Customer Reviews


1,100 Reviews
5 star:
 (265)
4 star:
 (203)
3 star:
 (203)
2 star:
 (150)
1 star:
 (279)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL
First of all, I dont see why so many people have given this a bad review... You must know what you are getting into before you watch it. Obviously there will be racy situations, poor judgement, awkward moments, and be offensive. This movie is hilarious (to me) All you people who got offended watching to movie why didn't you just turn it off? Every time I go to the theater...
Published 21 months ago by Ryan G. Walters

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars uh
Ok, I don't mind crude comedy, but I think Sacha Baron Cohen lacks the cleverness needed to pull it off without grossing people out. He intends to be funny solely by offending people, and I think that is sad. This movie is well along the lines of Borat, so if you liked that movie enough to buy it, then buy this one. Otherwise, rent it and never watch again.
Published 10 months ago by JWolf


‹ Previous | 1 2110 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL, November 30, 2012
First of all, I dont see why so many people have given this a bad review... You must know what you are getting into before you watch it. Obviously there will be racy situations, poor judgement, awkward moments, and be offensive. This movie is hilarious (to me) All you people who got offended watching to movie why didn't you just turn it off? Every time I go to the theater to watch one of his movies people always are walking out... I ask myself, why the heck did you come in the first place? Seriously, this movie is not for the easily offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Are you having a boy or an abortion?", May 18, 2012
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dictator - BANNED & UNRATED Version (DVD)
Sacha Baron Cohen does a great acting job in his latest film, "The Dictator." The gags are mostly good and although some are tacky and racist (with a few being crude) it still held my attention on a very rough day for me because it works as a parody of dictatorships. There is little about the plot and the film that I can add to the reviews already posted here; but I can certainly vouch for other reviewers who write that the film is actually pretty good entertainment, a parody and nothing truly offensive even if Sacha Baron Cohen is very daring when it comes to topics for jokes and gags.

The plot is not terribly deep; but it moves along well and you shouldn't get bored. Sacha Baron Cohen (who plays the brutal dictator of the fictional, northern African country named Wadiya) surrounds himself with excellent actors all turning in convincing performances that make the film even funnier. Sir Ben Kingsley plays Tamir, the rightful heir to the dictatorship occupied by his apparently younger brother General Aladeen (Sacha Baron Cohen). Anna Faris is brilliant as Zoey, a Brooklyn, New York vegan small business food store owner who's liberal activism clashes sharply with Aladeen's "take no prisoners" and kill-`em-all policy whenever anyone disagrees with him. Nadal, a scientist ordered to create nuclear weapons for Wadiya, is well played by Jason Mantzoukas; his timing is just right and he supports Baron Cohen really well.

Soon after the film starts with some gags and basic introductions, General Aladeen is practically summoned to the United Nations. They want his assurance that he isn't developing nuclear weapons--otherwise they may use military force against Wadiya. Aladeen travels to New York with Tamir and an extensive entourage--but soon after that he is kidnapped and nearly killed in a very funny scene with one of my favorite actors, John C. Reilly, playing the would-be murderer. Tamir hopes that with the real Aladeen out of the way he can use a phony "double" for Aladeen and use the double to make Wadiya a democracy so Tamir can sell its oil to countries around the world, most notably America and China.

But what Tamir doesn't know is that Aladeen escaped being killed and wants nothing more than to gain back total control of Wadiya. Just how Aladeen and Zoey get to know each other and how Aladeen tries to win back control of his country is how the rest of the film plays out, complete with gags and jokes about anything Baron Cohen wants to tackle, including 9/11, blacks, Jews, Asians and just about anything else you can imagine.

All in all, if you liked Sacha Baron Cohen's other films, I think you will like this one. It is better than "Bruno" and while it isn't quite as good as "Borat" it's definitely funny. It managed to divert my attention on a rather stressful day and that's actually saying a lot. In addition, if you're new to Sacha Baron Cohen's sense of humor and you're not that easily offended, you should enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Politically-Driven Comedy Well-Worth The Watch, May 21, 2014
I'm going to start off this review by just being honest: I loved this movie. I laughed my entire way through it. It's offensive. It's absurd. It's hysterical. It's definitely not for everyone, but I appreciate all of Sacha Cohen's work. If you're not familiar with what he does, then perhaps this movie isn't for you. But if you can appreciate an off-beat, politically inspired, offensively hilarious film- then this is the right choice.

