Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DASH Diet Book!
My father was recently diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes and once I learned the DASH diet was rated number one for combating the disease, I've been searching for the right book to introduce to my dad. Chatham's is the best resource I've found, so far. You are instructed how to slowly ease into the diet, using the tools included, like worksheets, reference tables, food...
Published on September 24, 2012 by y.roc30

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no nutritional information for the recipes
This book is about the DASH-diet, a low-sodium, low-fat diet that many persons follow in order to reduce blood pressure and other health problems. Wouldn't it make sense for a low-sodium, low-fat recipe book to show for each recipe the nutritional information?
At the very least, it should show the sodium content.

Without this information, the recipes are...
Published 15 months ago by KindlinG (:


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy Lifestyle Living, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Dash Diet Health Plan is an easily broken down way to change your lifestyle. The Dash plan helps you to take precautionary measures to control and/or prevent high cholesterol, heart disease and diabetes. Giving you the facts of what primarily causes these life threatening diseases and how you can make small changes that will have large benefits.
To develop The Dash Diet the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI), with the help of five other highly respected medical research institutions ran a series of case studies over an estimated ten-year period. The Dash Diet has been rated as one of the best diet/lifestyle plans for people dealing with type 2 diabetes.
Also easy to follow meal plans, menus and varied recipes make it easy to put together a meal plan that can work for anyone and everyone. The Dash plan also gives you a breakdown of two different workout plans and how this can be varied depending on your level of activity and your fitness level.
This is a plan that can be adjusted to fit any person's schedule, showing you how to plan ahead with shopping and what you should be looking for when you are reading labels and packaging within the store.
This is a plan that could benefit people of all fitness levels and health levels with the facts and research to back it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customized, Organized, Wonderful for high blood pressure sufferers, November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dash Diet Health Plan: Low-Sodium, Low-Fat Recipes to Promote Weight Loss, Lower Blood Pressure, and Help Prevent Diabetes (Paperback)
The Dash Diet Health Plan is for everyone but really great for those of us with high blood pressure. What is really lovely is the chance to customize the plan to your own needs instead of working out like an Olympian or eating like one. You never get bored on the work out plans and the meal ideas are delicious. The format is very organized and offers you the ability to keep track of your progress. Everything is backed by the research done in five universities on this exact diet so you know the nutrition is excellent. Thinking in the real world John Chatham (the author) even gives you a technique to shop in the grocery store and avoid the foods you should not eat. Overall, it is a comprehensive lifestyle health plan designed to avoid the traps of daily life and promote good habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
By 
Virginia Grant (Arlington, Ma United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dash Diet Health Plan: Low-Sodium, Low-Fat Recipes to Promote Weight Loss, Lower Blood Pressure, and Help Prevent Diabetes (Paperback)
I like thos book It is very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On first reading, June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written and sympathetic to the dieter' s common roadblocks with suggestions for overcoming them. Recipes are unique and sound surprisingly tasty. My only criticism is that almost all of the recipes are for 4 servings. It is too easy for a single person to eat more than the recommended portion when one is hungry. As well, the menu is for 2000 calories a day and you are left to figure out how to reduce the calories for your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative !, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dash Diet Health Plan: Low-Sodium, Low-Fat Recipes to Promote Weight Loss, Lower Blood Pressure, and Help Prevent Diabetes (Paperback)
A lot of information on the diet. Suggestions on what to eat and not to eat healthy foods that will help you with your blood pressure and more. There are a lot of meal suggestions and how to prepare them. Very informative great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, June 17, 2014
By 
Brian P.Ludden (Stevensville, Md United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dash Diet Health Plan: Low-Sodium, Low-Fat Recipes to Promote Weight Loss, Lower Blood Pressure, and Help Prevent Diabetes (Paperback)
This book is OK if you are just starting with the healthier lifestyle. I am not a big health/fitness nut, but I found that the recommendations that they were giving were things that I had already been doing for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite "must read" for those with hypertension/cholesterol issues as well as weight issues, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I appreciate the clear and precise guidelines contained in the Dash Diet Health Plan. Focused on low sodium food choices, this book gives the reader a wide choice of menus, and the reasons are very clear for providing these particular offerings, as opposed to others. Menus items include stuffed mushrooms, garlic basil shrimp, artichoke chicken, avocado cheese melts .. one is definitely not "deprived" of flavor and "fun" in this diet plan. For those attempting to make and follow a life choice of staying healthy and observing a solid "diet" which can extend over years, I would highly recommend the Dash Diet Health Plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boost your overall health, June 1, 2014
This review is from: The Dash Diet Health Plan: Low-Sodium, Low-Fat Recipes to Promote Weight Loss, Lower Blood Pressure, and Help Prevent Diabetes (Paperback)
I think this book really does provide good recipes for someone who suffers from either diabetes or just wants to boost their overall health. This book provides lean and delicious food recipes. This book is not a diet r3eally it is a way of eating healthier. It focuses on not loosing fat but adding healthy fats and low sodium foods. It teaches one to stop eating processed and chemically dangerous products .I really enjoyed reading this book and seeing all the endless possibilities of great healthy recipes. This book really educated me on what our body needs and how beneficial it is for us to stay healthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to eat healthy, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Dash Diet is a great way to eat healthy and probably even to lose weight depending on your personal medical condition of course! Regarding the medical claims: generally, a diet like this can help you to be healthier but everyone is different. Remember also that we’re working with holistic remedies here, not miracle cures. Low-sodium recipes are great for lack of water retention which can pack on weight. I haven’t tried any of these in my own kitchen but they look great. Shopping lists are a must and this stuff doesn't seem too expensive. Right on! Try to make sure you check with your doctor though before making a lifestyle change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great diet plan for people of all ages, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This books is great for most anyone. It contains informative information for both shopping and eating. For example, there is a chapter on nutritional labels for shopping. I always knew about the labels but I never really knew what to look for when it came to certain types of nutrition. The book offers info on how to stock up on great foods for a "dash diet", and how to exercise to get the most from your foods and the Dash Diet plan. The book is very easy to understand overall and offers great recipes for most types of eaters. I'm talking about hearty get full type of recipes. Overall I found this book really helpful and full of practical information that should help to lower your blood pressure and improve your overall health if you use it in the way it was intended. Great book and a healthy solution to anyone looking to change their eating habits for a more healthy lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.