The Demon's Covenant (The Demon's Lexicon Trilogy) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $9.99
  • Save: $1.84 (18%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: The cover is like new! May have a remainder mark. Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Bubble Mailer!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Demon's Covenant (The Demon's Lexicon Trilogy) Paperback – May 3, 2011


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$8.15
$1.81 $0.01
Audio CD
"Please retry"
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

The Demon's Covenant (The Demon's Lexicon Trilogy) + The Demon's Surrender (The Demon's Lexicon Trilogy) + The Demon's Lexicon (The Demon's Lexicon Trilogy)
Price for all three: $27.05

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Year-End Kindle Daily Deals
Load your library with great books for $2.99 or less each, today only. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: The Demon's Lexicon Trilogy (Book 2)
  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books; Reprint edition (May 3, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416963820
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416963820
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1.2 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.1 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #81,291 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up–An undercurrent of wit and subtle sarcasm turns this dark story of demons, magic, and dysfunctional families into an affecting and fun read. Mae–don't call her Mavis–and her brother Jamie, tortured Alan and his demon brother Nick, and other memorable characters are back in this sequel to Brennan's excellent The Demon's Lexicon (S & S, 2009). The book doesn't disappoint as demons are summoned, duels are fought, and spells are cast throughout modern-day England. Jamie is being recruited by a magician named Gerald, head of the group that previously tried to kill him and Mae. Once again, she turns to Alan and Nick for help protecting Jamie. In exchange, Mae agrees to help Nick learn to act more human. The outcasts must navigate a path between rival magicians' circles and demons hungry for human souls while trying to unlock the secret to Gerald's newfound powers. Mae, a tough and sassy heroine, is torn by her attraction to three very different men. Conflicting loyalties push her to the breaking point as secret–and maybe Faustian–deals are struck. Danger and lies are everywhere as the story builds to a climactic battle. All is not resolved, leaving readers hungry for the trilogy's final installment. A few passages are confusing but overall the writing is strong with lots of action and engaging characters. This book stands alone, but reading the first volume will make it even more enjoyable. Fans of Laurie Faria Stolarz, Casandra Clare, and Rosemary Clement-Moore will be enchanted.Anthony C. Doyle, Livingston High School, CA
© Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From Booklist

Seventeen-year-old Mae’s younger brother Jamie is claimed by magicians known as the Obsidian Circle, and Mae once again appeals to friends Alan and Nick for help. Although the four come together to face the power-hungry magicians, internal doubts and treachery threaten the outcome. This delicious mix of magic, conflicted romance, and trust issues follows The Demon’s Lexicon (2009), but here Brennan’s writing is stronger and more confident. Fans may also enjoy Holly Black and Melissa Marr as they await the concluding volume in this trilogy. Grades 8-11. --Cindy Welch --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

More About the Author

Sarah Rees Brennan was born and raised in Ireland by the sea, where her teachers valiantly tried to make her fluent in Irish (she wants you to know it's not called Gaelic) but she chose to read books under her desk in class instead. The books most often found under her desk were Jane Austen, Margaret Mahy, Anthony Trollope, Robin McKinley and Diana Wynne Jones, and she still loves them all today.

After college she lived briefly in New York and somehow survived in spite of her habit of hitching lifts in fire engines. She began working on The Demon's Lexicon while doing a Creative Writing MA and library work in Surrey, England. Since then she has returned to Ireland to write and use as a home base for future adventures. Her Irish is still woeful, but she feels the books under the desk were worth it.

The Demon's Lexicon trilogy is her first published work.

