Customer Reviews


1,134 Reviews
5 star:
 (532)
4 star:
 (421)
3 star:
 (125)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


149 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Crafted Story!
Oliver Potzsch is by far one of the finest storytellers of our time. The Dark Monk is a fantastic follow up to The Hangman's Daughter. Again, he brings the world of Jakob Kuisl, the hangman of Schongau, vividly to life.

His characters are well crafted, the story is a maze of mystery and intrigue with a dash of romance. I adore Magdalena, Jakob's daughter...
Published on March 27, 2012 by MommaMia

versus
126 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun but not convincing tale
Oliver Pötzsch used the motif of the mystery novel and applies it to "The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale," set in 1660. It's winter with a capital "W" in the Bavarian Alps. The story takes us and his characters from village to village with excursions through the countryside and to a series of monasteries.

The plot is set in motion when a poisoned...
Published on April 18, 2012 by loce_the_wizard


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

149 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Crafted Story!, March 27, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Oliver Potzsch is by far one of the finest storytellers of our time. The Dark Monk is a fantastic follow up to The Hangman's Daughter. Again, he brings the world of Jakob Kuisl, the hangman of Schongau, vividly to life.

His characters are well crafted, the story is a maze of mystery and intrigue with a dash of romance. I adore Magdalena, Jakob's daughter. She is a passionate, intelligent woman who I admire for her strength of character. Her lover Simon, the town doctor, is certainly a more interesting character because of her presence in his life. If not for her, he'd be just another small town doctor who cares far too much for his appearance. She gives him depth, and he gives her an ounce of respectability, which is virtually impossible for a woman in her social position in that time period. Being the daughter of the hangman was certainly a fact that made people fear her, and gave her little options in life. Her relationship with Simon really mixes things up a bit in this story, especially when the beautiful Benedikta Koppmeyer arrives in town.

This story centers on the murder of a priest, and the confounding clues he leaves behind. We are swept into the world of the Knights Templar, their secrets and mysteries that have made them so fascinating throughout history, are laid bare here, and are center stage in this well crafted tale.

I look forward to further installments in the Hangman's Daughter series. Thank you Mr. Potzsch, for creating these fascinating characters!

This is truly a 5-star success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun but not convincing tale, April 18, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Oliver Pötzsch used the motif of the mystery novel and applies it to "The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale," set in 1660. It's winter with a capital "W" in the Bavarian Alps. The story takes us and his characters from village to village with excursions through the countryside and to a series of monasteries.

The plot is set in motion when a poisoned priest uses his dying wits and strength to leave a clue that proves a gateway into a bigger mystery, drawing in the stalwart trio of hangman, executioner, and healer Jakob Kuisl; his somewhat stubborn but attractive daughter Magdalena; and the town physician's son who is a bit of a dandy but smart as a whip, Simon. But while this mystery is the story's center, other events are also crucial, chiefly, a group robbers are preying on travelers, particularly merchants and their cargos, and a deadly illness is killing many of the villagers.

Along with the murdered priest's sister, this group follows a trail of various clues and riddles, each leading to more answers and more questions. Tracking this core group is a trio of murderous monks (not sure which one is actually the dark monk of the title), various church leaders, and another trio of soldiers-for-hire. As you might imagine, murder, mayhem, kidnapping, and so forth ensue.

The story seems as though the scenes were staged for a play or graphic novel with characters tripping over each other in unexpectedly places. I thought that the plot and resolution hinged on a series of increasingly unlikely coincidences playing out and bringing the characters back together in, for me, an ultimately unsatisfactory resolution. In other words, my "willing suspension of disbelief" could only go so far before I felt like the author was winking at me instead of making the story really resolve itself.

I thought "The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale" was a fun but not convincing tale. The characters seemed a bit cartoonish to me, the settings a bit too sketchy, and the plot a bit too twisted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and addictive to read, April 25, 2012
By 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
When I read some of the reviews of the first book in this series (The Hangman's Daughter) I was both intrigued and worried. It sounded like an interesting period to set a mystery-type series, but some of the reviewers seemed to think the book was both anachronistic and ahistorical in certain ways. That may have been true of the first book (I can't say, as I haven't yet read it) but it certainly isn't true of this one.

I found The Dark Monk to be fast-paced and interesting without sacrificing the feel of the era in which the story is set. The pace of actual events may take place at 17th century speed, but the interactions and descriptions of the various character's mental workings was very well-written and entertaining. The book has several interesting characters and you get to hear the story from their point of view in different chapters. The main characters are Jakob (the hangman), Magdalena (his daughter) and Simon (what passes for a doctor in the 17th century).

