Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 18, 2013
As someone with high blood pressure, I found this book packed with informative tidbits and easy-to-follow instructions. I had never heard of the DASH Diet before, and it was interesting to know that it was created by the National Institutes of Health. However, this diet is not just for people with high blood pressure, but can be used as a healthy lifestyle change for anyone, including children, and is beneficial to all.

The author, John Chatham, has conveniently laid this book out into sections. The book fully describes the diet, including reasons as to why the diet works and the health benefits it provides, and gives a comprehensive background into the origin of the diet, the studies conducted and the results of those studies. As the book states, “weight loss is just a happy side benefit of the diet.” It also provides an extensive step-by-step starting plan.

The recipes provided are clear and easy-to-follow. In addition to recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the book includes substitutes for yummy treats, chip dip and even chips, so the diet doesn’t leave you feeling denied or unfulfilled. There were even simpler recipes for the busy mom to follow. I enjoyed the well-laid-out and easy-to-read features of this book, and found the information that was provided very enlightening. I can’t wait to try it out!
0Comment|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
The DASH diet is not a typical diet that only lasts until maximum weight is lost. It is a diet that could and should be implemented every day to create a healthy lifestyle. Weight loss is accomplished through cutting unhealthy fats and the increased intake of fiber and vitamin C. Not only is the DASH diet good for weight loss, it also helps lower high blood pressure through the low sodium and high fiber meal plans.

The key to this fantastic diet is the frequency of meals and snacks. It is important to eat at least every two or three hours to keep blood sugar levels steady. This provides an increase in energy throughout the day. This book provides essential recipes with healthy delicious ingredients and gives lists of food to enjoy those to avoid.

In addition to the food, the DASH diet uses cardio and strength training workouts. The seven day workout plan included can be modified to suit the dieter body type. Exercise helps lower the blood pressure, support metabolism, and promote the loss of stored body fat. Together, the diet and exercise routine fight hypertension, heart disease, and metabolic conditions to lose weight while creating the ultimate environment for weight loss and a healthy life.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
The DASH diet isn't your typical diet, although every diet says that-- unlike other fad diets, this book provides you with all the information you need to make sustainable, lasting changes in your life. It gives good basic guidelines that are easy for everyone to follow, with a healthy amount of common sense mixed in for good measure. Things like "consume less alcohol" and "reduce sodium intake" may seem like common sense, but this book gives real-life advice for busy professionals who are just trying to live a healthful lifestyle in a busy world.

In addition to being easy to follow and blissfully filled with advice about dieting in moderation, the recipes in this cookbook are excellent. They're tasty and easy to make, which is great for anyone who wants to make healthy changes without sacrificing a lot of time better spent elsewhere. In all, this book is a great tool for anyone interested in making more healthful choices in their lives!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
Contained easy to read and understand logic behind dash diet, however, at the risk of being simple it fails to mention the hazards of processed foods, such as deli meats, white breads, cookies, cereals and non organic dairy products. It also encourages the use of margarine which is a fake, chemical filled product. Everyone should stay away from "fake" foods. I also think it may encourage a bit too much dairy fat and meat protein and not enough fats from omegas such as nuts, fish and olive and protein from legumes and nuts, which are much healthier.
22 comments|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
What I really like about The Dash Diet for Beginners by John Chatham is that it accomplishes what any diet plan needs to in order to work: make it EASY to start!
This book doesn't beat around the bush boring you with too much information. It explains quickly and clearly how to improve your health by instituting the Dash Diet.
Things like how to calculate your BMI are explained so that you can quickly calculate it yourself. The 10 tips for getting started are a perfect way to get you to quit procrastinating. The 7-day Workout plan is easy to follow and easy for anyone to start. The explanations of food make sense and I love the recipe section because you don't have to get creative, you can start the diet right away with recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

