Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's gonna feed the ducks, yo?
When Albert Camus wrote of the absurdity of man, he could never have fathomed the FP. This is the most wonderfully absurb movie I have ever seen. If you attempt to take it seriously, you will hate it. If you are capable of taking it seriously, seek professional help. The plot surrounds a young man, JTRO, who lives in a semi-post-apocolyptic (or merely post-recession?)...
Published on August 8, 2012 by R. Beach

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let me explain my rating
This movie is sooooo bad it's actually funny. It's a take off on 80s flicks with every cliche and plot line thrown in. The acting is terrible but Frazier Park gets some props. So, if you're a glutton for awful, check it out. You'll laugh for a few moments.
Published on October 3, 2012 by Giacomo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's gonna feed the ducks, yo?, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When Albert Camus wrote of the absurdity of man, he could never have fathomed the FP. This is the most wonderfully absurb movie I have ever seen. If you attempt to take it seriously, you will hate it. If you are capable of taking it seriously, seek professional help. The plot surrounds a young man, JTRO, who lives in a semi-post-apocolyptic (or merely post-recession?) northern California town, Frazier Park (aka "the FP"). There, rival gangs must compete in "Beat Beat Revelation" (aka "Dance-Dance-Revolution") for their street cred. After the death of his brother, JTRO leaves the FP and seeks employment in the logging industry, because "Logs is chill". When the heir to the only liquor store in town brokers alchohol to only those who will comply with his gang's demands, JTRO must return in the name of justice to set things right. So be Never Ignorant and Get Goals accomplished, settle in with a spaghetti-O and waffle sandwich, and watch "The FP". Turn on the subtitles - the spelling of the dialog is half the the fun. Dayum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I ever wished for., November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is awe inspiringly awful in the best possible way. I can't recommend it highly enough for anyone who sees the humor in a bad flick.

I am literally going to buy this for people and write a note: "You're welcome -M" on it.

There's heavy slang, DDR to the death, epic montages of unepic things, excessive swearing, random nudity. Oh god this is fantastically redic. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best near future post apocalyptic DDR inspired gang war movie ever made., June 21, 2012
This review is from: The FP (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
This is the most funnest movie ever. ^_^ It's an instant cult classic. Buy it, invite over everyone you know save for Grandma and the kids (this movie may have dropped more F bombs then every other movie ever combined) and laugh your butt off. My friend and I found out about this movie when it had its limited theatrical release, and we knew we had to go out and see it. The audience loved it so much, there was a standing ovation.

How to describe the FP, hmm. It's like... Take a cup of plot of The Warriors and Wizard, add some foul language and vaguely post apocalyptic scenery from Johnny Mnemonic, grab a few characters and more scenery from Escape from NY, Tank Girl, and the first Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie, spice to taste with a young Snake Pliskin going up against young Mr. T, add a random transgendered Steve Buscemi look-a-like, several illegal dance offs, and the largest pair of shoes ever made, and you just have the tinniest idea of what awaits in the FP. The dialog is straight out of the worst parts of the 90's when it comes to the slang that's used, and it makes for the most fantastic atmospheres for the movie. I just can't get over how awesome it is that the FP is going not only get a sequel, but BE A TRILOGY. I remember when we were in the theater lamenting at the end of the film that since this was a smaller production type of thing, it was doubtful they would put out more films in the same universe. So you can imagine how pleased we are to find out there's plenty more on the way!

Ducks man, ducks.

Also, be sure to watch till the end, as there's something after the credits!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The FP, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie. I laughed my butt off the entire time I watched it. I was lucky enough to see it in theaters and quickly purchased it when it became available. It is sort of like a The Warriors meets Rocky with moon boots! The acting is pretty good and they stay in character which I might find difficult to do in a movie such as this. I love how it looks on Blu Ray the colors are nice are sharp and did not see any issues w it. The soundtrack is also pretty good I believe the composer is George Holdcraft. The recently announced they are making it into a trilogy so there is that to be excited for.

