Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a great female character!
There are several things that make this movie a standout in the apocalyptic genre. Most notably the fact that the pivotal female character isn't just a badass that looks hot while fighting. She has a legitimate backstory and motivation that is truly compelling. I also enjoyed the fact that the movie doesn't insult you by explaining everything before the story starts...
Published on November 25, 2012 by coffee please

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tain't Bad
I've watched a few end of days movies. The Day After. The Road (very bleak). I didn't mean to rent The Day. I thought I'd clicked on The Five Day War. I'd previewed The Day and when it played after purchase instead of Five Day War, I thought Ok, I'll run with this.

As usual, character names have escaped my memory. Four friends have been roaming in search...
Published on December 11, 2012 by Felinity


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a great female character!, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day (DVD)
There are several things that make this movie a standout in the apocalyptic genre. Most notably the fact that the pivotal female character isn't just a badass that looks hot while fighting. She has a legitimate backstory and motivation that is truly compelling. I also enjoyed the fact that the movie doesn't insult you by explaining everything before the story starts. It's not a perfect film, but for an indie it's pretty damn impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome film, November 27, 2012
By 
cindy nunes (West Point, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day (DVD)
never really been into apocalyptic/horror films, decided to try this based on word of mouth - it is definitely worth watching. I recommend this without hesitation, and I'm a female senior citizen!!! :) :) You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film!!!, November 14, 2012
This review is from: The Day (DVD)
definitely what i was hoping for. a great post apocalyptic movie!!! a small group of people looking for food and refuge fall into a trap set up by cannibal hunters, i wont spoil the movie for you. just watch it now!!! very quick and to the point never a dull moment. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tain't Bad, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day (Amazon Instant Video)
I've watched a few end of days movies. The Day After. The Road (very bleak). I didn't mean to rent The Day. I thought I'd clicked on The Five Day War. I'd previewed The Day and when it played after purchase instead of Five Day War, I thought Ok, I'll run with this.

As usual, character names have escaped my memory. Four friends have been roaming in search of food since some catastrophic event ended normal society years back. They once were 12, but the rest have died or been killed. The story starts with them miserable, tired and sick on the road. There is a 5th of their number, joined them later in their trek, and she is not as trusted. They find a house and take refuge but are afraid. One young man is very ill. The mystery surrounding the 5th comes out quickly. She is one of "them" (enter dramatic music). The house is a trap, set to lure them into the basement, where they think they find food, and spring the trap. The basement locks down with one of the three killed in the trap. A siren blares. They burn their dead friend to prevent him from being taken by their nemeses. Just like in The Road, cannibals also roam hunting their human counterparts to eat. It was the cannibals who set the house trap and now the cannibals who attack. The 5th member of their party once belonged to a cannibal band. She fights with them, however. The end scene might be the best in the movie. This is a bleak, violent yet poignant story of friends remembering their loved ones, who have died, wishing for the past, clinging to hope for a future. (and hunted by cannibals)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Stand Delight, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day (Amazon Instant Video)
I really liked this movie. Though I rarely write reviews I had to do so with this movie. I read the reviews before I watched this flick and was disappointed because the trailers seemed good. However, after viewing this apocalypse drama I was very glad that I did not pay attention to the na-sayers. This movie has good acting, cinematography, action, and a great story line in the way it doesn't fill in all the details. The person watching this has to use some imagination which in this case is a good thing. The entire movie held my attention and I never knew what was coming next. This is one of those gems that is a pleasure to discover. I highly recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this film., January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day (Amazon Instant Video)
Gritty, survival horror. People who like "The Walking Dead" will like this film though it has nothing to do with Zombies or anything supernatural. Just mankind's capacity for evil when survival is at stake. I rented this and would recommend it to anyone who likes post-apocalyptic survival films. The female lead was awesome and I think what I liked most about her is that she is not the prettiest girl. She felt realistic and like someone you might actually meet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling post-apocalyptic horror in 'The Day', December 16, 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Day (DVD)
At Glasgow Frightfest, I was excited about and had the privilege of seeing The Day, a postapocalyptic horror movie that stars recognisable actors such as Dominic Monaghan (Lord of the Rings, I Sell the Dead), Cory Hardricht and Shannyn Sossamon (One Missed Call, Catacombs) and from the looks of the trailer, it was right up my street.

