Customer Reviews


352 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Devil's Advocate (Unrated Director's Cut) [Blu-ray]
Still a fine and intriguing film after all these years. No summaries or opinions on acting here; just a review of the transfer to Blu Ray.
Blu Ray Transfer Quality Review

Despite Amazon's refusal to separate the Standard Def release reviews from the Blu Ray reviews, I did not think that the Standard Def version was a bad release. That said, the...
Published 20 months ago by Steve Douglas

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT IS NOT A DIRECTOR'S CUT,
As a HUGE fan od Taylor Hackford and Andrew Niedermann, I thought, when I read UNRATED DIRECTOR'S CUT on the label, I was finally going to see a longer footage of the great Devil's Advocate, but I had been fooled!
This BR is nothing less than the usual theatrical DVD with a litle better image and the dleted scenes on a separate folder! No way to attach them on the...
Published 13 months ago by Rogerio Lima


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Devil's Advocate (Unrated Director's Cut) [Blu-ray], November 27, 2012
Still a fine and intriguing film after all these years. No summaries or opinions on acting here; just a review of the transfer to Blu Ray.
Blu Ray Transfer Quality Review

Despite Amazon's refusal to separate the Standard Def release reviews from the Blu Ray reviews, I did not think that the Standard Def version was a bad release. That said, the transfer to Blu Ray is an improvement in terms of color resolution and contrast. There was no perceptible grain and no artifacting, stair-stepping or aliasing in any part of the film. The Blu Ray video is the star of this transfer with nice details in the shadows and a nicely saturated palate of color. Skin tones were as they should be as well.

The lossless audio is DTSHD 5.1 It is the front stage where the audio lives and shines. and while the audio levels are excellent and dialogue is clear and precise, even when the music score comes on, your center channel speaker will get most of the work. There is some small amount of panning across the front stage and light use of your LFE channel. The rear channels are used primarily for non discreet audio ambience with only one scene in the entire film where discreet channeling to the rears comes to play. The audio surprised me then as there had been no use of discreet rears throughout.

The Blu Ray version of The Devils Advocate is certainly worth the inexpensive prices it has been going for but, as I said, the standard def version wasn't too bad and the differences between the two are not night and day. The extras included the typical commentary, some deleted scenes that did not add much to the film and that's about it.

All my movie reviews are of this nature and focus only on the quality of the transfer to BluRay so check them and see if they are of help as well.
Hopefully, this review has been of some help to you in determining your purchase, hope I am on the correct path with a review of the transfer quality as opposed to providing plot summaries.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keanu's Big Surprise, March 12, 2001
By 
Hespeler (Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil's Advocate (DVD)
Here comes a sharp, strong-voiced New York city lawyer with a lot of experience complemented by rare physical and mental powers. Played by Al Pacino, John Milton is a loner who wins cases by ignoring what is and isn't "by the book". While in the process of establishing a law partner, Milton runs across hot shot Keanu Reeves, who is yet to lose. Reeves turns out to become the perfect missing piece to the puzzle for Pacino. His character spends a significant amount of time with his new law partner in business and pleasure circumstances, in order to indirectly let his new friend know him better, to find out who he really is. As time passes, tension between the two businessmen arises and Keanu, the perfect defender/convicter sees his life unfold to become a total nightmare.
"The Devils Advocate" has been compared to "The Firm", but "The Firm" is more drawn out and isn't in with the fantasy or horror genre. Al Pacino really shows his stuff in this, with a more than believable performance that features numerous profound monologues that are always mastered by this Italian legend. His costar, Keanu, hits the target for the first time, bringing genuine emotion and class to the table. Overall, "The Devil's Advocate" is very intriguing, extremely well acted with some impressive special effects. I found this movie to be one of the best of the 90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morals Reawaken Here!, December 8, 2006
This review is from: Devil's Advocate (DVD)
This movie is actually a shocking wake up call in the moral department. If you follow my reviews, you know that I dislike modern shoot em up movies. But setting this aside, it is interesting how many movies inspire the wrong values. (Shoot everybody up, take down who stands in your way, fall in love, and live happily ever after. I could go on and on, but so many movies fall into this category.) Well, "The Devil's Advocate" seems to be a reaction against the amoral filth that often comes out of the movie theatres. The basic theme of this movie according to its director is: "Do I do the right thing, or do I survive?"

The story starts at a courtroom in Florida. Lawyer Kevin Lomax realizes that his client is really guilty, but after a bit of taunting, he gets his client off anyway, and it's not hard to see that satisfying his ego was the main reason he did so. Well, Kevin gets an offer from a law firm in New York City to pick a jury for a client who DID steal millions. Again, Kevin comes through. The leader of this city firm John Milton (Al Pacino) then offers Kevin a job with a tempting salary. So far, this all seems part of the 'American Dream.' (Play some moral games to get to the top if you need to.) Apparently Kevin has gotten there, but the story is FAR from over. Sadly, some vital scenes were deleted for the purpose of time. (One is where Al Pacino says: "Leave morals to God. We have a job to do." Another sadly deleted scene is where Kevin's wife Mary Anne is sent into a room where sexual amoral games are going on.)

At the risk of over simplifying a bit, with Al Pacino's well timed appearances, it becomes clear that the more moral games Kevin is willing to play, the further he can go. It is interesting that about half way through the movie, Kevin starts to treat his moral and religious mother with disrespect, and that the marriage between Kevin and Mary Anne starts to have serious problems. An obvious example is when Mary Anne gets a beautiful cut and dye hair job, but Kevin calls it: 'radical' and 'traumatic.' Why? He already has his eyes on other women. (Notably Christa Bella.) Another sadly deleted scene is where it was obvious that if Christa Bella had been present at the dance club, Kevin would have been willing to engage in adultery. The once happy marriage with Mary Anne has become a burden to him. (This is obvious when during a phone call, he lies to her about being at work and starts to get very short with her.)

Well, Kevin continues to take the money as well as other things, at the expense of his morals. It is not until he realizes that his new client Alexander, IS guilty of several murders that his conscience starts to wake up. But even if our conscience has awakened, will we listen to it, or will we survive? Kevin realizes that after you have played too many moral games, backing out isn't so easy. And it isn't long before he realizes that Al Pacino is in fact the DEVIL. Perhaps the most frightening moment in this movie is when Kevin tries to blame the devil for everything that happened to him, and the devil can HONESTLY reply: "Wait a minute. Who MADE those decisions?"

Another frightening thing about this movie is that we probably all have played moral games in our lives, and this movie confronts us with things we are probably ALL guilty of. Forget the grotesque devils and demons in horror movies who can make you do things. Any priest or nun will say that evil is simply the absence of God. And if the devil did make an appearance, he could very well appear fatherly and likable. And he probably would say things that SOUND good. This movie is proof that in horror, blood and guts are laughable compared to frightening truth that we may wish to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it more every time I watch it, December 24, 2000
I think I am finally going to have to admit that I like Keanu Reeves. Every movie I see him in, he's Ted. Ted the lawyer, Ted the Christ-figure, Ted the Buddha-figure, Ted the son of Satan, Ted the guy with the wife turning into a vapire, Ted the serial killer. He's just the same dopy guy in every movie and yet that character is really beginning to grow on me and I'm starting to realize that there is a difference between his roles. Maybe a subtle one but it's a difference. And he must be a very nice guy because he keeps ending up in all the great movies and despite how much I might be starting to like him he's still not THAT talented.
This is a movie of pure brilliant evil. Al Pacino would be great for the last 15 minutes alone when he's over the top, blaspheming against G-d, nature and the American Judicial System. But the fact that Pacino lets himself play it down for most of the movie is great. He's polite. He's suave and there's just something a little off about him. He also lets Keanu have most of the movie. Usually if you are on screen with Pacino, forget about being remembered unless you happened to be DeNiro, but in this movie the director and the actor know how to hang back and make Reeves look good.
Basically this movie is a parable about a lawyer without a conscience or at least without one that is going to stand in the way of winning. Due to his success he gets hired by a high-profile law firm with sinister undertones and begins to get a whole new breed of killers off. Oh yeah, the President of the law firm is Satan.
This movie has some beautiful scenes including the final denoument with Satan and Reeves as well as the empty street of New York City that Keanu Reeves walks over to get to his confrontation. Charlize Theron (sic?) is the unraveling moral fiber that undercuts Reeves' flirtation with the dark side. Where he makes choices and loses a little more of his soul, she goes insane and changes her Belinda Carlisle hairdo to the Belinda Carlisle-postcocaine hairdo.
This is an amazing movie. Brilliant and psychotic. Religious enough to please religious folks and blasphemous enough to entertain everyone else. Rent it, buy it and watch it over and over again.
One caveat: the lawyer as devil storyline has been done to death. It's great here but one wonders why the festering resentment against lawyers is so pervasive. Then again that is on of the few professionals besides drug dealer or hitman where people hate the successful practitioners. Oh well, occupational hazard for the neat cars and the big houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The devil and all to pay, November 8, 2000
"The Devil's Advocate is one of those movies that sneak up on you, grab you and won't let go. The story is simple enough; a young fireball of a lawyer, Kevin Lomax, played by Keanu Reeves, who has never lost a case, finds himself in the middle of every defense attorney's nightmare, representing a slimy sleazeball accused of molesting little girls. Halfway through the trial he realizes his client is guilty as hell, which presents him with a dilemma: he can extend his winning streak at the price of losing his soul; or he can do the right thing at the possible risk of torpedoing his career. What's a young, up and coming hotshot to do? In no time at all, he and his beautiful, fatally naive wife (excellently played by Charlize Theron) are off to New York, where he has been recruited to work for a high-powered law firm headed by a omnilingual, diabolically clever lawyer named John Milton (Al Pacino looks like he had the time of his life in this role) and staffed by a bunch of hell-bound associates. While Kevin's career takes off, his wife descends into a miasma of loneliness, despair and finally madness; and when Kevin berates Milton for driving his wife into her personal hell, Milton reminds Kevin that God, whom Milton fears as much as he hates, gave us all a left-handed gift called free will; we are free to make our own choices, and we have to live with the consequences. As the feller says, you can't win 'em all. The film runs somewhat overlong but holds our interest throughout. There are many good performances in this movie and a few excellent ones, but when all is said and done, the film belongs to Al Pacino and his gleefully wicked portrayal of the devil incarnate. Kevin is finally left to make his own choice, which I'm not going to give away here; suffice to say that the film's resolution is a shock. Maybe you can't win 'em all, but director Taylor Hackford clearly came up a winner with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5-Star Film; Maybe A Bit Too Long, But Still..., December 31, 2001
This review is from: Devil's Advocate (DVD)
This is a very well-made film. Director Taylor Hackford did a great job by keeping the film styish and sleek all the while injecting a faint sense of dread into each of the early scenes that grows and grows until it completely breaks loose by the film's climax.
I'm not going to expound on this film any more, because the eloquent reviewer from Woodstock, GA already did an excellent job of that. However, I do want to point out that this film plays even better in my DVD player than it did when I watched it in the theater. I don't know why, but I guess the sharper DVD image works for it better. Plus, the commentary by Taylor Hackford is extremely insightful. The film itself may go on a bit too long, and the climax still has me shaking my head a bit, but this film is undeniably provocative, giving us a better-than-average Keanu Reeves performance, who obviously has no trouble with a Southern accent (ditto for his British accent in BRAM STOKER'S DRACULA, another stylish and excellent film). It also contains a performance by Al Pacino that is his best in years, and one that he clearly had a lot of fun in doing! But the performance that stands out the most for me is by relative newcomer Charlize Theron (originally from South Africa) as Reeves' suffering young wife. Her performance is psychologically complex, sympathetic, and harrowing: she draws you into her character's heart so well that you can't look away. Her performance should have earned her an Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actress; it's too bad that the Academy didn't agree.
Despite the way the plot of THE DEVIL'S ADVOCATE may read to some viewers, it is not a horror film, per se. It is a very-well-realized, fantastical vision of the good and evil that underpins our money-driven, materialistic society. It contains some rather disturbing scenes, but what is truly disturbing is how real it all seems. For one, I am glad I own it on DVD, and if you are a fan of supernatural and suspensful films, you should own it, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Flick! Devil Impresses on Blu, September 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Honestly, with the current Amazon cost of $11.98 for The Devil's Advocate on Blu-ray, I didn't expect much. In the past, these lower cost, older title Blu-ray's never really impressed me with their grainy, scratchy and hazy picture quality and their less than clean audio quality.