In short this was a great movie and will long have an honored place in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars While it can't be anymore hilarious then the first time you see the trailer, surprisingly the full length feature film manages, July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The FP (Amazon Instant Video)
While it can't be anymore hilarious then the first time you see the trailer, surprisingly the full length feature film manages to stay consistently amusing for nearly the full duration. Don't get me wrong this is played straight hardcore B-rate cheese, of quite possibly the finest caliber I've seen in a long time. Highly recommended to people who like campy movies.

Contains adult language, drug usage, inappropriate sexual situations, and a random boob shot.

Note: Not recommended to get for your kids who like DDR. This is an adult film ages 14+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ARE YOU FOR REAL?, August 9, 2012
When I first saw the trailer for THE FP and learned what it was about I could only do one thing. I laughed. Hard and loud. Are you for real? A post apocalyptic film where gangs fought one another for possession of turf by...dance dance revolution?

Much of THE FP seems like something that would come out of a Troma film. That's a compliment, not an insult. The production values are low budget but you can't really tell because the film looks that good. There is little to no money coming along to rescue this film so it all depends on the effort made by those involved. That effort is tremendous.

As I said, the film takes place in what appears to be the near future, a world where everyone seems to do little more than get drunk and celebrate their heroes, those who face off in dance dance revolution. If you don't know what ddr is it's the game where to contestants stand on a platform made of squares and must imitate the patterns appearing on the screen making dance moves in the process.

The main hero is Btro, a player who has yet to be beaten. His brother Jtro (Jason Trost) is also a competitor but not near the player Btro is. On a fateful night, Btro is facing L Dubba E, the winner taking control of the FP (short for Frazier Park where the film takes place). During the competition Btro has a heart attack and Jtro swears to never ddr again.

A year later and we find Jtro working a road crew. His friend KCDC comes to him and tells him they need his help. L Dubba E has taken control of the liquor store and now the drunks are limited to meth instead of getting drunk. KCDC pleads his case to Jtro telling him the drunks no longer feed the ducks in the local lake. "Do you know what it's like to have a lake with no ducks?" he screams? Ok so that should tell you how funny this movie can get.

Jtro returns home and KCDC helps him by getting him to the toughest trainer ever, BLT. BLT doesn't pull punches and hold Jtro up to his own high standards. He knows Btro was the best there ever was but also knows that Jtro has the potential to replace him. In a series of Rocky inspired montages we witness Jtro in training. But can he beat L Dubba E?

Along the way we have a touch of romance tossed in as well. Jtro's long lost love Stacy is glad he has returned as well. A heavy drinker with a father she hates, Stacy has always hoped for a way to be noticed. Jtro gives her that chance. Don't misunderstand though. Stacy is as far from a fairy princess as you can get with a reputation for various sexual acts, one of which closes the film as it fades to black.

I know, you're probably scratching your head thinking I've gone insane to recommend a movie that sounds like this. Had I not watched it I would have thought the same thing. But with the low expectations I had as it began I was astounded by how much heart was put into this thing. It also provided me some great belly laughs that I hadn't had much chance to expel in some time.

This movie is definitely not for everyone. Those with a sense of adventure or looking for something different will love it. Those who admire Troma films will love it. Those who look for anything off the wall will love it. All others beware. You just might find yourself laughing at the most inappropriate things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously fantastic and hilarious, June 23, 2012
There are times when a movie is so absurd, so ridiculous, and so over the top that you can't help but enjoy it. The movies that never take themselves too seriously yet at the same time are the perfect mix of campy cheesiness and straight shooting acting; the ones that may have initially bombed at the box office, but have gained a cult following since its release on Blu-ray, DVD, or even VHS. Full length features that may be seen as a failure in the eyes of reception and criticism, but you are a huge fan of; no matter if that's a closet fan, a shy one, or one that screams their admiration of said feature from the heavens. "The FP" fully embraces all of that and never tries to be something it's not, which is perhaps one of the reasons it's as good as it is.

