Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dino pleasantly saunters through
"How To Save A Marraige (And Ruin Your Life)" has long been one of my favorite Dean Martin films. It's a light romantic farce / drawing room comedy and the pairing between Dean and Stella Stevens works extremely well. Dean's comic timing shines through and here he was at his most likeable suave romantic lead. "Who Was That Lady" is another favorite that, like the other...
Published on December 30, 2006 by Vincent T. Lynch

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good Martin comedy paired with a bad one
Dean Martin made quite a few comedies away from the Rat Pack in the 1960s. Most of them were pretty interesting and even the bad ones are worth seeing. This DVD double feature includes one that worked well for me and had me laughing out loud more than a few times and one that didn't work as well and only had me laughing in its last 15 minutes (out of a 115-minute...
Published on August 10, 2008 by Brian Camp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dino pleasantly saunters through, December 30, 2006
By 
Vincent T. Lynch "vtl" (Colorado Springs, Colorado) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
"How To Save A Marraige (And Ruin Your Life)" has long been one of my favorite Dean Martin films. It's a light romantic farce / drawing room comedy and the pairing between Dean and Stella Stevens works extremely well. Dean's comic timing shines through and here he was at his most likeable suave romantic lead. "Who Was That Lady" is another favorite that, like the other movie, hasn't been seen much in several years. It's a gem that lies somewhere between romantic farce and slapstick. Dean -- as best friend -- plays well off Tony Curtis here, and the absurdity of the plot is what makes this so clever. While these are not Dean's finest film work (not in the realm of "Rio Bravo", for example), you'll enjoy this double feature. Thanks to SONY for putting it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A buddy flick and a chick flick finally on DVD!!, December 17, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
It's about time these two films were released on DVD! The quality on these is FAR better than the VHS versions. As always, Dean shines as the suave, smooth, debonair bachelor with a wonderful supporting cast, and gorgeous women to boot! In "Lady", his friendship with Tony Curtis is put to the test as they both pose as phony FBI agents. In "Marriage" his "relationship" with Stella Stevens is put to the test as Dean poses as a phony widower. Both of these films are very likable as Dean always manages to put a smile on your face. How does he get in and out of these messes, you'll just have to find out. Don't miss out on this double-feature classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good Martin comedy paired with a bad one, August 10, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
Dean Martin made quite a few comedies away from the Rat Pack in the 1960s. Most of them were pretty interesting and even the bad ones are worth seeing. This DVD double feature includes one that worked well for me and had me laughing out loud more than a few times and one that didn't work as well and only had me laughing in its last 15 minutes (out of a 115-minute movie).

The good one, HOW TO SAVE A MARRIAGE AND RUIN YOUR LIFE (1968), introduces the necessary characters and relationships and builds up the set of circumstances that leads, quite plausibly, to the misunderstanding that sets the plot in motion. We see how shopgirl Stella Stevens (as beautiful as I've ever seen her) learns something incriminating about her boss (Eli Wallach) that leads to a promotion that buys her silence about the apartment where he keeps a mistress, hence starting the rumor that she herself is the boss's mistress, which leads the boss's best friend, Wall Street investor Dean Martin, to try to save his friend's marriage by seducing the "mistress" away from Wallach and proving to him how unfaithful she really is. When Dean eventually realizes his mistake--and the look on his face in the course of this scene is just priceless--and the extent of the raveling he'll have to do to undo all the unraveling, it just keeps getting funnier. The key here is that for most of the film the audience knows more than the characters do and suspense is generated as we wait for the characters to catch up.

