Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow
Demented, dark and gruesome. Those are 3 words I would use to descrbe Devil's Mambo by Jerry Rodriguez. It has to be one of the darkest novels I've read. It took me places where I only imagined in my darkest nightmares. It was like a guilty pleasure, the characters were so intrguing you had to turn the pages. You root for the main characters revenge as he's put through...
Published on August 25, 2007 by JEFF RIVERA

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly Mixed Feelings.
3.5 stars. A minor spoiler or two.

The good thing about this book is that it made me think hard about how I view "heroes", or rather, anti-heroes. The not so good thing is that it was very uneven in its depictions. Rodriguez does a fantastic job with the sex, s/m, violence and, of all things, the hopping club scenes. It's pretty much everything else that I had...
Published on November 1, 2008 by Lady Action Fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, August 25, 2007
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
Demented, dark and gruesome. Those are 3 words I would use to descrbe Devil's Mambo by Jerry Rodriguez. It has to be one of the darkest novels I've read. It took me places where I only imagined in my darkest nightmares. It was like a guilty pleasure, the characters were so intrguing you had to turn the pages. You root for the main characters revenge as he's put through things no man should endure. Jerry's characters are rough and and unapologetic. If you're into noire I think you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A demented, erotic thrill that exposes the underbelly of society, April 8, 2008
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
The Devil's Mambo starts off with Nicholas Esperanza enjoying life. He's a former Navy Seal and NYPD homicide detective who hit a 30 Million lottery and provided an avenue for early retirement. He has the hottest nightclub in town, Sueno Latino, a gorgeous girlfriend, Legs, and a good group of longtime friends. In every way possible his life is fulfilled and satisfying, until one day Legs asks for a favor.

Legs asks Nick to see her abuela (grandmother) about Alina, Legs' buck-wild niece who has run away from home on multiple occasions. Abuela is worried and having visions about Alina hanging out with a bad element, a dangerous crowd. Because he loves Legs so much, and because it suits his background so well, Nick takes on the challenge of finding Alina and bringing her back home.

In no time at all, Nick is immersed in a world of sexual deviancy, where pain and pleasure is mixed, and for those seeking the extreme, violence and crime is added. He realizes that Alina has been hanging out with a tough crowd, from transvestites in underground sex clubs to pimps and prostitutes who have links to a world of degradation and sexual pleasure, and to Jason Ryback and his wife Mistress Devona Love.

Jason Ryback and Mistress Devona Love are the extreme of all extremes; they are pain artists and torture experts, and they are intricately involved in the seedy world with which Nick will soon be familiar. They use people to fulfill Love's extreme sadistic desires, and sometimes to do the bidding of a shady, part-time employer named Bishop who is involved in the sickest of the sick: kiddie porn. In their daily lives, the concepts of asphyxiation, electrical play, and murder are as normal as eating corn flakes for breakfast.

It's up to Nick to fight through the pimps, prostitutes, trannies, doms, subs, strippers, and murderers to find Alina within the New York underbelly saturated with sex, drugs, perversion, and crime.

Along the way he gains first-hand knowledge and experience of the insanely intense world of hardcore BDSM. He learns his limits of pain and pleasure, and the extent to which the two coexist. He learns that in order to survive in such a bizarre and deranged environment, he'll have to find his inner-sociopath and ignore his burgeoning sexual desires.

This is a hot page-turner that is so twisted and interesting that it simply can't be put down. It touches on the trashy nerve we all have within, the urge we have to peek at the magazines covered in plastic or the garbage tabloid. It's the desire for danger and the uknown that makes us attempt new experiences, and this book tugs at the roots beneath the tree of risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eerily A Good Read!, September 22, 2010
By 
Sheba "AVID READER!!!!" (LANCASTER, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be a very good read. It went to a few dark places that most people abhor or don't care to admit to having an interest in. But don't let that deter you from reading it, because there is so much more to the story. The story moved along at a good pace and kept me interested all the way. There is action, murder, suspense, mystery, thrills and definitely CHILLS. There's also, guns, whips, chains, latex, vinyl and other S&M stuff. Esparanza, formerly an NYPD detective, is a different kind of guy, likeable most of the time and questionable and dark at others but I still found myself rooting for him. I am looking forward to reading more novels by Jerry A. Rodgriguez.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Mambo - Great Erotic Thriller!, May 22, 2007
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. Although some of the erotic parts made me feel out of my skin at times, the story overall was so engaging that I couldn't wait to return to find out what would happen next! The main character, Nick, is intriguing and complicated...and really pissed me off a few times, especially with some of his sexual escapades! But his Latin fueled passion adds a new flavor to the Erotica-Thriller genre.