Thankfully, The Devil's Advocate raises the bar and Warner did a great job of bringing this great title to HD. The picture is crisp and sharp, blacks are nice and deep and there is hardly a slight grain at all, even with the sharpness.

The audio is also quite good, and while there are those small scenes where the audio cracks just as on the DVD, it is a great improvement.

Over-all, this release is greatly worth the low cost and for all you other collectors out there, it is time to chuck your old snap case Devil's Advocate and upgrade to Blu!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational!, April 2, 2002
This review is from: Devil's Advocate (DVD)
I loved this movie. Outstanding in practically every way. Al Pacino's portrayal of Lucifer is exactly how I have always perceived the dark angel to be. The devil does not have horns or a tail, he has the face of man himself. I am always amazed at how the religious zealots seem to conveniently forget that Lucifer was the highest angel, an archangel, thrown out of heaven because of his arrogance and rebelliousness, not because he was a mad demon.
Pacino plays this character beautifully - he is sly, charismatic, chilling, and seductive all at once. One of my favorite scenes was the elevator scene where Milton bates Kevin's mother by calling her "Mrs. Lomax" and asking her slyly that "surely this wasn't her first trip to New York". Absolutely wicked! Then, as Milton casually wisks Kevin off to a night on the town at the Flamingo club and the boxing match (naturally Don King would have an alliance with Satan), I was mezmerized watching Milton weave his spell and reel Kevin smoothly into his web. Pacino's climaxtic argument is brilliant as he exclaims that he's a fan of man and why. As I watched Kevin's descent from Maryann,(Charlize Theron and Keanu had wonderful chemistry as a married couple),I was reminded of how we all make certain decisions then try to justify our actions later, usually with the precursor that, "It wasn't MY fault, it was the work of Satan... then, like Kevin, we make the same decisions over and over.
I thought Keanu Reeves was perfect as the cool, arrogant, hotshot attorney who knows that he is so...good. I am completely baffled by all the haters panning Keanu's acting, he did a great job. I thought the casting of all the actors were on point in this movie, everyone connected with each other and with their characters.
My only complaint is that the deleted scenes cannot not be viewed without the director's commentary. The sub-titles can't even be displayed. While this DVD has one of the best director's commentary's, it would be nice to have the option of watching the deleted scenes on their own since these scenes contribute to the continuity of the story and clear up questions a viewer may have. Overall, this movie is just outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I've nutured man, despite all his imperfections, I'M A FAN OF MAN!!!", April 1, 2008
By 
This review is from: Devil's Advocate (DVD)
This is a fantastic movie. Al Pacino doesn't get the credit he deserves. He was amazing as Satan. Keanu Reeves was good and Charlize Theron is gorgeous. <Also stars Jeffrey Jones who was the principal in Ferris Bueller's Day Off and Craig T. Nelson who was Steven Freeling in Poltergeist.

Keanu Reeves is a Florida district Attorney who is recruited by a big law firm in Manhattan. Kevin (Reeves) accepts the offer and he and Mary (Theron) move to a very exclusive building where most of the lawyers from Milton and his partners firm. Mysterious happenings start to set in and Kevin's mom suspects why. Later on Kevin figures out that John Milton (Al Pacino) is both is father and Satan. Milton needs him to create the Antichrist. Kevin falls into Miltons "trap." Did he dig himself too deep?

The movie leads up to the great ending. Al Pacinco makes memorable moment in the last 20 minutes of the movie ranting and raving. Will Kevin sell his soul to the devil?

The DVD includes deleted scenes which aren't bad but anyone who likes Al Pacino, a decent suspensful thriller will definately add this to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, August 27, 2006
This review is from: Devil's Advocate (DVD)
Keanu Reeves as a small town attorney who can't seem to lose. He is recruited to a large New York firm and becomes a star as he seems to get all kinds of "bad" people off. One can immediately sense there is something not so ordinary with his boss (Al Pacino) who causes terror to Reeves' mother and seems to have sexy woman fawning over him. Not too long after joining the firm, Reeves catches one of the firm's top employees shredding questionable documents after hours and then Reeves' wife seems to go mad after a wierd dream.

One of Reeve's best performances with twists and turns to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Devil's Advocate
The Devil's Advocate by Taylor Hackford
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.