Start reading The Discoveries of Delilah Dark: Delilah Dark Book 1 on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

The Discoveries of Delilah Dark: Delilah Dark Book 1 [Kindle Edition]

Evie Glass
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $0.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 600,000 titles. Learn More

Kindle Delivers
Kindle Delivers
Subscribe to the Kindle Delivers monthly e-mail to find out about each month's Kindle book deals, new releases, editors' picks and more. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

It’s easy to be cynical when you can see the future…

Introducing Delilah Dark, a sarcastic 12-year old psychic with a sharp black bob and crocodile-coloured eyes. Since the death of her sister, Bel, she’s not really been a people person, preferring the company of her pet snake Slinky and fighting off boredom with very black coffee.

But that’s before the rise of the shadowy business BigCorp, who seem to have a strange hold over consumers. There are riots in shopping malls and no one can stop guzzling food. Is it anything to do with those creepy Burgerlicious adverts? Or the new credit card, Faustcard, where you really should read the small print?

The world needs saving, and Delilah Dark is in deeper than she thinks…

This is the first part of the Delilah Dark trilogy, and should appeal to fans of Roald Dahl and JK Rowling.

About the author:

Evie Glass lives in London. She likes tarot-reading, taxidermy and writing gloomy poetry. The three parts of the Delilah Dark Trilogy are ‘The Discoveries of Delilah Dark’, ‘Delilah Dark and the Teacup of Doom’ and ‘Delilah Dark vs. Destiny.’


Product Details

  • File Size: 339 KB
  • Print Length: 186 pages
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0073H97CA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,310,596 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
(5)
4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delilah is Wonderful! June 21, 2014
By Melinda
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Every now and then, I like to read a children's book that sounds interesting, and so, Delilah fit the bill. Pre-teen, she is as smart as a whip, wears only black, has a big pet snake and a big pet tarantula. She sees dead people, talks to them and can see the future. That is one amazing little girl. In this book, with the help of friends and adults, she gets to help save the world.

She is a sarcastic, independent, loyal, loving kid who is a great character and there are more Delilah books already published. In fact, all the characters end up being pretty funny, even the butler Jekyll, the most boring man on Earth. The plot revolves around a Mega-Corporation versus humanity and the world ( all living things ). There are even hippies involved.

Bottom Line: Very creative story for middle graders that is new, exciting and teaches at the same time. Awesome job Evie Glass...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go DeliLah! January 29, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'm hooked! I was cheering for SKIVE through the whole book. And Botch sounds so funny looking. I loved DeliLah.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST book eva January 7, 2013
By Mindy
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book was awesome !! It has action comedy and love in sight but mostly about kids who are .......... you have to read to find out. OH I don't want to spoil anything there's an EVIL CLOWN !!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected treat December 26, 2012
By Becky
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I downloaded this on a whim, and didn't know what to expect. I found it to be remiscent of the mysterious benedict society, which I also enjoyed reading. It kept me turning the pages, and a little bit sad when I got to the end. I'm looking forward to her next book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique read March 13, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was not the kind of story I usually read, but that being said... it was well written, and I did enjoy it's quirky-ness. Delilah's character was well developed and I liked the way she had a relationship with her dead sister. I think kids would really enjoy the outrageous plot of Delilah Dark.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Evie Glass lives in London. She likes tarot-reading, taxidermy and writing really gloomy poetry.
She has recently completed the Delilah Dark trilogy, which includes: 'The Discoveries of Delilah Dark', 'Delilah Dark and the Teacup of Doom' and 'Delilah Dark vs. Destiny'. Find her on Twitter at @EvieGlass



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category