Jakob is the kind of iconoclastic detective I'm a real sucker for. He is going to do things his own way and ultimately will rely chiefly on his own counsel, even though he allows Simon and Magdalena brief glimpses into what is going on in his head.

Simon is the kind of character who you alternately like, pity, despise, and then like again. He can be vain and flawed, but he also realizes his short comings and exhibits humanity during a period of time when people had to scratch and claw 24/7 just to keep going.

Magdalena alternates between fierce pride that she is the hangman's daughter and dangerous despair that her position in her village will prevent her from having what she wants in life-- namely, Simon.

The murder is grisly enough and the intrigue is fun and involves Templar Knights-- what could be better than Templars and treasure?!

I laughed out loud several times and really enjoyed the voice the author employs when writing as Jakob. The humor is dry and sophisticated while still maintaining an earthy tone.

Is it likely that these type of folks would have books (exceedingly rare for even those in the highest of social circles) and have the leisure and ability to actually read them? The writing is so good that I can stretch disbelief far enough to believe it. I also believe the humor and slang in the book are representative of the time. "The Life of Gargantua and of Pantagruel," was written over 100 years earlier than the time this book is supposed to be set and it contains similar bawdy and sly humor.

I loved this book and I will be buying the first book in this series. If you enjoy the murder mystery genre and have books by authors like Cruz-Smith, Nesbo, and Chandler on your shelf I think you will like this one, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing sequel, June 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale (US Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I quite enjoyed "The Hangman's Daughter" last year, and as such, I thought I'd give "The Dark Monk" a shot. I was very disappointed though - in pacing, plot, and characterization, this simply does not live up to its predecessor.

Positive: Like "The Hangman's Daughter," "The Dark Monk" is meticulously researched, and the historical periodization makes it an intriguing read about a rather dark and unknown time and place (17th century Bavaria).

Negatives:
1. Poetzsch overstresses the oddities of this period - one has to read not once, not twice, but literally 5 times about the ostracizing of hangmen and their families and how the society depended on them but wouldn't openly acknowledge them.

2. Language: This is probably both a translation issue (the novel is originally written in German, and I wish there were a Kindle edition of the German) and a bad writing issue. Too many exclamation marks (makes the writer sound like an overexcited teenager), repetition of phrases, proliferation of cliches, the use of the word "dastardly" (what? no-one seriously talks about a "dastardly crime"!). All of which can be summed up by quoting the following sentence: "That would probably mean certain death for her" (page 240). This is the point at which I gave up on the writer/translator (if this is all due to a bad translation, this probably means certain unemployment for someone).

3. Plot: There is no urgency about solving the mystery (clues supposedly leading to a treasure hidden by the Knights Templar), so one doesn't really get carried away. The solution is reached through a staggering number of coincidences (people leaning against the right statue, falling from a tree and just happening to land on the right branch, etc.), whilst the identity of the Dastardly Master-criminal is pretty obviously revealed about 1/4 of the way in, and thus is neither really a surprise nor does anyone care since he has such a small role in the novel. The only interesting twist is in the sub-plot, "The Mystery of the High-Way Robbers" (and yes, the phrase "high-way robbery" is frequently invoked), which the hangman himself pursues.

4. Characterization: Having 4 protagonists/detectives really strains the ability of the reader to care about any of them - I had no sympathy for the romance between the hangman's daughter and Simon (and, in fact, was rooting for them to break up since they're both total idiots), the hangman's daughter (supposedly the main protagonist) spends most of the novel in a hysterical jealous huff, and her love interest, Simon, is a short, rather silly, and incredibly obtuse (based on how long it takes him to solve these mysteries) dandy who cares more about his clothes than, well, pretty much anything else. The hangman is cool, I liked him - the only sensible character in the novel.

This definitely does not live up to "The Hangman's Daughter," which I remember as being an engaging page-turner with believable, reasonably deep characters and an interesting historical setting. All that is left of that in the sequel is the historical setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE DARK MONK certainly will appeal to lovers of historical fiction, June 18, 2012
By 
Bookreporter (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
In the middle of the winter in a small village in the Bavarian Alps, a parish priest unearths an amazing discovery during renovation of his church. Realizing the significance of the long-buried secret, the dutiful priest sends a dispatch informing his superiors of his finding. When his letter falls into the wrong hands, a gang of dark strangers with evil intent descends upon the village.