The Dictator takes you on the journey of a dictator of a northern African nation called Wadiya, who after years of surpressing his people and bragging of uranium rich weapons- is challenged by the United Nations to attend a sanction in New York City and announce his approval of democracy rather than dictatorship. Once in America his chief advisor, greedy for Wadiya's oil wealth, has the dictator "Aladeen" killed. Alas, Aladeen is not killed, but has had his beard shaved- which causes him to be unrecognizable. His chief advisor replaces him with a stunt double Aladeen, who is to make Wadiya a democracy and allow free oil trade in the country. But, the real dictator does not want his country to become a democracy and hitches a plan to show everyone his true identity, and prevent Wadiya from becoming anything but a dictatorship.

Along the way Aladeen meets Anna Ferris's character- a feminist, non-racist, non-prejudice, fem lit major who runs an organic, anti-sexist, anti-big business, fair trade grocery store. Did you get all that? Me neither. She's the epitome of the modern day 20-something democratic extremist. She's all about equality. And ya gotta love her for that. Of course, Aladeen cannot even begin to comprehend all of this equality nonsense. Which makes their relationship hilariously entertaining to watch develop.

The film is quite offensive at times. It openly discusses topics such as abortion, sexism, female oppression, oil wealth and the greed associated with it, and of course dictatorship- with a few references to Islamic politics. What I find really hysterical is the fact that although the dictator is an absolute terrible person, he is- in many ways, comparable to the horrible people all over the world. There's one scene I especially love that pokes fun at the racial stereotypes developed by 9/11. Aladeen and his assistant are in a helicopter tour, talking about a subject in their native tongue. But the only words the white tourists can understand are '9/11, 2012, Empire State Building, Boom boom boom, and 5, 4, 3, 2, 1." All of these words are skewed against an entirely innocent conversation- but of course, the white Americans are utterly paranoid of the non-English speaking northern African tourists that they absolutely freak out about this discussion. This, I thought was brilliant- as it so hysterically portrays the typical racist mindset of so many Americans after 9/11. It's sad, but true. And I found it hilarious. This is just one of the many examples of Sacha Cohen's brilliantly subtle ploys at picking fun at modern American faults.

All in all I thought the movie was ridiculously well done. It was hilarious, with just the most PERFECT ending. Spoiler Alert: In the end Aladeen very cleverly (and not purposely) describes Dictatorship in a way that so closely compares to our modern democracy. It truly leaves you thinking "How different are we from other suppressed nations (most commonly found in the middle east)?" Just ridiculously brilliant. Ah! I love Sacha Baron Cohen. Just another of his brilliant works. I'm such a fan! Definitely recommend for people interested in a politically-driven film that is played out in an absolutely gut-wrenchingly funny way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soo funny and satirical!, June 3, 2013
For what it was, it was hilarious! A complete satire on terrorism and dictatorships. I feel this is a very underated movie and Sacha Baron Cohen has once again proved his comedic genius. This is one for the ages and will go down in history, like Dr. Strangelove. As for all the bad ratings, what can you say, true greatness is often misunderstood by the masses. Artistic Genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aladeen, May 26, 2013
All I have to say about this movie is that it is an Aladeen film and it deserves a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilariously Funny, May 21, 2014
Sasha Baron Cohen at his best. An excellent satire of American post-9/11 political and international misadventure. Less offensive and more cerebral (yes, I said it) than much of Cohen's previous work, but still plenty of out-there offensiveness to satisfy Cohen's fans. Aasif Mandvi and Jason Mantzoukas are excellent in supporting roles, and of course Ben Kingsley is, as always, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!!, May 31, 2013
By 
Cari (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
I love movies that aren't afraid to touch taboo areas. Life is too serious, we all need to be able to make fun of ourselves. I laughed so hard at Borat, but it was a little hard to watch the unsuspecting people in the movie.

I loved that this was all actors, and a lot of great ones at that. Definitely one to watch after the kiddos go to bed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY, May 17, 2014
Of the Sasha Baron Cohen movies this was my favorite! So many laugh out loud moments. It's low brow humor and don't expect any more but this one fits the bill. I am hoping Arab people take the caricature in good humor as there are more than enough hit you between the eyes at he West to keep balance. Long Live Blazing Saddles ! and The Producers !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, May 17, 2014
Me and my girlfriend loved it!!!!! We love inappropriate and offensive movies, and this film did it! If you are looking for a laugh-filled night, then watch "The Dictator." It's not too long and just right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super LOL, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is the funniest movie Sacha Baron Cohen has ever done form the music to the raunchy jokes this movie will keep you more than happy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2110 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dictator - BANNED & UNRATED Version
The Dictator - BANNED & UNRATED Version by Larry Charles (DVD - 2012)
$19.99 $4.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.