Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for parents of young children, and for classrooms and libraries
As a parent, I know how difficult it can be to find books that are fun to read to toddlers and young children. Many were written to read... but not to read aloud.

"The Day Lady Lost Her Spots" is different.

The characters in the book are deftly written so, as a parent reading this book aloud, you'll know right away what kind of voice to use for each...
Published 23 months ago by Aisling D'Art

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute
Borrowed this book in the last minute, before nap time. It is a Cute, quick read. The Kids enjoyed it too.
Published 14 months ago by Renee


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for parents of young children, and for classrooms and libraries, August 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
As a parent, I know how difficult it can be to find books that are fun to read to toddlers and young children. Many were written to read... but not to read aloud.

"The Day Lady Lost Her Spots" is different.

The characters in the book are deftly written so, as a parent reading this book aloud, you'll know right away what kind of voice to use for each character in this delightful tale.

Likewise, the descriptions are vivid. You'll know right away when to speak with awe, when to add your own sound effects (if you want to), and so on.

This is the kind of book that every parent looks for, when choosing something to read to a child at bedtime. (It's also the kind of story that teachers and librarians are grateful for, for "story hour" days. This book makes story time fun!)

"The Day Lady Lost Her Spots" will appeal to boys and girls alike. The characters are a balance of male and female, and you can emphasize the roles to suit the child you're reading to. Though the lead character is female, this is not a strictly "girly" tale.

The vocabulary is normal. That is, they're words you use every day, not just one- and two-syllable words.

Though an early reader can sound them out, phonetically, this book is written so it sounds normal when it's read aloud. That's important because so many children's books "talk down" to kids, as if they only know simple words. (Reading those kinds of books aloud can be a real challenge. In my opinion, you can use stilted, easy-to-read words or you can weave a story that -- like "The Day Lady Lost Her Spots" -- sparks their imaginations and increases their interest in learning and in reading. It's sure to put a smile on your child's face when you read it aloud.)

This is also a fine book for early readers, once they're familiar with the story. One of the most complex words in this book might be "dandelion." It's a word that might challenge an early reader, but it can be sounded out, once the child knows the tale and can remember what that word is. It allows the child to teach him- or herself how to read more advanced words.

So, this is a book that serves several purposes. It's a book with many good, subtle messages, from the silliness of vanity to the importance of taking regular baths. (However, none of this is delivered in an obvious or heavy-handed method. No "messages" detract from the charm of the story.)

As a parent (and a former librarian), I'm thrilled with this book and delighted to discover author Lily Lexington. We need more books like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Ladybug Learning, August 30, 2012
By 
D. C. Wiggs (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
I'm a sucker for Lily's books, and when I saw another, had to grab it straight away! The illustrations in this latest book are of a higher standard than those from earlier books, and are reproduced in wonderful vivid colours. As usual, my daughters noticed the new book on their Kindle almost instantly, and so we sat down to read it together. And again. And again! Short, sweet and perfect for a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute Story, Great Hidden Lesson!, August 21, 2012
By 
E. Sondreal (Scotts Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
I really love this book! The illustrations are really cute and without being obvious, it teaches children the importance of taking a bath every day! I have several of the Lily Lexington books and they are on the request list almost every night. Thanks Lily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bath time rather than bed time book, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
Cute book about a lady bug who loses her spots. She enlists her friend Crunch to help find them in time for the big party that night. The reader accompanies them on their search, and the spots turn up exactly where they were supposed to be. Adorable book for a reluctant bather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, May 31, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
Borrowed this book in the last minute, before nap time. It is a Cute, quick read. The Kids enjoyed it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long, April 25, 2013
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
The story was very cute it was a little too long. My kids started loosing interest, and began to play instead of listening to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend to every one, January 6, 2013
By 
Jesse A Dean III (CONOWINGO, MARYLAND, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
Really liked this book I am six yrs old and really enjoyed reading this wonderful book to my mom! Recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
My grandchildren like my Kindle and this was right on, especially for long trips in the car.the kids will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Day Lady Lost Her Spots- I thought was a very sweet short story!, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
I choose to give Lily five stars for a well written children's book about Lady who thought that she had lost her
spots and how she regained them with her friend Crunch! I liked the plot and as well as the story too of course and characters in the story as well as the illustrations that were beautifully done! It's a very lovely and sweet short story for those who love animal stories.
So, I recommend this book for children who loves a sweet very short animal story with a every nice ending to it as well.
I received this book free and in exchange I have done as the author has asked and did this review for Lily! A great job!
By Angela
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute & easy read for ladybug lovers, March 19, 2014
By 
Leesie (El Paso, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Day Lady Lost Her Spots (Kindle Edition)
My 7 y/o daughter picked this book for a report and it was absolutely perfect. Its a cute story about how her and a friend try to find her lost spots before going to the big Luau that night. They retraced their steps in all the places they played, but no luck. Then it rained...low and behold her spots reappeared. She vowed to never skip another bath & had fun at the Luau. Sweet & simple. Perfect for my any Ladybug lover :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Day Lady Lost Her Spots
The Day Lady Lost Her Spots by Lily Lexington
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.