Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brand new progress and make a mature rock album...
well, this albums been out for about a month now and i've listened to it about 30 times roughly. i've blasted it in my car, fallen asleep to it on a few occasions, and i've listened to it very thoroughly with headphones while reading the lyrics. even though it took about 3 years to get the nerve to write a review on "deja entendu", i believe i'm ready to announce...
Published on December 11, 2006 by adamKS

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Devil And God Couldn't be more proud.
It's heart on sleeve and in your face for the boys from Long Island in Brand New. The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me is their latest release and first major label release. Not shying away from the spotlight, Brand New have unloaded a killer arrangement of tracks that can only be described as orgasmic. Their latest effort has exceeded all expectations of any faithful...
Published on November 21, 2006 by Marti Crouse


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brand new progress and make a mature rock album..., December 11, 2006
well, this albums been out for about a month now and i've listened to it about 30 times roughly. i've blasted it in my car, fallen asleep to it on a few occasions, and i've listened to it very thoroughly with headphones while reading the lyrics. even though it took about 3 years to get the nerve to write a review on "deja entendu", i believe i'm ready to announce judgement on "the devil and god are raging inside me". i'll try to do this from a musical and open-minded approach rather than being bias about the album.

my final judgement of the album is that it's GENIUS. it's a flat-out amazing record that blurs together genres as well as ditch some as well. their first album "your favorite weapon" was an amazing record and i consider it to be pop punk done right with an "edge" to it. the huge transition and progression from "weapon..." to their second album "deja entendu" was nearly catastrophic as every one knows. i didn't think i was hearing the same band when i listened to that record at first. it took about 8 listens to realize what "deja" was all about and that's when i found it's genius within.

beware (or rejoice) brand new fans, because brand new have evolved and progressed once again. they basically ditch all of their old ideas and song structures on weapon and deja and have created a new record and sound with amazing guitars, clever/meaningful lyrics, and just stunning music! it took me awhile to figure out how to write a review on deja so this one won't be easy as well. so here it goes, and i hope it gives people an insight of what this new offering sounds like from brand new.

the 3 biggest overall changes i noticed with this album are the following:

1) the overall dark theme of all the songs....even though brand new was darker on "deja" than "weapon", they show it even more on this album. the album gives off extremely dark imagery and is very emotional and could be considered depressing to some. i wonder where they got some of these riffs because some of them are just plain haunting and eerie. this is definitely not a negative thing, because it relates to the lyrics and songs which in turn makes them deep and meaningful.

2) the songs are overall slower and jesse's vocal delivery....jesse's vocal delivery on this album usually starts off with a soft-spoken whisper then explodes into this emotional frenzy of screaming. most of the songs are like this and have no pattern to them whatsoever which makes this album a hard listen for some brand new fans. the switch to quiet to loud isn't overwhelming on every song except for on the tracks "you won't know" and "luca" where it's actually kind of disturbing. however, there are a few songs on here that have a dance vibe to them but still very dark and desperate sounding ("not the sun","archers") as well as a few acoustic songs that keep the same rythm throughout the songs ("jesus christ","handcuffs"). it's a very "interesting" style to say the least.

3) finally, a phenomenal improvement on the guitars....this is what stood out to me initially upon the first couple of listens and is why i instantly fell in love with the album. the guitars on here are progressive-sounding in the likes of pink floyd, the who, the smiths, the cure, etc. and just have a classic sound to them. the crescendos on this album along with the guitar parts are what really make this album shine IMO. you have to hear it to know what i'm saying. for example, check out the end of "limousine".

a lot of people are saying this is brand new's version of radiohead's "the bends" album. i disagree with that. i believe deja entendu was brand new's "the bends" album and "the devil and god are raging inside me" is their "ok computer". i have a feeling that brand new's next album will be a bomb dropped on music listeners like radiohead's "kid A" was to fans. i guess we'll have to anxiously wait and see. as for influences on this album, radio head is present. also, i can't help to hear modest mouse in a lot of the songs. you can also tell that their good friends in Nightmare of you have rubbed off on their music giving a dancey feel like in the songs "archers" and "not the sun". lastly, you can hear a heavy influence of older bands like the smiths, the cure, and joy division. every track is amazing in it's own right but the true standouts to me are "sowing season (yeah)", "jesus christ", "degausser", "you won't know", and "not the sun".

those were the 3 biggest changes/improvements i found on the album. it's a real piece of art and is going to be a classic album that will stand the test of time for rock music. forget emo, heartcore, screamo and all those meaningless cliche terms...this is a mature rock album that will define great music in the 2000 era and will be talked about years and decades from now. i'm not going to say if it's better or worse than "deja entendu" because that's the album everyone's comparing it to. they are both great, amazing albums that everyone should hear or give a chance. i recommend to anyone and everyone but i can't help to feel that you have to be open minded, somewhat intelligent, and be able to appreciate meaning with music to enjoy brand new or this album. if your music library is limited to rap, country, and commerical rock...chances are you're not going to understand or appreciate this album. since your reading this review, you're probably not one of those people. highly recommended, of course, and if you get the chance...let people who are not familiar with brand new hear this album. it might just change their taste in music for the better...

i apologize for the lengthy review but i feel i had to give this album some justice. hands down, the record of the year and is possibly the one of the best records i've ever heard...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best album of 2006, January 22, 2007
This is not meant to be a real review for those of you out there who do not have the album, but you are entitled to read it either way.

When i first bought the CD, I think i was almost more excited just to get it open and hold it in my hands. This album was 3 years in the making and possibly the most worthwhile wait i've ever encountered.

Their first record has hints of what was to come with their intense lyrical style, the intelligent wording and the metaphors but that album had an overwhelming sense of pop-punk to it that really allowed it to fall by the wayside in the eye of the critical press. The second album was almost a new band, Deja Entendu was possibly the most drastic progression for a band i had ever heard. The lyrics turned from clever ways of saying that a girl left you to clever ways of saying much more important things. Songs like "Sic Transit Gloria... Glory Fades" and "Guernica" dealt with much more thought provoking ideas. The first dealt with a boy being forced into sex by a willing and experienced girl but it hinted at the boy lying to say he wasn't a virgin and the girl was just trying to impress him whereas "Guernica" dealt with Jesse Lacey(singer and song writer)'s grandfather who was diagnosed with lung cancer during the writing of the album.

The new album is an even more drastic jump from Deja. The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me is full of Bible references, sad stories & insight into Jesse's personal life that only he can give you.

The first song, "Sowing Season (Yeah)" is said to be about all the people who passed away during the making of the album (which totals up to 14 mentioned in the liner notes that accompany the album).

The second track, "Millstone" seems to be an inner monologue that Jesse has with himself about his faith in God and the love of his parents (i.e. "I used to pray like God was listening. I used to make my parents proud.").

The third track, aptly titled "Jesus" is a song written to Jesus Christ himself about his second coming and Jesse's inner turmoil over what will happen to him on that day ("I know you're coming in the night like a thief. But I've had some time, O Lord, to hone my lying technique. I know you think that I'm someone you can trust, But I'm scared I'll get scared and I swear I'll try to nail you back up").

The fourth track is a song about the demon that lives in Jesse's friends attic ("Take apart the demon up in the attic to the left") but also seems to deal with his faith in God and the idea of Armageddon ("When I arrive will God be waiting and pacing around his throne?... Yeah, I admit, I am afraid of the reckoning").

The fifth track (i feel the most intense, lyrically) is called "Limousine." The song is written about a tragedy that occured on July 4th, 2006. What started out as a beautiful wedding day for a young woman turned tragic when a drunk driver (Martin Heidgen) got into his pick up and proceeded to drive drunk down the wrong side of the road at 70 miles per hour. The drunken drive was cut short by his collision with the limousine carrying 6 people from the wedding to their homes. The crash killed the driver instantly and the flower girl from the wedding, Katie (7 years old) was decapitated by the twisted wreckage. The others were injured and the father was taken into intensive care. The saddest part of this story is this: Katie's mother woke up shortly after the wreck occured and proceeded to pull herself from the vehicle only to find the severed head of her daughter lying on the ground. She held onto her until the medical team picked them all up. The song talks about someone named "K" which is most likely Jesse's attempt not to disclose the name of the girl. the first verse is said to be from Katie's mother's view with lyrics such as; "And I have one more night to be your mother." The first verse also talks about Katie spreading the petals as she did that day as the flower girl in the wedding. The second half of the song is from Martin Heidgen's perspective talking about the guilt that will crush him. The song ends with a refrain that repeats the same lyric over and over but counts to seven and stays there (example: "i love you so much, but do me a favor baby, don't reply..... one loves you so much.... two loves you so much...") and when it reaches 7, it stays there. this is said to be one of many things (or all of them). He could be referring to the girls age, the seven deadly sins or any of the mentions of the number in the Bible. all in all, this song is my favorite.

The sixth track, entitled "You Won't Know" is also said to be partially about Katie Flynn, saying "So pray little Kay, love's God on a good day

And you can't blame your mother" and refers to her as the apple of his eye as they play "william tell" to pass the time.

The seventh track, called "Welcome To Bangkok" is an instrumental with only one line repeated 3 times: "Space Cadet, pull up."

The eigth track ("Not The Sun") is possibly a song about a past lover of Jesse's. The chorus consists of one line repeated over and over: "Won't you be my babe?" The song also makes mention of the girl moving on and says that if she "breeds," just don't tell him and be his babe.

The ninth track, "Luca" is a song based loosely around Luca Brasi, a character from The Godfather. ("Please drop me a line with a hook and some raw bleeding bait, For I am uncaught and still swimming alone in the lake.")

The tenth track which stands untitled is another instrumental with just one lyric hidden amongst the music: "I could never listen."

The eleventh track, "The Archers Bows Have Broken" (referred to as "Archers") seems to be about throwing out your beliefs and deserting your friends and loved ones. The song's lyrics refer to hell freezing over and shouting but not being heard. The songs really seems to be an insight into Jesse's thoughts.

the 12th track was written by, guitarist, Vin Accardi. The song, called "Handcuffs" is a song about inner thoughts, things that people tend to think about but would never admit to. Some of the ideas expressed are driving a car off of a cliff as long as his loved ones weren't in it or drowing the crying babies (maybe in public) but only if the mothers didn't care. A lot of people find the lyrics to be creepy and strange but I tend to look at it as a bold statement of things that no normal person would admit to thinking.

Overall, this album is the best of 2006, even though it came extremely late in the year, it has impacted me greatly and i'm sure we'll be listening to this album for years and years to come, still discussing it and still debating over the meaning of the songs. No matter your opinion on Brand New, this album is a masterpiece and cannot be rivled by any other artist within the genre.

Thank you for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, February 19, 2007
I don't usually write any reviews, but I felt apt do to so in this case. Once in a long while, after years of listening to tons of music, there comes a time where an album hits you in such a way that you realize why you listen to music all over again. This is that album (for me at least). It's such a dark album, even darker than the previous Brand New albums if you can believe that. All I can say is get this album and find out for yourself. It has revolutionized the way I listen to music. I mean, this album puts so many others to shame, so much of an aura it possesses that I believe it shadows it's own predecessors (weapons, deja) as well as many other albums I once thought were great. I am now embarrassed to listen to many other artists I previously thought were amazing...this album managed to strip something away from those albums in a good way (my eyes are open). As a huge music fan, this album slips into my top ten easily, very likely in my top 5. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best of 2006, November 27, 2006
these are some points that bothered me about some reviews:

inaudible lyrics: lots of the songs on deja entendu were difficult to understand, i remember listening to "the quiet things..." for the first time, as well as many others on deja, and having no clue what was being said. that goes for tons of songs by any band. when he wants to be heard word for word he is, and when maybe the raw emotion and music are more important lacey lets those shine more than the specific words he is saying.

the slow beginnings to songs is another style that was used on deja, look at "tommy gun" and "play crack the sky," which is compeltely slow -slow doesn't mean bad. unlike other bands, brand new doesn't use soft parts of songs to simply set up a more energetic part. there isn't a soft bridge on every song like most bands utilize that use the same chords simply softer. they are placed deliberately and consistently.

additionally, many of the songs are three chord songs -some using the exact same chords and progression. the chorus of tommy gun is the same as the verse for the quiet things, g, c, e, c. that doesn't make it bad, it's the layering of the music that makes it more complex. yfw is a cd full of three chord songs. in the devil and god the tempo changes and complete changes in sound within songs are put to great use in this cd and the lead guitar on this album is superb compared to their last two. the layering of guitar riffs and sounds is a great change from the previous two albums.

as for the screaming, its a stylistic choice that shows the rage inside of him -hence the title of the cd. the cd is about opposing forces within him -delicacy and rage, good and bad. you can't criticize them for a choice to change their style. the music is fantastic -and a huge step from both the previous cd's. not one song includes only screaming, nor does one include entirely hushed vocals. all 3 cd's have included slow songs and lots of repition of the same powerful line.

anyway, the two instrumentals are fantastic. especially welcome to bangkok -which might be one of my favorite on the cd. brand new's musical capabilities has finally caught up to jesse lacey's lyric writing propensity.

the devil and god are raging inside me is an incredible album, with a focused theme throughout. just like deja entendu was for me, it took multiple listens for me to appreciate every song. after a week of listening to it close to non-stop, i am now in love with every single song. like anything, not everyone is going to like this cd, but it is a big accomplishment for brand new and exceeded all expectations i had for their third album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Highwater Mark for Emo.....What Rock Music is Meant to Be, November 22, 2006
By 
D. Nickel (St. Louis USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simply stated this cd is a masterpiece. I am a 48 year old who enjoys most rock music past and present. My music purchases the last few years have left me yawning and bored after hearing one band after another put out the same old 3 minute cookie cutter, corporate sounding songs especially among bands in the emo genre from both seasoned tour bands and new bands. Brand New finally gets it right for all those bands who misfired with mundane releases passed off to the consumer as something worthy and new. Instead of songs tainted with saccharin, Brand New gives us songs loaded with soul. Instead of listening to songs about a "dude's" heartbreak over a girl who dumped him for another guy at a California beach, Brand New gives us songs filled with raw emotion about the ups and and downs of life. Instead of hearing the latest contrived screams from a singer, we hear singing with sincere angst. Instead of songs with clever, catchy titles (i.e. Fall Out Boys) that cover up shallow, goofy songs, Brand New gives us straightforward titles that introduce us to creative songs of meaningful length. Every band in Brand New's musical category needs to learn from this band on how to write songs with structure and lyrical content while wrapped in emotional tension. Songs that are filled with heft and meaning.

The best song on the cd "You Won't Know" is the highwater mark for this band and will be tough to top in their coming releases. One of the best songs from any band or artist that I have listened to in the past couple of years.

These songs and this cd will stand the test of time. I have bought dozens of cds this year and this is the best one. I rarely write cd reviews, but I felt people needed to know about this diamond sitting in the overstocked cd shelves filled with musical muck at their local Best Buy store. Go and get it and experience what rock music was meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing.. Best of '06?, December 3, 2006
By 
This Cd is amazing. I think the best thing about this CD is that every song is its' own piece. It doesnt drag the same concept and tone over and over. Brand New has definitely matured. There's tons of emotion in each song, and while they don't use the full capacities of the lead singer's voice, they use it well in accordance with the music. I'd name some standouts, but they are all really, really, good. First to jump out at me were: Millstone, Jesus, The Archers Bows Have Broken and Handcuffs. Two things that I really didn't like.. They chose "Sowing Season" as the single, which is a great song, but doesn't seem fit to be the single on this CD. The other problem is, really, that this CD really leaves you craving a lot more. Every song had me wanting more... but with only 12 tracks and 2 of them lacking vocals, it really left me a bit disappointed. Nonetheless, the songs are breathtaking, and music this good doesn't come around very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fight your demons with this cd!, December 2, 2006
Ok, I don't usually write reviews to anything because I never feel strongly enough to do so. In this case, it was different. While this album has a much different sound than the previous, it is possibly their absolute best work. The music and lyrics are outstanding and this band or cd cannot be compared with anything else. In other words, it's simply better than anything else I've heard in a long time. Not sure what this band had to go through personally to make an album like this but it's dark and honest and actually makes you feel something. I think if you've been a brand new fan you'll love it as long as your not one of those people who don't allow bands the chance to change or evolve, especially when it's done emotionally. If you're "new" to brand new, and you simply want to hear a good honest record, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grow Up, November 25, 2006
This album deserves a few more reviews to bring the ratings up. Some of these short sighted, one star reviews are an atrocity. This album, yes, is a step in a new direction for the band, and in its own way it is incredible and moving. Its independence from Deja is something that I'm sure the band was going for, and they achieve it here. For anyone who wants Deja Entendu pt. II, you won't find it here. Nor does it make much sense that you would want to. Bands grow. It's a good thing. Their work overall now shows an incredible range and growth. YFW is a fun, punk rocking, if simplistic album. Deja Entendu showed a massive maturity, and had a kind of mellow groove that moved away from YFW. TDAG moves even further from Deja, retaining the incredible lyrics, but ramping it up, adding a tinge of grunge, a progressive feel, and ultimately becoming a lot more of an agressive album in the proccess. The title is "The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me," people! That suggests some anger, some conflict, and this album lives up to that title exactly. You won't find the well worn emo formulas of tortured relationships and love gone wrong here, but you will find evidence of a conflicted mind and a tortured soul.

