Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Flawless TV Boxed Set From Image Entertainment!
The good folks at Image Entertainment have done it again! This third-season, multi-disc boxed set of CBS-TV's "The Dick Van Dyke Show" (1961-1966) replicates the outstanding quality and tender-loving-care of its two predecessors.

This Season 3 package consists of five digital discs, each receiving its own "ThinPak" case, with appropriate (and very...
Published on March 15, 2004 by David Von Pein

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly disappointed with this season
Well, we loved the first 2 seasons, but we were surprised to find ourselves disappointed by the 3rd season of the Dick Van Dyke Show. They repeat the Laura jealous of Rob/Rob jealous of Laura theme way too often. There were so many other themes and angles they could have pursued and often did in earlier shows. Rob and Laura's son is hardly ever included in an episode...
Published on November 11, 2008 by LITB Fans


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Flawless TV Boxed Set From Image Entertainment!, March 15, 2004
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The good folks at Image Entertainment have done it again! This third-season, multi-disc boxed set of CBS-TV's "The Dick Van Dyke Show" (1961-1966) replicates the outstanding quality and tender-loving-care of its two predecessors.

This Season 3 package consists of five digital discs, each receiving its own "ThinPak" case, with appropriate (and very nice-looking!) high-resolution artwork and accompanying episode information. The outer slipcase features the "old-time TV" look, complete with a "lenticular" (3-D style) image adorning the mock "TV screen". The snappy-looking 3-D image offers up a "motion" picture of Rob Petrie (Dick Van Dyke) falling out of a jury box (from the episode "One Angry Man", which actually was not a Season 3 episode, but rather a program from the first season of the show).

By the way, it's also worth mentioning here that these season-three discs are all "Region Free" (or "Region Zero") encoded. This is a change from the two earlier boxed sets of this series, which were only encoded for "Region 1" playback.

This third-season set gives us 32 top-notch episodes with Rob and Laura Petrie and associated friends and neighbors (even though the packaging says only 31), including the hysterical "That's My Boy??", in which Rob is convinced he's brought the wrong baby home from the hospital. Also in Season 3: "October Eve", "Laura's Little Lie", "Big Max Calvada", and another of my all-time faves, "I'd Rather Be Bald Than Have No Head At All".
All of these episodes are uncut and unedited. The FULL shows, as filmed in 1963-1964, are presented here.
Picture quality is excellent throughout this set. These black-and-white shows have never looked so good! Good resolution, detail, and contrast. The original Mono sound is used, and it suffices just fine. The audio comes to us via robust Dolby Digital 2.0 Mono soundtracks.

A "Play All Episodes" option is also available (from the Main Menu). This feature makes it nice for those non-stop DVD-on-DVD marathons that every self-respecting fan of "Great TV" everywhere should subject themselves to at least once every few weeks! :)
BONUS FEATURES ....... Like the first two boxed seasons, this 3rd Dick Van Dyke Show set is jammed-packed with bonus material. Here's a rundown:
>> There are 2 audio commentary tracks, featuring Dick Van Dyke and show creator Carl Reiner (for "That's My Boy??" and "October Eve").
>> Two clips from the 1964 Emmy Awards (length = 2:30).
>> Assorted Cast & Crew Interviews.
>> Photo Galleries for many episodes.
>> A complete episode of "The Danny Thomas Show" (originally aired on October 21, 1963), in which Morey Amsterdam appears as his Dick Van Dyke Show character, Buddy Sorrell! This Danny Thomas program bears a strong resemblance, story-wise, to the 2nd-season Van Dyke Show episode, "Ray Murdock's X-Ray". Run time of this bonus program is 25:20, and the picture quality is quite good.
>> "Rehearsal Footage" (2:28) --- This extra contains a clip from an Arthur Godfrey-hosted TV documentary from May of 1966, "A Day In The Life Of Sheldon Leonard". We see some behind-the-scenes rehearsal footage for the season-five Van Dyke episode, "Talk To The Snail". Interesting stuff.
>> An excerpt (3:14) from Mr. Van Dyke's 1975 variety program, "Van Dyke & Company", in which Dick's former co-star, Mary Tyler Moore, makes an appearance. It's not a song-and-dance clip; it's a scripted comedy spot featuring Dick and Mary chatting.� Not exactly side-splittingly funny; but it's still fun to watch these two performers get together again, nine years after the Van Dyke Show ended.
>> Easter Eggs --- There are 5 hidden "Eggs" (one on each of the five discs). Each is a TV ad (circa 1990s) for "Nick At Nite", featuring "Chairman" Dick Van Dyke.� Be sure not to miss the one on Disc #5, in which Carl Reiner pops up (alongside Dick). That one is very funny!
These "Easter Eggs" can be accessed by pressing your remote's "Left Arrow" key while the "Opening Titles" chapter is highlighted. In two instances, however, you can get to the same hidden "Egg" by "left arrowing" from any of the other chapter choices as well. If an "Egg" is present, a "glow" will surround the cranium of Mr. Dick Van Dyke's artist rendering in the corner. Press "Enter" or "Play" now, and you'll see the "Nick @ Nite" promo spot.
>> Plus: There's also a four-page mini-booklet, featuring some third-season facts and trivia, plus an informative bio on Rose Marie.
NOTE: The packaging indicates that some "Original Commercials" are contained in this set. This is an error. There are none here.
Anyone that currently owns the other sets of The Dick Van Dyke Show from Image will, without question, want to snap up this third installment of this timeless TV classic. Image Entertainment, once again, proves that when it comes to providing consumers with superlative TV product on Digital Disc, they are a class act. With great video transfers, plentiful bonus features, complete uncut episodes, and smart-and-classy packaging -- this boxed set is another no-brainer for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, May 26, 2004
By 
Glenn Miller (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The beauty of the age in which we live is that we're able to buy these classic old TV DVDs and simply have "Our Own Network." Shows such as the Dick Van Dyke Show, the Andy Griffith Show, the Mary Tyler Moore Show, etc. constitute our family's "primetime" viewing. When I watch these old Van Dyke shows and laugh, I can't help but wonder if they're still truly funny, or if I'm simply programmed through years of watching them to laugh at the right moments. But in watching with my sons, who are seeing them for the first time, and hearing them laugh and roll on the floor, I realize the humor within these shows is timeless. Van Dyke is, plain and simple, one of the best TV comedians we've ever had. His physical humor, as well as his timing, is sheer perfection.
Season Three of the Van Dyke show had some classics, including the season opener, That's My Boy?? That particular show has a punchline that still, to this day, cannot be seen coming by the first-time viewer. The interviews with cast members are fun to listen to, but especially enjoyable is watching certain episodes with a talk-over track supplied by show creator, Carl Reiner, and Dick Van Dyke. It actually feels like you're sitting with the two of them in your living room, chatting about the show itself. If you're a first-time viewer to these shows, you have hours of enjoyment ahead of you. If you're a repeat viewer to these shows, you have, well, hours of enjoyment ahead of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episodes List, July 25, 2005
1. That's my boy???