It takes a few minutes for this ludicrous concept to really sink in. A gang war centered on Dance Dance Revolution; that's basically what you're looking at here. Once you're able to accept that that is actually happening; the movie is a hell of a lot of fun. The movie is driven by its endless amount of references to 80s movies and its insane dialogue. Aside from Art Hsu, these are some of the whitest guys you've ever come across and yet they speak some of the most ghetto, street dialect you've ever heard.

Most of the stuff said in the film can't be repeated here. The F word is used over 250 times, but that only helps add to the humor of the movie. When KCDC first pulls JTRO back to The FP, he gives him the most ridiculous pep talk in the world: drunks have turned to meth in his absence because L Dubba E now controls all the alcohol in town. No drunks means no bums and no bums means that no one will feed the ducks down at the park. A town without ducks is nothing. The movie essentially revolves around restoring alcohol to the people, gaining enough street cred to be respected, and bringing ducks back to the town.

Everything is so outrageous that you can't help but laugh. At one point, KCDC says that gats are like toothpaste - just in case. Later, KCDC offers JTRO a Spaghetti-O waffle sandwich. Then there's the shoot out where BLT (Nick Principe) is taking cover behind a toilet and the two training montages that are a blatant homage to "Rocky." "The FP" is really, really funny. It's also incredible with how many movies it may remind you of. It's like "The Warriors" meets "The Road Warrior," "Rocky," and "The Karate Kid" with a score influenced by John Carpenter.

"The FP" obviously isn't going to be for everyone. It's very silly, but in the right light is pretty great. It's the type of movie that has to be seen to believed; one that you're endlessly showing to friends because they give you that stupid look when you tell them about its concept. Given its extremely low budget, it's amazing the movie looks as good as it does. The lighting is phenomenal, the sets highlight its post-apocalyptic type atmosphere, and the score is way better than it should be. It's as if "The FP" knew ahead of time that it would become a cult classic long before it was even released. "The FP" is so absurd that it's brilliant.

Special features on the Blu-ray release of the film include Never Ignorant Getting Goals Accomplished The Making of The FP (around 21.5 minutes in length), audio commentary by The Trost brothers, Costume Designing The FP (8 minutes), Scoring The FP (6 minutes), The FP in The FP (10.5 minutes), the green band trailer, the red band trailer, and a 16-page booklet featuring introductions by directors Rob Zombie, Mark Neveldine, and Brian Taylor.

The Making of feature is really cool. Brandon Trost reveals that they purposely made "The FP" reference familiar films from the 80s so you could still understand what was going on even if you couldn't understand the crazy dialogue. Influences for the film include "Rocky," "The Warriors," "The Karate Kid," John Carpenter, "8 Mile," Double Dragon, Street Fighter, "The Road Warrior," and "Waterworld." The Trost brothers shot the majority of the movie on their dad's property and would steal junk to make their sets and despite the tight budget were able to make the production value feel much bigger.

"The FP" is now available on single disc DVD and single disc Blu-ray from Drafthouse Films. The Blu-ray is presented in 1080p HD with a 2.35:1 aspect ratio and DTS-HD MA 5.1 or 5.1 Dolby Digital sound. It's rated R for pervasive language, sexual content, some nudity, and brief drug material and is around 83 minutes in length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is off the Frizz, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The FP (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
This is a fantastic movie. Represent the 248 with this masterpiece. I can watch this movie over and over. I'm so glad I found this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I got so much laughter from the trailer alone, I had to buy this., April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The FP (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
Haven't watched the movie yet, because I'm waiting for everyone to be in one place so we can have a viewing party. I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars B-Tro, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The FP (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
My boyfriend and I LOVE this movie. It's absolutely ridiculous, and so bad that it's good! Makes us laugh so hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The FP (+ Digital Copy)
The FP (+ Digital Copy) by Brandon Trost (DVD - 2012)
$18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.