The only critique that I can honestly give is a relatively selfish one: the album is way too short. It's a bit of an unfair critique, because it hinges entirely on my having heard the demos before the album was released. It seneless at this point to argue over what should have made the album that didn't, they made the decisions as a band and TDAG is what they chose to release. Technically we should have never known that there was any other possibility. That said, I really would have liked to see a couple of the demos make the album in place of some of the instrumental tracks. I like "Welcome to Bangkok," but the other instrumental could have been cut in favor of another full song. Better yet, they could have just added some extras and had a longer CD. After nearly 4 years, a 14 track album isn't too much to ask for. Hopefully they'll release an EP with some of the demos that didn't make it. Songs like #1, 2, 4 among others are way too good to never see the light of day officially.

Other than that minor, rather unfair gripe, the album is a masterpiece. Just go buy it. If you're a Brand New fan, you should love this album. If you're a Brand New fan and you don't, then I question whether you really gave it a chance. Plenty of people attacked Deja Entendu, which now everyone fawns over, because it was a huge departure from YFW. Give it a few more spins and grow up a little. Jesse Lacey is around 28 years old now. Let's not expect him to keep writing like he's 18. If you're willing to mature along with this band lyrically, emotionally and musically, you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much more mature Brand New for a more mature audience., December 7, 2006
Brand New's boldest album is a must buy for fans of music. Any of the reviews that you have read claiming that their new sound is a bad thing are wrong. This album has made a leap forward in both maturity and content as great or greater then the leap that Deja Entendu made from Your Favorite Weapon. For the "fans" of Brand New who are saying that this album does not live up to Deja Entendu, I simply say that you are not at a point in your life where you can appreciate where the band is going. The band departs from lesser teenage issues in this album and moves on to deeper thoughts and perspectives. No longer is the band struggling with drinking and women, they are struggling with guilt from past mistakes, a strong desire to have faith and to change but the uncertainty that comes with it. The tracks "Sowing Season", "Jesus", "Limousine", and "You Wont Know" all offer incredible depth and emotion that Brand New fans are accustomed too. The most touching song on the album for me is "Limousine" which was written about the 7 year old Katie Flynn who was killed last year by a drunk driver on her way home with her parents after their wedding. She was the flower girl and her life was taken by a young man (24) who had just finished partying with some of his friends. When paramedics arrived on the scene they found the mother holding Katie's decapitated head in her arms. What an Earth shaking event to write a song about! What a life changing song! I'm sure many of you out there have driven after drinking a few too many. Many of the songs on this album will really shake you up when you study the lyrics and really listen to them. That is an example of the deepness of this album and the way it can make your realize things. The band is laying it out there that there is much more too life then feeling good and living for ourselves. Brand New had transcended Post Punk or whatever label you want to put on them from their previous albums. 5 stars. You wont regret buying this album if you are mature enough to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brand New is growing up, and it's a very good thing., November 26, 2006
This album is absolutely fantastic. The thing with "The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me" is that everyone is busy comparing it to Deja and Your Favorite Weapon, but I think you need to get this album, stick it in your CD player and just take it in without trying to draw parallels. Yes, they are all Brand New, and you can still easily see it's an album by the same band. But this album doesn't just catch you like the others, it needs some time to sink in and be absorbed, which I personally love. The lyrics speak truth more than ever before - the album starts out with "Sowing Season" where Jesse Lacey writes "Was losing all my friends...was losing them to drinking and to driving." Next, in "Millstone," I relate to "I was the glue that kept my friends together, now they don't talk and we don't go out." This is a far cry from "Soco Amaretto Lime"'s sentiment, but it shows that Brand New is growing up. And since I'm growing up too, this album just feels right. I highly recommend buying it. Just do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.