The Debs and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $8.99
  • Save: $0.99 (11%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!! (there is a chance this book could contain a gift inscription)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Debs Paperback – August 26, 2008


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, August 26, 2008
$8.00
$0.48 $0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

The Debs + Too Pretty to Die (Debutant Dropout Mysteries, No. 5)
Price for both: $14.99

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 246 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers (August 26, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385735197
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385735193
  • Product Dimensions: 5.8 x 0.6 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,682,306 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Proof that chick-lit thrives outside Manhattan and London, the novel features three well-heeled, semi-sophisticated young women (and a bitchy classmate as their nemesis)...Laura, Mac, and Ginger are sympathetic individuals with their own back stories, strengths, and vulnerabilities. [Readers] will find the effort enjoyable and will look forward to the sequels (and debutante events) to come." --Booklist review

About the Author

Susan McBride is the author of the Debutante Drop-Out adult mystery series. She lives in Missouri with her husband. Please visit her at www.susanmcbride.com.

More About the Author

Susan McBride is the USA Today Bestselling author of Blue Blood and four other award-winning Debutante Dropout Mysteries from HarperCollins/Avon, including The Good Girl's Guide To Murder, The Lone Star Lonely Hearts Club, Night Of The Living Deb, and Too Pretty To Die. A sixth title, Say Yes to the Death, will be out in September 2015. Susan has another series with Avon, the River Road Mysteries, starting with To Helen Back, Mad as Helen, and Not a Chance in Helen.

Susan's first young adult thriller, Very Bad Things, was published in hardcover by Delacorte Press in October of 2014.

In addition to her mysteries, Susan has penned three well-received women's fiction titles. The Truth About Love & Lightning (02/13) was selected by Target stores for their Emerging Authors program, was a Midwest Connections Pick, and was dubbed "a poignant page-turner" by Publishers Weekly. Little Black Dress spent five weeks on the St. Louis bestsellers list and was a Target Recommended Read. The Cougar Club was selected by Target Stores as a Bookmarked Breakout Title and named a Midwest Connections Pick by the Midwest Booksellers Association. Foreign editions of Susan's books have been published in France, Turkey, Croatia, and Bulgaria (and coming soon, Lithuania!).

Susan has one nonfiction title available: In the Pink: How I Met the Perfect (Younger) Man, Survived Breast Cancer, and Found True Happiness After 40, which tells her tale of becoming an "accidental Cougar" and marrying a younger man, her cancer diagnosis at age 42, and finding herself pregnant at 47.

She has authored several YA non-mystery novels for Delacorte about debutantes in Houston: The Debs (2008) and Love, Lies, And Texas Dips (2009). Gloves Off, the third book, will be released in late 2015.

In January of 2012, Susan was named one of St. Louis's "Most Dynamic People of the Year" by the Ladue News. In April of 2012, she was given the "Survivor of the Year" Award by the St. Louis affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure. As Susan likes to say, "Life is never boring." Visit Susan's web site at http://SusanMcBride.com for more scoop.

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 14 customer reviews
The ending is great and though it definitely leaves room for the upcoming sequels, it also ties everything up nicely.
Harmony Book Reviews
As I started the book I thought it was just going to be another book about spoiled rich girls whining about how horrible their lives are.
Amazon Customer
I know I will be anxiously awaiting the release of the next book in the series Love, Lies and Texas Dips, coming June 2009!
Kristi D.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Harriet Klausner #1 HALL OF FAME on September 4, 2008
Format: Paperback
In Houston four teenage upper crust girls await word that they have been invited to join the selectively elitist Glass Slipper Club. Each has reasons to expect to be chosen, but also has some nagging doubts.

Aura Delacroix Bell is a beautiful big woman who attracts hunks like the U of T super-stud in spite of being a size 14. However, she has one scandalous secret that if revealed will keep her out of the club.

Anyone who meets brilliant sarcastic Michelle "Mac" Mackenzie will conclude she does not fit the club's typical debutante, but vies for membership out of respect for her late mom's wish for her and to keep her stepmother Honey off her back.

Environmentalist Ginger Fore prefers wearing her grandmother's gown rather than buy something outrageously expensive, but her entrance might be blocked by the University of Houston tree hugger she met at a Go-Green event that could lead to a jailhouse rock not a deb ball.

Former child beauty queen Jo-Lynn Bidwill believes her mission in life is to keep the "debu-trash" out of the club; that means destroying Laura Bell.

This young adult satirical look at high society is fun to read as author Susan McBride gives the audience a tour of superficiality of debutante society through her fearsome foursome. The key is that each of the candidates seems real as teens first with issues that even with all their wealth to somewhat cover personal problems, they still exist. This is an amusing yet poignant look at teenage upper crust society through for fully developed young women struggling with personal issues that money can't help.

Harriet Klausner
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Enchanting Reviews on August 26, 2008
Format: Paperback
THE DEBS
SUSAN McBRIDE
Contemporary Young Adult

Rating: 5 Enchantments

Membership to the exclusive "Glass Slipper Club" via the coveted invite to the Deb ball is one of the biggest highlights of the start of Deb season in Houston, Texas. But for three best friends and their bitter rival, the ruling Jo Lynn Bidwill, Deb season could turn out to be nothing less than war--especially with Jo Lynn on a personal mission to make sure Laura isn't on the receiving end of one of the Glass Slipper Club Deb ball invites.

When Laura Delacroix-Bell, Michelle "Mac" Mackenzie and Ginger Fore reunite after a summer apart, the three BFF couldn't imagine their friendship may actually be threatened. But when Laura starts hanging around her on-again, off-again guy Avery, Ginger and Mac are left feeling pushed aside yet again as their own troubles start.

THE DEBS is a great start to what should be a highly entertaining series. Set against the backdrop of Houston's debutante scene, these three best friends couldn't be more different if they tried. Laura doesn't really care about her size fourteen figure, even if it's probably one of the reasons Jo-L can't stand her. She's still got Avery's attention and that matters a heck of a lot more to her, except for one little secret she's determined to keep hidden. Mac's more interested in anything other than her future as a Deb, especially since her step-mother wants to use it as an excuse to bond and Ginger may be about to throw her debutante future away for a mysterious college guy. When the invitations are finally handed out, will any of them be receiving one?

I can't say how much I enjoyed this book.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Cindy Chow on August 29, 2008
Format: Paperback
Fans of Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and Gossip Girl will rejoice upon discovering this new series by the award-winning mystery author Susan McBride. Four Texas teen girls vie for entrance into the exclusive Glass Slipper Club, the pinnacle for southern debutantes.
Laura Delacroix Bell is a beautiful size-14 heiress in a size 2 world. Her heart has been broken by a University of Texas Longhorn Golden Boy, and his yo-yo affections for her have her confused but willing to take a chance on him.
Michelle "Mac" Mackenzie is still mourning the death of her mother and is debuting solely out of devotion to her mother's dream. If only her new stepmother Honey Potts wasn't so determined to "help" Mac debut and shop her way into the perfect GSC mold.
Ginger Fore is being romanced by a University of Houston senior she met at a Go Green rally, but the environmentally-friendly temptation may have her marching for his cause right into prison.
Facing down the three heroines is Jo-Lynn Bidwell, leader of the Bimbo Cartel and who has a passion for destroying Laura that is rivaled only by Jo-Lynn's lust for Dillon, a hunk who has a secret that could blow up her world.
McBride gives readers the guilty pleasure of a voyeuristic glimpse into the fashion-obsessed, superficial, and ultimately delicious world of Texas debutante society. For all of their privileges, the GLC candidates are relatable to teens and they will each have readers sympathizing with their struggles with body issues, mother conflicts, and love. Full of humor, pop culture references, and engaging and likable characters, readers will be charge through this novel and be clamoring for the next in this extremely entertaining series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?