WHO WAS THAT LADY? (1960) never bothers to adequately introduce the characters but instead plunges us into a thoroughly implausible situation with unbelievable, unsympathetic characters whose sheer stupidity is constantly infuriating. Who would believe that Tony Curtis is an assistant professor of chemistry at Columbia University? Or that Janet Leigh would be a glamorous housewife in a lavish Manhattan apartment on an assistant professor's salary? Or that such a professor would have as best friend a CBS writer and swinging bachelor, played by Dean Martin? (Granted, Tony and Janet were married at the time, but these roles just didn't fit them.) To mend things after Janet catches Tony kissing one of his students, Dean comes up with the harebrained scheme of telling Janet that he and Tony are undercover FBI men and the girl with Tony was a "foreign exchange" student under "investigation." Against all common sense, Janet falls for it and all suspension of disbelief goes out the window. Things get more ridiculous until some genuine FBI personnel, well played by John McIntire and James Whitmore, get involved and take some control of the idiotic farce. When actual Russian spies (played by Simon Oakland and Larry Storch) enter the scene, the star trio is forced to really go undercover. Only then, during a finale in the basement of the Empire State Building, with a drugged Tony and Dean thinking they've woken up aboard a Russian sub, do things finally get funny. Interestingly, three of the cast--Leigh, McIntire, and Oakland--all also appeared in PSYCHO that same year.

Both films are presented anamorphically on this DVD. One's in color (HOW TO SAVE A MARRIAGE) and one's in black-and-white (WHO WAS THAT LADY?) and both look flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage, June 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
WHO WAS THAT LADY is a 1960 zany comedy with Dean Martin, Tony Curtis and Janet Leigh, Tony Curtis' wife at the time. When you toss in the FBI, the CIA and the Russian Intelligence operatives (I use the word intelligence loosely here), you have a comedic first strike.

Curtis is an Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Columbia University who is caught by his wife kissing a foreign exchange student. Martin is his best friend who's a writer at CBS who cooks up a hare-brained scheme to convince the wife that her boring husband is a top FBI agent.

With the CBS prop department providing FBI credentials and a revolver, the game is afoot. When the prop master realizes that the FBI credentials were not being used for a show, he contacts the FBI.

James Whitmore plays the stoic FBI agent who investigates. Of course he gets involved with the antics of Curtis and Martin, especially at the Chinese restaurant with shots fired and television news cameras rolling.

The ending in the basement of the Empire State Building is classic. This black and white 115-minute vehicle delivers a great time if you are into old comedies. Picture and sound quality are excellent. 4 stars

HOW TO SAVE A MARRIAGE (And Ruin Your Life) is a classic battle of the sexes. Dean Martin finds himself embroiled in the battle when he attempts to help his old army buddy save his marriage.

Mistaken identify leads Martin to assume that Stella Stevens is the mistress of his army buddy, Eli Wallach. Martin sets out to woo Stevens in order to save Wallach's marriage.

Of course Wallach's mistress is Anne Jackson (his wife in real life) who lives next door to Stevens. A comedy of errors follows for both men.

Betty Field is wonderful as Thelma, the landlady, whose cynical attitude rubs off on Stevens and Jackson. She has a special moment near the end of the film which is pure irony.

One of the best comedic scenes happens in a church cemetery. It is hysterical.

New York City is the setting. Michael Legrand's music suits this film well, especially the song--Winds of Change--with the Ray Conniff Singers. It's one of those late 60s romantic songs which is fitting for this late 60s romantic comedy. Picture and sound quality are excellent. 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another formerly pressed release now on MOD, March 20, 2013
By 
The film is a fun late 70s sex romp with a stellar cast but you already know that. Here's what you may not know...

Sony is fast joining the ranks of Warner Brothers by taking pressed copies of films out-of-print, waiting a few months, and issuing a MOD version at a higher price point. The Sony "Choice Collection" release of "How to Save a Marriage..." is one such title. The transfer used for this MOD is the same as the one used for the OOP The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage double feature. The differences are the OOP title is pressed and includes a second feature: "Who Was That Lady". Currently *new* copies from marketplace vendors are less than half the price (shipping included) of this MOD. It's the better choice.

The one star is for the MOD release. The OOP version is a 5 star package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dean Martin Double Feature, May 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
This had been on my list for quite sometime, and finally I got it; and I'm so glad I did.

Who Was That Lady, and How To Save A Marriage (And Ruin Your Life) are two hilarious films; and they show Dean in top form. I maybe a little bias when it comes to these two fims, because I absolutely adore Dean Martin. He was an amazingly talented and handsome man, but he was (and still is) a very underrated singer and actor. A total shame.