On a dark winter night, Father Koppmeyer is poisoned and dies. Schongau's diminutive medic, Simon Fronwieser, is called to investigate. It doesn't take long for him to determine that the cleric has been murdered. To track down the killer, Simon solicits help from the much-feared but surprisingly compassionate hangman, Jakob Kuisl, and Kuisl's attractive, but fiercely independent daughter, Magdalena. Their hunt intensifies when the late priest's sister, Benedikta, arrives on the scene and demands to find out what who is responsible for her brother's death.

In the course of their investigation, the team discovers clues and riddles that lead them to dark days in the Catholic Church's history --- to the times of the Crusades --- and a treasure hidden by the outlawed Knights Templar. To throw the hangman off his pursuit and thwart his progress in tracking down the real murderer, a city official assigns him to round up roving gangs of desperate and starving robbers hiding in the woods. Meanwhile, lurking in the shadows, a secretive and treacherous group of zealots follows Simon and Benedikta with the intent of preventing them from taking possession of the treasure.

THE DARK MONK, the follow-up to Oliver Pötzsch's THE HANGMAN'S DAUGHTER, has all the elements of a compelling story --- a fascinating setting, rich historical events, dark secrets and intrigue. (An interesting fact: Kuisl is based on an ancestor of Pötzsch.) While the time period and historical details undoubtedly have been carefully researched, some awkward translations, along with a huge cast of characters, slow down the action. For example, a 17th-century European woman referring to herself in dialogue as a "businessperson" detracts from the story's authenticity. Moreover, it is difficult to keep track of the characters, when even the lesser ones are given full names and some names are similar or the same: Magda, Magdalena, Martha, Maria, two Michaels, two Jakobs.

Despite these distractions, THE DARK MONK certainly will appeal to lovers of historical fiction peppered with mystery and suspense, as well as readers interested in a dark period of European history.

Reviewed by Donna Volkenannt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark Monk, July 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale (US Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I did not enjoy this book. I felt it was poorly researched. There were many modern words of expression that would not be used at the time period this book depicted. It also felt like it was trying to write for a movie contract.......books and movies should be totally different. I realize more and more this is being done but I don't like it and will watch that I don't purchase those books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A light read, superficial and derivative, July 13, 2012
By 
JengaJ (Bethesda, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale (US Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I greatly enjoyed the first volume in the series, and eagerly picked up this installment when it was published. It faithfully carries forward the basic elements that made the first so interesting - the characters of the hangman as detective, his feisty daughter, and the town physician, who together get themselves into, and out of, a variety of sticky situations. Historical details are nicely drawn, and the reader feels himself immersed in the era.

While the characters in particular remain attractive, the plot this time feels derivative, reminiscent of too many Knights Templar/Dan Brown books and National Treasure movies, with clues and riddles hidden - for no apparent reason - in musty manuscripts, ancient crypts, plaques, etc. The side characters and villains are caricatures, and there is never any doubt as to the ultimate outcome.

It's a breezy read- like watching a 1930's adventure movie or one of the latter-day Indiana Jones movies, perhaps - a way to while away the time, but not fulfilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale (US Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. The author did a fine job of setting the reader into the 17th century. The story was just as good as the First "Hangman's Daughter" tale, which I loved. It is a page turner. I especially like the link from the author to the main character. Being a genealogist myself, this intrigued me. I would love to see more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad translation, September 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale (US Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I like the story itself very much but was frustrated about the translation. Had a hard time to finish reading the book. Finally I went to amazon.de and read the preview pages of Oliver Poetsch's books. So much of his humor and content of this series of Hangman's Daughter is getting lost by the poor english translation. Ordered the other books in german from amazon.de
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Escapist Fiction with a Historical Twist, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Monk: A Hangman's Daughter Tale (US Edition) (Kindle Edition)
In the second of the Hangman's daughters series, Potzsh takes us on an entertaining journey for the lost treasue of an old religious organization. This is a trope that has been seen often before, think National Treasue, DaVinci Code, etc. The book stands by iteself, however, and through the position of its female protagonist provides some opportunity to to think about society, the place of women and knowledge. It is better than pure escapist fiction, I enjoyed it, and I'd recommend it, but in the end is just a half step above most escapist fiction. Buy it. Read it. Enjoy it. Just don't expect to be challenged by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2114 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.