Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!
Kimball Fisher and Mareen Duncan Fisher document the special skills needed for the new but increasingly common task of managing far-flung work groups. The approaches that they examine are becoming increasingly essential for all managers. Although they explore relevant technologies carefully, their human relations advice is probably more important. The Fishers emphasize...
Published on September 17, 2001 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated
With recommendations to get your employees beepers and a computer, I find this book outdated and not very useful in today's world.
Published 18 months ago by Aaron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, September 17, 2001
This review is from: The Distance Manager: A Hands On Guide to Managing Off-Site Employees and Virtual Teams (Hardcover)
Kimball Fisher and Mareen Duncan Fisher document the special skills needed for the new but increasingly common task of managing far-flung work groups. The approaches that they examine are becoming increasingly essential for all managers. Although they explore relevant technologies carefully, their human relations advice is probably more important. The Fishers emphasize the interpersonal and leadership skills that a manager needs to head a virtual team. If you read this book cover to cover, it can seem repetitive, since many of the rules and tips offered in one area overlap with those in other areas. However, the book is designed to allow you to review specific management challenges and technologies, and to ignore areas that are irrelevant to your situation. We [...] recommend this clear, practical work to anyone who leads virtual teams and to the telecommuters and freelance workers who report to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Use Guidebook, December 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Distance Manager: A Hands On Guide to Managing Off-Site Employees and Virtual Teams (Hardcover)
I ordered several books on virtual teams to design a leadership course on the topic. Out of all of the resources, this book was the easiest to read and had the most valuable data. I will be using this book as the main source of data for the class I am designing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read Book, June 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Distance Manager: A Hands On Guide to Managing Off-Site Employees and Virtual Teams (Hardcover)
I recently became a Distant Manager so I needed a book that would help me through it. This is an excellent book that gives you ideas as to empowerment and how to lead a team. I would highly recommend this book to any new manager whether Distant or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, December 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With recommendations to get your employees beepers and a computer, I find this book outdated and not very useful in today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Common sense.., March 11, 2013
This review is from: The Distance Manager: A Hands On Guide to Managing Off-Site Employees and Virtual Teams (Hardcover)
I manage my entire team from a distance and have done so for a little over a year. 'The Distance Manager' is a decent tool if you are new to this type of management role, as it discusses the fundamentals to creating successful relationships with 'remote employees'. I will say that there are helpful pieces, small reminders, in this book for experienced distance managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideas on Distance Management, July 18, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Distance Manager: A Hands On Guide to Managing Off-Site Employees and Virtual Teams (Hardcover)
This book presents a new approach to managing people from distance. It also gives clear examples and cases. This book is a must for managers who control their team from distance, either nationwide or global-wide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guidance on being a distance manager, February 15, 2009
By 
Jose Solera (Durham, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Distance Manager: A Hands On Guide to Managing Off-Site Employees and Virtual Teams (Hardcover)
Well organized if not a page turner, this book provides good guidance on what to do as a distance manager, what to watch out for, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Distance Manager: A Hands On Guide to Managing Off-Site Employees and Virtual Teams
$36.00 $26.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.