Although the synopsis appears to be standard horror fayre, it is quite deceptive in its simplicity. The Day has at its heart, the choices people will make when faced with extreme situations and the lengths they will go to in order to protect their own interests. Base and higher level emotions are at play here: survival, love, mistrust, redemption and hunger...

For me, one of the major thrusts of the film was what motivated the cannibals and their potential prey; they both sought to survive in the face of near-certain annihilation and protect their own interests... but went about this in very different ways.

The inevitable assault on the farmhouse, alluded to in the synopsis, put me in mind of John Carpenter's Assault on Precinct 13 and added a greater degree of dread to proceedings as the near anonymous assailants began their attempts to overcome the building's defences.

Alongside Monaghan and Sossamon is Shawn Ashmore. Best known for his role as Iceman in the X-Men franchise, Ashmore is carving himself quite the niche as a genre actor (Solstice, The Ruins, Frozen, 2010's Mother's Day) and puts in an almost unrecognisable turn as Adam, bulked up, bearded and a mile away from the fresh-faced Iceman of X-Men.
Directed by Douglas Aarniokoski (who has worked on directorial duties on horrors such as: The Faculty, From Dusk Till Dawn, Howling VI)and written by Luke Passmore, The Day is suitably bleak and the setting is reminiscent of Cormac McCarthy's The Road. Some may not be entirely happy with the almost monochrome cinematography but for me, it was in keeping with the tone of the film.

The standout performance in The Day comes from Ashley Bell (The Last Exorcism) as Mary, the enigmatic member of the survivors whose background is revealed as the film progresses, along with her reticence at divulging the details of her past. Bell delivers a suitably tough yet vulnerable performance and is convincing in the role, moving seamlessly from woman with a troubled past to kick-ass heroine in seconds.

Critically, I had an issue with the CG blood during some of the more brutal scenes but mark what I say, these scenes are indeed brutal. Some have criticised the film's use of torture but to my mind, this only serves to reinforce the lengths people are prepared to go to when in desparate situations.

The Day succeeds where many horrors fail and balances admirably a character driven plot with enough violence and brutality to satisfy gorehounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lackluster film with little character developement and little explanation left me restless and bored throughout, February 22, 2014
This review is from: The Day (Amazon Instant Video)
I was aware that not everyone liked this film before I saw it, but as I love post-apocalyptic films, I remained optimistic. I mean, it looked decent, sounded like a cool idea and had a pretty good cast, right? Sure, I figured, it might not become a favorite of mine, but it would be at least an okay watch. Yeah, about that...sometimes first impressions are wrong, very wrong.

I don't require every little last detail of how things came to be the way they are spelled out for me in such a world, but I'd like a general clue as to what went wrong to bring the whole world down. Don't expect that here. There's NO explanation in the slightest, and I never had any idea on what made the 'different' group adapt their tendencies that set them apart from the regular humans. Virus? Aliens? Rampant mental illness? I couldn't say, as there was never even a hint about how they became different. We're just expected to buy into that because that's the way it is. Not enough for me. Shore up the idea a bit instead of just shoving it out there and hoping it flies. This one couldn't even glide...it just crashed and burned.

It was slow to start, then jumped into all kinds of action before I had a chance to really get to know any of the characters beyond an artificial level. I felt largely detached during scenes that should have been edge-of-my-seat tense. Actually, I felt that way throughout 99% of this movie. I couldn't relate to the characters, and I couldn't suspend my disbelief during a story that had potential to be something great. It wasn't. It was a bitter let-down and nothing more. Neither side of the conflict captured my attention. I found myself hoping they'd all kill each other off, down to the last one, so that it would just end. No such luck, of course.

The washed out color scheme of the whole movie lent nothing to it. I like this technique for certain scenes or a whole movie in some cases, but not this one. Instead of setting level of grimness to the world, it made it even more uninteresting. I'm surprised that was possible. The last 30 or so seconds of the movie was about the only part that piqued my interest, and it wasn't even a total surprise. The other 1 hr. and 20 min+? Snooze fest.