Really makes starting the Dash Diet easy. Thumbs up!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
This book was full of helpful facts, making sure it was known that this would be a permanent lifestyle change.I enjoyed that every chapter was separated into categories. For example, each chapter talked about what types of diseases lifestyle choices could cause. Then the diseases would be broken down into sub categories such as the vitamins and minerals necessary to rectify the situation. Knowing the intention of doing this "diet" put me in the right mind set to accept the information given. Also, that a positive side effect from following these suggestions would be weight loss. Since losing weight alone can benefit the body in many ways, there was a lot of overlap or repetition in facts throughout each chapter. Sometimes it would have been beneficial to have a little more background information on the terms used. When discussing cholesterol or blood pressure, more information on the measurements would have made it easier to fully comprehend. Therefore, having that information could have been more helpful. However, at the end there was a lot of great recipes and exercise suggestions to get started in the right direction. All in all a very helpful read and reference to keep around for the future.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
Originally the DASH diet was created by the National Institute of
Health (NIH) as an answer to the rising incidence of high blood
pressure in America. Today, as section one of the book explains, the
DASH diet is that and so much more. Whether you want to do away with
high blood pressure, which can lead to a stroke and/or heart disease,
or you just want to live a healthier lifestyle, this book gives you
all the tools you need to get started and luckily it doesn't take very
many tools. Section 1 clearly explains what the DASH diet is and its
multiple health benefits - lowering blood pressure, weight loss and
preventing or ridding oneself of Type 2 diabetes. That's followed by
how to plan out your diet, which includes 10 tips for getting started
- i.e. - get rid of emotional eating and drink more water - as well as
an easy-to- follow weekly workout plan. In addition to the book's
40-plus recipes, it gives a list of foods allowed and not allowed
while on the diet. (Luckily most foods, including bleu cheese and
popsicles are allowed.) Breakfast, lunch, dinner and desert recipes
are included as well as a 7-day DASH diet meal plan.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
If you have been diagnosed with high blood pressure, Metabolic syndrome or type 2 diabetes you need to read the DASH Diet for Beginners book. The DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension)Diet was created by the National Institutes for Health (NIH) for people with high blood pressure. In 1992 the NIH funded extensive research on how food affects hypertension. The result of that study gave people with hypertension an alternative way of controlling their blood pressure without the use of medication. It is now a proven medical fact that the DASH Diet is highly effective in lowering blood pressure. Author John Chatham does an outstanding job of breaking down the results of this study into easy to follow guidelines. The best part of this book is that you can tailor this diet to your liking. John Chatham understands that we are all at different starting points when it comes to our health and he aptly addresses all these stages. As I see it, there is one of two ways in which a person can handle their health - prescription drugs or live a healthy lifestyle. And at some point we all decide which path we want to go down.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
Heart disease is a major problem in my family, and finding a diet that protects me from high blood pressure and diabetes is of the utmost importance. That's why I really enjoyed the Dash Diet for Beginners booklet. It's extremely helpful in offering sound, scientific advice on how to cut salt and sugar from my diet without it feeling restrictive and painful. Though the author, John Chatham, doesn't sugar coat the process, and explains that dedication, planning, and life changes are essential, the methods offered in the book seem straightforward and completely doable. Meal plans, delicious recipes--including appetizers and snacks--and flexible fitness suggestions mean I can tailor the diet to my lifestyle. It's the customization at every step that I truly appreciate.

John Chatham also elaborates on the sensible science behind the Dash Diet, stuff I normally gloss over, but here the explanations for BMI and BMR (basal metabolic rate) suddenly clarified the issues for me. This is a great, sensible, and easy plan for the health-conscious rest of us. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
I was really excited to receive this book, but I was extremely disappointed when it arrived. First, it does not outline the DASH plan very well at all. Basically, it tells the briefest of descriptions and a formula to calculate calorie amounts. The remainder of the book was recipes. I guess I was expecting a more detailed outline of how to eat according to the DASH plan, how much a serving constituted, and what would be the appropriate starting points. Unfortunately, this book did not meet those expectations. I found a better book at my local library, and I believe I will be purchasing that book in the near future.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse