Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting...
Dr. Morgan Shaw is a sex therapist at the Butterfield Institute. In all her years of work no person or group has ever asked her to sign a confidentially agreement. Morgan is insulted that this one has, but decides to sign it in the end. This new patient is really a group of twelve women who are part of a secret club, The Scarlet Society. None of the women really know the...
Published on January 2, 2006 by Detra Fitch

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Mystery/quasi-erotica novel worthy of 3 1/2 stars
The Delilah Complex, e-book edition by M. J. Rose is an interesting mix of mystery and quasi-erotica.
Dr. Morgan Snow is a sex therapist at the Butterfield Institute and is persuaded to undertake the therapy of a group of women who represent, and all are part of, a secret sex society. The society meets at various times for parties that allow them to treat men, who...
Published on August 1, 2011 by John H. Manhold


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more sex, January 31, 2006
This book I couldn't put down. Ok, I had to. But I kept coming back to it before any of the others. I haven't read the first Morgan book, but you can be sure it is going to the top of my TBR pile. Morgan is contacted by a secret society to assist them with their issues - someone is killing off the men they invite to their events. Their events, by the way, usually involve domination and sex. Morgan struggles with the morality issues as well as the privacy issues once she, and the police, realize that the men that are being killed are connected. There are a lot of twists and turns is this mystery - once again the Cajun character has seduced me - but I thought it was great and I never suspected the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious Little Book, April 25, 2013
This review is from: The Delilah Complex (Paperback)
I wanted to give this books points for exploring female sexuality from an aggressive standpoint in which women are doing something about erotic disappointment. I tried to give this book the benefit of the doubt. The problem is that when you have a sex therapist as the main character and then make it a series in which she solves murders, you can't really maintain that sex positive attitude. The murders are going to have something to do with sex and sex is going to be destructive and horrifying. The only reason to have a sex therapist solving murders is so that the author can do the standard prurient prude act that authors have been using for centuries. The sex scenes will be sleazy but ultimately the more perverse folks are punished for their perversity - either with murder or imprisonment.

Beyond the horrible context of the book, everything else about the book is just falling out in its own formula. The main character keeps giving exposition. Her boring little life is full of dating and problems with the kids. The murders are incredibly dull (they are all men who like to be slaves in a BDSM group) and none of the characters are interesting enough to care if they live or die. They just lie there on the page spouting dead dialogue and going through the roles that they were meant to go through.

Apparently this book is out of print. If you are a fan of this writer, you can buy this book and get what you expected. However, if you are looking for a new mystery by a new writer, try something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexually charged psychological thriller, April 29, 2014
By 
Philip Maur, a brave man, is scared to death when he discovers he is chained to a gurney. So begins the story of what appears as the serial killing of male members of a secret sexual society.

Dr. Morgan Snow, a sex therapist, is the central character. It is through her eyes that the story advances. What I like best is the way,page after page, in which the author brings the reader into the story. Each section brings new psychological insights as the murder investigation unfolds. Morgan is at its heart. This is also the story of personal relationships -- conflicts and emotions. And the detailed psychological development assists positively in defining this story. Reviewed by the Author of The Children's Story, About Good and evil, A Novel Not for Children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Educated. Honest. Insightful read., February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Welcome to viewing life through the eyes and mind of a clinical yet immensely human woman. Emotions are virtuously played, facts sliced through with a scalpel precision, without judgement but with empathy and long learned knowledge of the psyche. And in all the thrills and chills of the mystery, the most romantic story of all: bruised hearts keeping hope, thus ripping the fruits of the most burning and tender love scenes.
Excerpts:
"My job wasn't to protect this budding teenager from the darkness as much as it was to teach her to find the switches so she could always turn on the lights."
and: I looked around for somewhere to go. To get away from the voice, but there was nowhere to go. There never is when the problem is inside your own head."
last: "What were they shopping away? Fights with husbands, problems at work? Sons who weren't doing well at school? Daughters who were on diets that left their hair lank and stringy?
How many of us here really needed these shoes? Or the chocolate-brown suit I had in mind. We dress ourselves and redress ourselves, obsess how we can make ourselves look better, fool ourselves that there is nothing wrong with spending money as a reward for the things that are wrong in our lives."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the experience, great character development, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Captivating reading
Unexpected plot twists
Complex characters
All make for a GREAT read
Enjoyed the plot development and study put forth to assure the story stayed true to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty pleasure, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The twists of this one keep you going to the very end. Love murder mysteries? Try this one out! It will be a hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Delilah Complex, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well done with great surprises. Characters well developed and interesting. Liked this book. Will read the next book now.Dr Snow is a great character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent psychological thriller, November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent psychological thriller series. Very well written. Excellent development of plot and characters. Research accurate and integrated and draws you in and yet surprises you at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Erotic!!, September 10, 2013
By 
Judith (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Again the Butterfield group has outdone itself. These books are quite graphic and erotic; however, if you are working with sex crimes and psychological problems, guess that is part of the story. Quite well done and looking forward to next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An interesting story that kept me turning the pages to figure out who the murderer was. I've read two other books by this author. I enjoy her writing style even though her stories can be very different themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.