Lack of character development, no reasonable set-up and an absent plausible story, even in an apocalypse, let me feeling cheated with this one. While not the worst I've ever seen, not recommended at all. Infomercials are more entertaining, and I'm not a fan of them, either. At least they're in color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Ashley Bell Performance, June 21, 2013
This review is from: The Day (Amazon Instant Video)
I first saw the actress Ashley Bell in the horror film, 'The Last Exorcism', and marveled how well the filmmakers used the auteurish, found-footage approach, which has now become trite and overused, a device employed by every film studio graduate out there as a means to cut corners on production costs. I had never heard of her before I saw that film, and was impressed at the way she took what could've been a cookie-cutter possession role modeled after Linda Blair and made it her own. When I saw the (very under-promoted) film, 'The Day' advertised, I almost passed it over until I saw her name in the credits.

When I think of this movie, I picture Ashley Bell as Mary, bathing in a stream. Describing it that way makes it sound like some softly focused softcore porn scene but that isn't what's happening at all. It's the end of the world, with potential threats everywhere, and she's like some furtive forest animal, pausing to listen and scan her surroundings as she washes the grime from her legs and arms and chest. Ashley Bell's Mary hardly speaks throughout the course of the film, with only a comparatively few lines of dialogue, but she moves and acts with that same direct, animalistic purpose: quickly, with no wasted motion, and--when necessary--ferociously. The other actors contribute to this pack vibe for the simple reason they are a pack, human beings on the move, gathered together for the sake of mutual defense and survival. In this post-apocalyptic film, some packs, like Mary's, cling to their humanity and strive to maintain their dignity and sanity in the face of overhelming hopelessness and loss. Others don't, and it's those savage others who represent that which is no longer human, and who pose the greatest threat.

I don't mean to diminish the work of the other actors in this film by focusing solely on Ashley Bell's performance. It is truly an ensemble effort. The script is tightly written, with none of the characters doing things that people simply don't do when under enormous stress or in combat--such as the kinds of things characters do in the television series 'The Walking Dead', for example, where they inexplicably decide to hold deep, meaningful conversations regarding the state of their romantic relationships or take off alone out of sight of the group or disobey the orders of the group's leader, and so on. In a real-world hostile environment, those who don't exercise personal discipline or follow orders die very quickly. People scavenging the wasteland for food and hiding from or confronting ruthless savages wouldn't give much thought to things like sex or relationships. Thus, the script for 'The Day' is believable. The characters are well-realized and appropriately motivated.

Again (and finally), it's Ashley Bell's performance in this film that made it worthwhile for me. Physically, she isn't classically beautiful--especially in this movie--but I simply couldn't take my eyes off her. Every move she made, every facial expression, every pause or emphasis in dialogue was/is practically perfect. Can't recommend this film enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I HOPE I MAKE ALL OF YOU SICK, December 1, 2012
This review is from: The Day (DVD)
The story takes place in post-apocalyptic England(?)unless they were talking about Winchester, Canada, about a decade after the disaster/war killed off most of the population. It is filmed in black and white with a brief flashback in color. People have resorted to clans and cannibalism for survival. Our traveling group of 5 consists of three men and two women. The three guys have been together since childhood and know their roles. Rick (Dominic Monaghan) is the leader due to his experience in "Lost." Adam (Shawn Ashmore) is his disagreeing friend. Henson (Cory Hardrict) is the third man and he is ill which slows the group down in their travels.

Shannon (Shannyn Sossamon) has been with the group for 12 years and is cold toward Mary (Ashley Bell) a quiet lone wolf who has recently joined the group. Then if you read the back of the DVD it informs you that they set off a trap and must fight for their lives against another group. And that's pretty much the movie except...

The film has a slight twist which make it watchable. It doesn't bring anything new to the table and is one of the more boring post-apocalyptic films out there. No zombies. No Thunderdome. No weird vehicles. No colorful cans of Dole Pineapple. In fact they got 41 bullets between them. The film partially builds upon the relationship of the characters, which I found to be hit or miss as it doesn't give you much background so you have to draw something from their mostly robotic movement. It isn't until things go awry do our characters come to life. There are certainly better films out there and in color too.

A rental at best.

Parental Guide: f-bomb, brief shower nudity (Shannyn Sossamon), no sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Day (Blu-ray + DVD)
The Day (Blu-ray + DVD) by Douglas Aarniokoski (Blu-ray - 2012)
$24.99 $12.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.