep set fear and anxiety.
Published on March 30, 2010 by Mom65


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No psycho-babble spoken here, August 28, 2005
This review is from: The Dance of Fear: Rising Above Anxiety, Fear, and Shame to Be Your Best and Bravest Self (Paperback)
The Dance of Fear is the book formerly known as Fear and Other Uninvited Guests. The name change most likely came as the result of author Harriet Lerner's other Dance book titles - Dance of Anger, Dance of Intimacy, Dance of Deception and so on.

Lerner uses her experiences, patients' experiences, and other people's experiences - a valuable way to teach what fear is as it has many meanings and situations that bring it on. She doesn't throw, "Do this..." out there or make claims you'll get past your fear in one day. Instead, she shares the stories of several patients who had to deal with a challenge over a period of time.

Lerner covers rejection, anxiety, change, the workplace, looks, and when things fall apart. When it comes to addressing fear, only one thing is guaranteed - one solution does not fit all. What helped Anne Morrow Lindbergh cope with the loss of her infant son won't necessarily work for someone else.

The message is that we all face fear in spite of our education, knowledge, courage, or any other characteristic that supposedly makes a person fearless. When we accept fear as a natural occurrence in our lives, we learn to deal with it better than if we didn't accept that.

Some who see a book classified as psychology or self-help run away. It's understandable as such books can be too sugary sweet, too philosophical, full of annoying affirmations, or full of exercises. This one has none of these characteristics. Heck, it makes you laugh. It doesn't even mention OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder) and it has a drop of panic attacks, but not from someone who is dealing with panic / anxiety disorder. It's about the fear all humans experience, not just those with an illness.

As a result of this book, I walk away with a better understanding of fear and its cousins, shame and anxiety. I'm not cured of anything. Instead I have gained insight into this strong emotion and should have a better handle on it the next time I dance with it.

The Dance of Fear has none of the big words that Lerner learned in medical school. Instead of quoting complex theories, she uses meaningful quotes you may have come across. The outcome is a book that reads like a friend wrote it and who happens to be knowledgeable on this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars look at your shadows, January 1, 2006
By 
Rebecca Brown "rebeccasreads" (Clallam Bay, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dance of Fear: Rising Above Anxiety, Fear, and Shame to Be Your Best and Bravest Self (Paperback)
Rebeccasreads highly recommends THE DANCE OF FEAR as book about the tangled tango of life with people -- sometimes you lead & sometimes you follow, & if you know what makes you tick, who's doing what isn't nearly as important as who's in charge of you, & that talking it out is the one thing that really helps.

Dr. Lerner doesn't write trite self-help hand books, the questions she asks & the answers people give her set the scene for her articulate insights. Take time to read THE DANCE OF FEAR because it's about what these emotions are, how we behave because of them, what harm happens when we don't know what's driving us, & how we react to events, great & small, that have us frozen in the headlights or hiding away from life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, October 31, 2006
By 
M. Sharifi "reza sharifi" (College station, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dance of Fear: Rising Above Anxiety, Fear, and Shame to Be Your Best and Bravest Self (Paperback)
Anxiety, panice attack and depression, these are all clinical problems that sometimes need medication, but you can't get a complete cure unless you remove the sourse of them. You need to increase your wisdom to better see the problem. I found this book amazing in this job. You can feel the ocean of wisdom in her words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light weight, March 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dance of Fear: Rising Above Anxiety, Fear, and Shame to Be Your Best and Bravest Self (Paperback)
It's good book for someone with light to moderate fear issues, but doesn't seem to have enough substance to help those with deep set fear and anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dance of Fear: Rising Above Anxiety, Fear, and Shame to Be Your Best and Bravest Self (Paperback)
Not a self help book in my opinion though. Its good for identifying different emotions so later on, when you are experiencing them, you know what it is that your feeling, and hopefully be better able to respond in spite of those negative emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful and inspiring read, March 8, 2010
By 
Peter Strong (Boulder, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dance of Fear: Rising Above Anxiety, Fear, and Shame to Be Your Best and Bravest Self (Paperback)
This book is a good resource for those struggling with anxiety and depression. Another great resource for facilitating personal transformation and overcoming anxiety, anger and other forms of emotional stress is mindfulness. I also recommend 'The Path of Mindfulness Meditation' available through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably great for those with very specific phobias, and fears., March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dance of Fear (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book would be addressing the root causes of fear, the way that fear hobbles us and how to overcome it to a more well rounded and satisfying life. I gave up after about the fourth scenario, as these anecdotal stories had nothing to do with my experience, and everything to do with post divorce, fear of flying, public speaking, etc. Maybe it got better, but that wasn't what I needed to read about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by Dr. Read the sample chapters. My First Kindle Purchase, October 17, 2013
By 
Dragon Breath (Left Coast, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dance of Fear (Kindle Edition)
Recommend by my doctor. Great tips for dealing with fear that triggers a depressive episode. No exercises except by example in the narrative. Read the first two chapters in the sample download. The rest of the book is less vanilla than chapter two and discuses tougher cases. Most of the cases are gender generic, but a few are more directed to females. I am male and still found the book informative and helpful.

An honest book that does not promise to heal you overnight by reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great book, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dance of Fear (Kindle Edition)
Lerner is so real. She doesn't preach or speak like she has all the answers. She teaches the reader how to examine their own core values and truths and then explains how to communicate these to the significant people in our lives. She shows the ways we manage anxiety and how this can help or hinder our relationships. A terrific book! I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dance of Fear (Kindle Edition)
This book is fantastic. She is funny, yet insighful. I honestly hat "self help" books. However, this is not one of those. She is smart, fun, and put your anxiety into something almost tangible to tackle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dance of Fear: Rising Above Anxiety, Fear, and Shame to Be Your Best and Bravest Self
$13.99 $10.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.