I highly recommend this book and eagerly anticipate a sequel or better yet, I'd like to see this on the Silver Screen!!

--Khadijah Carter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty little secret..., May 28, 2007
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
"Dirty." That's what all my co-workers are saying about this book. But what they also say, with a little bit of a blush, is that they couldn't put it down. Not your typical detective novel, Rodriguez certainly startles some by sliding the world of kink and play into his tale. But like his main character discovers along the journey, once you turn the page and explore the world of pleasure/pain it's not so easy to turn back. With a solid story to carry you through, this novel is sure to please even if you decide (or tell yourself) the "dirty" stuff just isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Erotic Hardboiled Noir with Nuyorican Flavor, June 13, 2007
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
Devil's Mambo travels to places so dark and twisted it makes SVU feel like Sesame Street. This book is adrenaline charged from cover to cover yet well balanced by a compelling and empathetic lead character who discovers dark elements of his soul he never knew existed. Though I found myself cringing through a number of scenes, I found it hard to put down. This is a New York you've never seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was a great read, I could not put it down, December 12, 2013
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
Wow just finished reading this book! It takes you to a world you knew existed but not in the way he describes it! It was a great read ,I could not put it down ! I love how he described his characters especially Esperanza & Legs ! kept me on edge. So glad there is a follow up ! I look forward to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly Mixed Feelings., November 1, 2008
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
3.5 stars. A minor spoiler or two.

The good thing about this book is that it made me think hard about how I view "heroes", or rather, anti-heroes. The not so good thing is that it was very uneven in its depictions. Rodriguez does a fantastic job with the sex, s/m, violence and, of all things, the hopping club scenes. It's pretty much everything else that I had a hard time believing in.

As a reader, I'd be in this enjoyable groove, totally immersed in the story, and then I'd hit a passage where the descriptions are so choppy and sparse that they would best be described as perfunctory. In all honesty, the "mystery"/"hunt" reads like filler to get from one kink scene to another, the writer's true love and purpose.

About 90% of the story is told by Esperanza, so the reader is viewing the world through his eyes. (The remaining 10% is Devona and random other characters. Devona is understandable. But the jump into other random heads was jarring.)

The problem with Esperanza's narration is that we know he is a great singer, because he tells us so. He was great detective, because he tells us so. He was a kick--- Navy Seal, because he tells us so. He is a crack shot, because he tells us so. Yet few, if any, of his thought processes or behaviors really bear this out. He gets "caught" because he doesn't follow his instincts even though he knew going into the situation it was probably a set up of some kind. He enters a scene that should have been familiar to any one with his background as being dangerous, yet he has little guard up.

The subsequent flip and focus reads as kind of "meh." There's definite conflict in Esperanza over what happened to him. He's divided between having despised it and having enjoyed it. Rodriguez takes such pleasure in describing/recreating what was enjoyable, that, as a reader, it's difficult to believe in the rage and hatred, which he doesn't depict as strongly. Again, that's described perfunctorily, required by the plot.

Interestingly, as a lover of anti-heros, I found myself turned off not by Esperanza's interest in kink, but his use of drugs in one scene. I mean, I can easily root for a "hero" who beats up and kills people, but one who willingly uses drugs, I find reprehensible. Something to make one go hmmm.....

For that Rodriguez got the extra 1.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Exciting" New Genre, November 7, 2008
This review is from: The Devil's Mambo (Paperback)
Based on the book jacket, the book appears as if it's going to be like any other noir detective story. But as soon as you start to read, you realize this is something different. Esperanza experiences things that NO One should have to go through. I blushed at a few scenes and cringed at others but I had to keep reading! My biggest revelation was: this is an "Exciting New Genre!" (pun intended). Just think, erotic, Latino noir. A first....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Devil's Mambo
The Devil's Mambo by Jerry A. Rodriguez (Paperback - May 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $2.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.