In Who Was That Lady, he is Michael Haney, a friend of Tony Curtis's character, David Wilson. After Tony is caught kissing a student in his chemistry class by his wife Ann, played by real wife Janet Leigh, he calls Dean to help him convince Janet and that the kiss was nothing. Dean, a television writer, comes up with a superb, wild fabrication for Tony to tell Janet--he's a FBI Agent, and he had to kiss the girl because he is undercover. Tony doesn't believe it will work, insisting that Janet is not stupid enough to fall for something like that; Dean proceeds to trick Tony into believing that he himself is a FBI Agent. He then points out that if he could get him to believe something like that, it won't be hard to convince Janet that he's an agent. They do trick her into believing, and that is where the film really kicks off.

Dean was nominated for a Golden Globe award (which he should have won), and once one sees this film, one will be able to see why.

In How To Save a Marriage (And Ruin Your Life), Dean is David Sloan in this film. He's friends with Eli Wallach's Harry, and when Eli's wife, Mary comes and tells him that Harry is cheating on her, he goes to Eli and tries to convince him that he should leave this woman, and go back to Mary. Eli proceeds to tell him that she is a wonderful woman, a woman who actually cares about him unlike his own wife, and that he should see for himself. Dean then sees Carol Corman (Stella Steven's) and believing that she is Eli's mistress, proceeds to try and prove that she is just playing around on Eli, not realizing that Eli's true mistress is Muriel (Anne Jackson), the nextdoor neighbor in Stella's new apartment building (which Dean bought an apartment for, trying to prove that she would leave Eli when a better offer came along). Hilarious events ensues.

You cannot go wrong in buying this DVD. Anyone who loves Dean has to have this, and if your new to Dean, this a perfect place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get the pair and save money!!!!, November 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
Four and a half stars - five for "WHO WAS..." and four for "HOW TO SAVE...".

Honestly, I'd only seen "Who Was That Lady" probably once in my life and I loved it then, but never saw it again until I caught the basement scene while flipping through the cable channels and I scrambled to hit the "info" button to catch the name of the movie - which was ordered immediately. The dbl feature was cheaper than the single DVD and I got "HOW TO SAVE...", which I'd never seen before.

"Who Was That Lady" is really funny, as Tony Curtis gets railroaded into doing even more stupid things by an overbearing and excessively creative Dean Martin in an effort to save his marriage. I'd forgotten most of the plot and was delighted to see how well plotted and constructed the storyline was. Probably the most prominent memory I had, and anticipated avidly, was the scene between Tony Curtis and Larry Storch (as a Russian spy) where Storch is interrogating a drugged Curtis and gets him to cry.

I'd forgotten the entire subplot with James Whitmore as the investigating FBI agent who first contacts Tony Curtis's wife, Janet Leigh. His angst at what Curtis and Dean had done was comic genius.

"How to Save a Marriage" was new to me and I was subtly disappointed in the ease at which Stella Stevens accepted the role of mistress. Maybe my own naivete is showing, but this was 1968 and everyone seemed so laid back about it. Otherwise, the true "target" of Martin's efforts was a really nice woman in a seemingly nice relationship with a married man - the one that Martin is trying to show his mistress isn't sincere at all.

All that aside, it was a good movie - aside from my own reservations on the morality of it, or lack of, and I enjoyed the conclusion. Four stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy Double Feature, June 23, 2014
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
Who Was That Lady ? is a funny farce. My favorites are the flashy Barbara Nichols, and Joi Lansing. How To Save A Marriage And Ruin Your Life is great with the sexy Stella Stevens. Fans of Dean Martin will love these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FUN MOVIE IF DATED, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage (DVD)
The movies are dated, but still amusing if you have a taste for a certain kind of ribald comedy and who better to deliver it than Dean Martin and Tony Curtis?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love old comedy movies, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had never watched dean martin in anything until I rented this movie. He really was a very funny actor. I loved this movie. Please add more old comedy movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dean Martin Double Feature - Who Was That Lady / How To Save A Marriage
$14.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.