2. The Masterpiece

3. Laura's Little Lie

4. Very Old Shoes, Very Old Rice

5. All about eavedropping

6. Too Many Stars

7. Who and where was Antonio Stradivarious?

8. Uncle George

9. Big Max Calvada

10. The Ballad of Betty Lou

11. Turtles, Ties and Toreadors

12. The Sound of Trumpets of Conscience Falls on a brain that holds it's ears

13. The Alan Brady Show Presents

14. The Thihrd one from the left

15. My Husband is the best one

16. THe Lady and the tiger and the Lawyer

17. The Life and Love of Joe Coogan

18. A Nice, Friendly Game of Cards

19. Happy Birthday and Too Many More

20. The Brave and the Backache

21.The Pen is mightier than the mouth

22. My Part-Time Wife

23. Honeymoon's are for the Lucky

24. How to spank a star.

25. The Plots Thicken

26. Scratch my Car and DIe

27. The Return of Edwin Carp

28. October Eve

29. Dear Mrs. Petrie, Your Husbands in Jail

30. My Neighbor's Husband's Other Life

31. I'd Rather Be Bald than have no hair at all

32. Teacher's Petrie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new price, April 12, 2004
By 
algebra74 "algebra74" (Lincolnton, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
I just thought all of you would like to know that samsclub.com is selling seasons one through three for only $39.99 each!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for the Dick Van Dyke Show fan!!, February 28, 2004
By 
bonfamily "bonfamily2" (Parkesburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Uncut and fully restored episodes with lots of extras including the lead stars receiving their emmy awards. I own all 3 seasons released so far and they are so good that I have pre-ordered Season 4. This series includes so many classic episodes that convey intelligent comedy without the raunchiness of today's sitcoms, and many of them are in season 3: the episode where Rob thinks that he and Laura brought the wrong baby home from the hospital, the one where Laura's old beau is now a priest, the one where Laura and Rob have to remarry because she lied about her age on her marriage license, and many more...Classic TV at it's best. Seasons 4 and 5 are coming and I can't wait!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dick Van Dyke Show , Season 3, November 2, 2007
It is a very humorous show! I like the couple that still sees romance in one another's eyes everyday . There is modesty being displayed in the show as well. Buddy and Sally still know how to crack a person up with their ways of show business. It is a thumps up to me as far as clean entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great shows, July 24, 2013
Incredible performers, genius writing and guaranteed laughs from start to finish. Thankful that I grew up watching this classic show (and that Prime offers unlimited access).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dick Van Dyke show is the best, April 14, 2013
By 
Enough praise cannot be given to the writers, producers, creator, cast and crew of the Dick Van Dyke show. The highly disappointing part is that they didn't continue on for an additional three seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite, March 14, 2013
Great way to relax at the end of a crazy day. Quality entertainment in a family friendly sitcom. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Show ranks as one of the best series ever, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For a series that is 50 years old and in black and white, it holds up amazingly well. The situations and humor are timeless. My favorite episode from season 3 is That's My Boy where Rob is convinced the hospital gave them the wrong newborn. He conducts a series of tests to determine if that's really their son. Absolutely hirlarious with a great ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dick Van Dyke Show: Season 3 [Blu-ray]
The Dick Van Dyke Show: Season 3 [Blu-ray] by John Rich (Blu-ray - 2013)
$59.98 $45.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.