Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight: Behind the Scenes
This book is awesome, big and heavy, but awesome. I usually dont buy things like this, I love Chris Nolan's work/imagination, Batman and Batman Begins and the Dark Knight. If you like these things, you will love this book. The first 60 pages or so are drawings/concept art of all sorts of things ranging from the Batpod to Harvery/Two Face. There is alot of cool Joker...
Published on July 22, 2008 by J. Butts

versus
35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a Script Book
The script accounts for 3/4s of this book. The 1/4 of the book that's left has barely passable production art photos and interviews. In other words this is mainly a script book which skimps out considerably on the "featured production art" it proudly advertises on the front cover. This is a big disappointment compared to the book "The Art of Batman Begins" by Mark...
Published on July 25, 2008 by namtaB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a Script Book, July 25, 2008
The script accounts for 3/4s of this book. The 1/4 of the book that's left has barely passable production art photos and interviews. In other words this is mainly a script book which skimps out considerably on the "featured production art" it proudly advertises on the front cover. This is a big disappointment compared to the book "The Art of Batman Begins" by Mark Cotta Vaz. It should get a 2 rating if not for that fact that its about The Dark Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight: Behind the Scenes, July 22, 2008
By 
This book is awesome, big and heavy, but awesome. I usually dont buy things like this, I love Chris Nolan's work/imagination, Batman and Batman Begins and the Dark Knight. If you like these things, you will love this book. The first 60 pages or so are drawings/concept art of all sorts of things ranging from the Batpod to Harvery/Two Face. There is alot of cool Joker stuff as well...you wouldn't believe some of the original concepts. Page 66 and beyond is the script, and if you have seen the Dark Knight you know how amazing the script is. It says its the shooting script and so far it is pretty acurate to what I saw in the film. The pages are high quality and glossy. This book looks and feels like a collectors item considering the quality of it and how well this movie is doing at the box office.

5 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book But Not Great!, August 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am an avid Batman fans. I purchased The Art of Batman Begins and normally I also purchased this book. I like this book way better than The Art of Batman Begins. It has more behind the scenes look and the script which was absent in the AOBB. My complaints for this book: Not enough coverage on the designs on Two Face, which I wouldn't mind seeing more of. The part where they discuss the making of the Joker is good, but we've seen many of his in pre-release promo materials, so not much surprise there. Overall, I still find this book a good addition to Batman movies fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a little artwork, a lot of script, July 21, 2012
This review is from: The Dark Knight: Featuring Production Art and Full Shooting Script (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:50 Mins

This is a reprint of a book released in 2008 - fortunately, the price has dropped significantly making this a much better purchase. But it is still a bit disappointing, given that a very small percentage of the book is actually devoted to art. To be fair, the art is quite spectacular... there just should have been a lot more of it.

If you are expecting a book full of imaginative artistic images, this is not the book you want to purchase. As a fan of "The Dark Knight", I received this as a gift, and was shocked at the limited amount of art contained within. The first 65 pages serve as the production art portion, with the remaining pages all devoted to the shooting script.

The script is interesting to read through, but its not the main reason most people buy a book like this. Of the artwork that is included, the highlights include the new design of the batsuit and the batpod. Also, it is interesting to see the progression of the look of the Joker. The book shows concept art that is very different from what the final character looked like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not wearing hockey pants either, July 31, 2008
This book is as disappointing as the film was excellent. Primarily an oversized script with a small padding of mainly pre-production art and a light sprinkling of text, neither of which provide much in the way of additional information. The written content feels like a filler article for a weekend entertainment supplement.

Also, I wonder if the scope and focus shifted during the compliation or editing; some retailers are advertising this book as featuring content and interviews that are not included.

It's unfortunate that with the general drift towards CGI, true technical publications like Cinefex have featured less actual behind-the-scenes production detail and more "we did this and that, and then just replaced it all in post", and we are left with lightweight efforts like this that will probably fail to satisfy those enthusiasts who delight of the production process as least as much as the end result.

Ah well, hopefully there'll be more comprehensive material on the disc release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hesitated at first, but I am glad I bought it!, September 8, 2008
By 
Steven D. Bragg "StevenDB" (Columbus IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It galls me that they have yet to put out many books based on "The Dark Knight" as there were several with "Batman Begins", hopefully that will change. I put off ordering this book several weeks because I feared it had little content I found interesting, but it surprised me. It had more good photos from the film than I thought it would. The script is nicely laid out with small photos from the film on the sides of many of the pages. If you are a TDK fan I think you will love this book, yet it leaves you thirsty for more. Now if we can only get them to release a visual guide as they did with "Batman Begins"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars " A GREAT KNIGHT", August 12, 2008
By 
I can't say enough good things about this book! Word for word performed by the actors in script form, storyboard graphics, and dozens of production photos from development to screen all on a glossy page stock! My only criticism is, that there are not enough behind the scenes info or photos of two main characters getting into make-up or at least showing the process to convey maybe the depth and complexity of these characters when performing on screen!!!!! In any event, this book is still a must have for any "DARK KNIGHT" fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look into the world of Gotham City and Batman, August 28, 2008
This wonderful book contains the full shooting script of "The Dark Knight". You also get pretty wonderful sketches of items like the Batpod and Tumbler, and full color shots of the entire movie spread out while reading the screenplay. While reading through the screenplay, you can get a sense of what the actors must capture in their performances through the written word. And in the Batman world, you know that, "The taste for the theatrics" is the norm here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great script read, September 17, 2008
By 
Oscar (Davenport, IA) - See all my reviews
Having seen the film more times than I probably should, the necessity to purchase The Dark Knight Screenplay was not far off on the list of things I wanted after viewing the film. Having placed over fifty pages of production art, make-up tests and still photos, topped with an excellant crime/drama of a story - only gives you more reason to buy what has already become such a landmark piece in the world of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big name big book, little art!!!, November 17, 2008
I love the movie, and i love to get inspired by artbook, but this book like other said its 3/4 script, major disappointment, barely any concept, and the art work wasnt all that fantastic.
If you guys love movies artbook, i suggest the superman return artbook and the Xmen2 book, its full of awsome concept, storyboard, etc. Or most of the pixar book except a couple... like the incredible...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dark Knight: Featuring Production Art and Full Shooting Script
$12.98 $11.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.