Amazon Author Rankbeta 

(What's this?)
#75 in Books > Teens
#75 in Books > Teens

Customer Reviews

Nick and Jamie, I love these two together and their banter.
Novelsontherun
The plot alone is decent, but it is the characters that made me really love the book.
J. Jarman
Honestly, I can hardly wait to read books one and two again.
Lea Kelley

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Angela Thompson VINE VOICE on May 14, 2010
Format: Hardcover
A couple of days ago a package arrived in my mailbox that made it most difficult to go to work that day. I didn't end up calling in sick (I do have a modicum of will power) but it was touch and go there for a few minutes. A few deep breaths and reminding myself I could snuggle up with it later got me out the door. You see, I've been wanting to get my greedy hands on this particular book in the worst way for lo these many months and then suddenly--there it was all blue and fiery and taunting me with its irresistible Goblin Market charm. The Demon's Lexicon roared onto my Best of 2009 list at the end of last year, fairly blowing me away with its wicked strong characters, dagger-sharp dialogue, and so much heart it set my blood to pumping three times its normal speed. I could immediately tell that Sarah Rees Brennan was something special and I knew it in such a way that I didn't waste a single moment hoping the next one would be as good. I knew it would be. Alan and Nick were going to be there, weren't they? It would be written by the same witty Irishwoman, wouldn't it? Right, then. Bring on the sequel. By the by, I really love both the U.S. and UK covers of THE DEMON'S COVENANT. Given that it's sort of Mae's book, she really deserves to be on the cover. Plus, that pink hair is just excellent. At the same time, I love seeing the demon's circle on the U.S. cover and as Sin and the Goblin Market play a larger role in this one it's quite fitting, too.Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Lea Kelley on May 16, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The Demon's Lexicon was told from the Nick's point of view; Nick and his older brother Alan had spent their lives on the run from the magicians who had killed their father. When Mae and her younger brother Jamie come to Alan for help with the demon's mark on Jamie, Nick is reluctant to get involved. The only thing he cares about is protecting Alan. The Demon's Covenant switches to Mae's point of view, and takes place several weeks after the end of The Demon's Lexicon. Mae discovers that Jamie is in trouble again, and she calls Alan (and Nick) for help. The magicians want to recruit Jamie as one of their own, and Mae isn't sure that Jamie wants to resist. Meanwhile, there are clearly problems between Alan and Nick after the events in the first book. Mae is desperate to help both of them, and to save her brother. Can she rescue all three, or will she have to choose?

One thing that really makes this trilogy stand out is the relationships between the two sets of siblings. If I were to teach this in a class, I might ask questions like "What is family?" and "What is loyalty?" and "Would you save the world if it meant killing your brother?" This book also leaves me pondering what it means to be human, and what it means to feel love. And though there are moments that I might sacrifice both Alan and Jamie, it is also clear to me why Nick and Mae never would.

Another thing that I love about this trilogy is that even though it can be dark and intense, there is humor laced throughout. The danger in these books is real, and characters suffer and die, and Nick and Alan have had a pretty bleak childhood, but there are also some very funny parts, especially in the dialogue.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By P. Travis Millet on May 28, 2010
Format: Hardcover
I'm just going to go ahead and say it: Sarah Rees Brennan is frickin' brilliant. An evil genius to be sure who has managed to infuse her books with such wit and candor that I find myself wholly ruined for anything else. I don't know how the woman does it but she has managed to blow my mind. Yet again. After naming "The Demon's Lexicon" as my Favorite YA Fantasy of 2009, I began the endless wait for the release of "The Demon's Covenant," not quite sure where Ms. Brennan would take me next, but fully willing to stick around for the ride.

Not much time has passed since Mae and her brother Jamie have returned home after successfully facing down an entire Circle of deadly magicians led by enormously powerful Black Arthur. In her head Mae knows Jamie is now safe, thanks in large part to the help of Alan and Nick Ryves, but Mae can't help but remain tense, constantly looking over her shoulder, waiting for the next attack to appear. When the unthinkable does actually happen and Mae discovers magicians circling Jamie again, she panics and calls the only people who she trusts implicitly to help. Like the cavalry, the Ryves brothers swoop back into Mae and Jamie's life without a thought. Ready to protect, ready to defend. Mae has always had trouble staying in complete control when it comes to Alan and Nick and this time proves to be no different. She's torn and stuck in the middle of their ever-increasingly explosive relationship and above all, ready to do anything to rescue the ones she loves from harms way.

After falling hard for the Ryves brothers in "The Demon's Lexicon," I will admit to some slight hesitation upon discovering that The Demon's Covenant centers around Mae. Who I also liked, just maybe not as much. But boy howdy - I changed my mind. She is something else.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?