The Dark Wife and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
The Dark Wife has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery USA
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: International shipping available. This fine copy is in our depot and should be with you within 10-11 working days via Air Mail. This title is print on demand.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $1.95
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Dark Wife Paperback – May 12, 2011


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.99
$9.77 $11.49

A Court of Thorns and Roses
"A Court of Thorns and Roses"
Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! Learn more | See more from Sarah J. Maas
$12.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

The Dark Wife + Ash + Huntress
Price for all three: $30.39

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Sarah Diemer is an indie author and storyteller. She writes stories about courageous young ladies who love other ladies, makes jewelry out of words and wire and loves her wife more than anything ever. Find out more at http://www.oceanid.org
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 264 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (May 12, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1461179939
  • ISBN-13: 978-1461179931
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.6 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.1 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (84 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #669,491 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Sarah Diemer is an award-winning author of lesbian young adult (YA), speculative fiction. She lives in a purple-doored cottage in Western New York with her beloved wife, several furred creatures and a few mischievous pixies. She enjoys covering things in glitter (and putting them on Etsy), and is a professional fairy. She is addicted to tea.

Her debut novel, The Dark Wife, the YA, lesbian retelling of the Persephone myth, won the 2012 Golden Crown Literary Award for Speculative Fiction, and was nominated for a Parsec Award (first two chapters of the audiobook). Sarah also had the honor of winning the Kissed by Venus "Fresh Voices" Short Story Competition.

She writes her lesbian adult fiction under the pen name Elora Bishop, including the Sappho's Fables: Lesbian Fairy Tales series, which she co-writes with her wife, author Jennifer Diemer.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Rachelphoenix on May 30, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This excellent mythic retelling of the story of Persephone and Hades, re-imagined as a lesbian romance, is gripping, beautifully written, and sensual.

Unlike many self-published books, this one was clearly put out by the author solely because of its "edgy" lesbian content, not because it wasn't good enough for mainstream publication. It's very well-written and well-structured, and in a less homophobic and sex-negative world, it might well have come out from a YA fantasy publisher, sold well, and maybe picked up a few awards. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful By Kat K. Munro on May 18, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I expected The Dark Wife to be a romantic lesbian Young Adult retelling of the Persephone and Hades myth, a sort of modernized, supernatural love story underground. That turned out to be only the surface layer of an empowering, emotional, spiritually rich journey of one young woman who, with uncommon courage and compassion, overcame the impossible in charting a destiny of her own making to become one of the most powerful and enduring Goddesses of all time.

Persephone reclaims her life from those who sought to control her. She refused to allow men, whether Gods or mortals, to determine her fate or to write her history. She follows her heart to lasting love, yes, but more importantly she found within herself a Goddess to believe in.

This book healed my psyche. My tears soothed the bitter, broken places inside me that have felt victimized and powerless. Persephone's triumph reignited my own belief in my inherent goodness and strength. I was reborn, along with Persephone, in the retelling of her myth. Persephone is a role model, not just for lesbian women and girls, but for females everywhere.

Reclaim your power and live, fearlessly, with heart.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Madeline Claire on May 20, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
From the first page to the last, THE DARK WIFE ensnared me. The prose is lyrical and sumptuous, and the world of the Greek gods and goddesses comes alive on the page, especially in the author's descriptions of the Underworld.

I followed Persephone's story with empathy, because she represents so much of what we all experience as we come of age. This book is much more than a love story, and much more than a re-telling of a myth. It is a reclaiming of a story that, although familiar to most, has been twisted over the centuries and turned into the story of Persephone's rape instead of Persephone coming-into-her-own. Sarah Diemer reclaims the goddess's real divinity in this original interpretation, empowering Persephone, women, and children of imperfect parents everywhere (hello everyone).

Stories like these can change a life, and change the world. I cannot recomment THE DARK WIFE enough.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
As Persephone comes of age, she's introduced to the gods of Olympus--and to Zeus, selfish, violent, and powerful. But when she meets Hades--to her surprise, not a god but a goddess--she discovers something new: choice, and freedom. The Dark Wife is a pointed lesbian revision of the Persephone myth, and desperately well-intended; it's also an amateur effort. As such, it's as often good as bad: Hades is compelling and inhuman but vulnerable (and like her, the Underworld is beautifully envisioned); Persephone's inner monologue leans bombastic, but her journey is fueled by self-determination and love. It's exactly the character arc I want, but it's all a bit too good: the morality is simplistic, Persephone's battle for choice is too explicit and grows repetitive, and the romance--although sensual and well-developed--is saccharine. It's good YA, reading swift and easy, containing the best intended messages of character growth, but it wants refinement: tighter editing to bring out the descriptive potential of Diemer's voice, and a story somewhat more oblique so that the good intentions can blossom around the reader than than battering her over the head. As it is, The Dark Wife has all the right components but it rings slightly hollow; I recommend it only moderately.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Lady M on November 5, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
A friend suggested this book to me several months ago. I was reluctant to read it due to the fantasy and YA label. I read the reviews and this appeared to be of broader interests than YA.

This story was absorbing and the prose was well done. I liked the author's perspective of presenting this as a story of a young woman following her own destiny and not the course society, or her parents, have charted for her.

It is a story that speaks to women of all ages. For teenagers, Persephone is a good example for those who are struggling to find their own path in the world.

I liked how Hades was presented as a mature woman with a sense of justice and compassion. I think this is more than a YA story and would appeal to adults, especially women. This story has humor, drama, as well as a romance
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Neva Davis on June 20, 2011
Format: Paperback
Ms. Diemer has done much more here than retell the myth of Persephone, she has created a mythology where women make their own choices, defend their lives and their loves, and stand up for what they believe. This sets her story in stark contrast to so many myths where women are traded, married off, or sacrificed to advance the interests of male gods and heroes.

The prose in this story reads almost like poetry, even the harsh and tragic scenes have a kind of beauty to them.

This story is a lovely romance between two women, one young but wise beyond her years, the other timeless but changed by love. But beyond the feminist and lesbian retelling The Dark Wife forces us to reconsider some concepts many of us hold sacred, like the nature of forgiveness and redemption. There is so much hope here: hope that we can love again after unimaginable loss, hope that we can forgive and be forgiven, hope that whatever our surroundings we'll find paradise in those we hold dear.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
The Dark Wife
This item: The Dark Wife
Price: $12.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?