Kindle Price: $2.99
Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Divided Child Kindle Edition

61 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 356 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Paris Time Capsule
Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey
Cat is left with burning questions: Who was Isabelle de Florian? And why did she leave the inheritance to Cat instead of her own family? Learn more

Editorial Reviews

Review

"... a gripping tale of murder and deceit, with exciting plot twists and turns . . . . A startling, satisfying ending!" -- Lynne Remick, Writers Moon reViews/eDreams Greece Guide

"...a superb debut novel complete with hidden secrets and surprise motivations that are guaranteed to keep readers guessing." -- Megan Kopp, Romance Reviews Today

"...marvelous book filled with all the right ingredients -- a suspenseful plot, a dashing, mysterious hero and a dazzling Greek setting. -- Christiane Heggan, author of ENEMY WITHIN and BLIND FAITH

"A haunting intrigue reminiscent of DuMaurier's "Rebecca," but set against the golden glow of the Greek isles." -- Jill Jones, author of BLOODLINE and REMEMBER YOUR LIES

"Excellent romantic mystery set totally in myth filled Greece." -- Detra Fitch, Huntress Book Reviews

"The Divided Child harkens back to the gothic thrillers of old, including the exotic and beautiful setting. Good reading fun." -- Jill M. Smith, Romantic Times

"With descriptions of Greece that instantly transport the reader to sun filled days...a rich and fascinating romantic mystery" -- Lizzie Hayes, Mystery Women

The Divided Child is Ekaterine Nikas's first book and it is Absolutely wonderful. -- Robyn Glazer, MyShelf.com

From the Author

I was inspired to write this book by a photograph and a news article. The photograph was one I took on the Greek island of Corfu. An oncoming storm had dimmed the usually brilliant Greek sky to a brooding and ominous grey, and untold stories seemed to hover in the air like incipient raindrops.

Then I read an article about a three-year-old heiress and the wrangling that surrounded the custody battle for her. All custody battles are hard, but I began to wonder what would happen to a child who was fought over not because he was wanted, but because he was worth a fortune, especially if the custody battle began to turn deadly.

Suddenly I imagined just such a child watching the storm approach, hoping for better times, but surrounded by danger. And I imagined another figure there as well, standing next to him. A woman who'd suffered her own battles, but couldn't turn away from a child who needed her protection.

That's how THE DIVIDED CHILD was born. I hope you enjoy the story.


Product Details

  • File Size: 939 KB
  • Print Length: 356 pages
  • Publisher: Little Fox (March 18, 2013)
  • Publication Date: March 18, 2013
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BWYP8BE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #388,713 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Siri Jeffrey on November 5, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
If you like romance, if you like mystery, if you like intrigue and fast-paced suspense -- you will LOVE this book. Set against the lush and beautiful backdrop of Greece, THE DIVIDED CHILD is a breathtaking novel that kept me turning pages far into the night. Full of twists and turns and startling revelations, I was torn between wanting to reach the end so that I could at last unravel all the secrets, and hating to reach the end because I wanted to keep reading. I'm amazed to learn that this is the author's debut novel -- she's a pro. Ms. Nikas, I'm waiting impatiently for your next book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful By D. Cusick on July 1, 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Miss Nikas's book is very much in the tradition of the incomparable Mary Stewart, and indeed she even uses the same setting, the Greek island of Corfu, that Stewart did in This Rough Magic. Her heroine is even surnamed Stewart which seems a sort of homage to her literary ancestress. However the books falls a bit short of Mary Stewart in her heyday. Corfu is a setting that came alive in This Rough Magic, but which falls flat here for for some reason. The setting never seems to come to life and Miss Nikas does not have Miss Stewart's gift for descriptive narrative.
And as others have said, much of the plot is far-fetched, especially for a 21st century setting. The heroine's meeting with the young boy at the center of the plot is forced and unlikely. Modern children should know full-well that they should not speak to strangers, rather than cozy up to them and become their tour guides.
Additionally, the boy's reason for being at the spot where the heroine meets him is far-fetched and unlikely when eventually revealed. It was a difficult feat for a 9-year-old to accomplish to be there, and the person who asked him to do it should have known such a thing would be very diffcult and have suggested a far easier and more convenient meeting place.
As others have said, no 21st century woman would be very likely to force herself into the home of a complete stranger who dislikes her and a playboy who lusts after her. A silly and odd thing for a young woman to do. And the way the heroine treats the purported hero of the book makes me crazy to the point of wanting to slap her upside the head.
But despite some serious flaws the books moves along excitingly if you are willing to suspend belief a little bit. The plot is complex and satisfying. I can't rate this book at highly as I would the books of Mary Stewart, but I enjoyed it quite well enough that if Miss Nikas produces another I would certainly give it a try.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Denise Lynn on June 6, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Newcomer Ekaterine Nikas arrives on the scene with a sure hit. I read this book in one sitting. If you like suspense, romance, action and tantalizing characters, then "The Divided Child" will fit your bill. The masters, Mary Stewart and Phyllis Whitney would be proud. I look forward to many more reads from this author. WTG, Ms. Nikas.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Colleen on April 4, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I could not put this book down!
If you like Barbara Michaels, you will love The Divided Child! It has the perfect blend of suspense and romance, and I couldn't figure out exactly who the villain was until the very end. To me, that makes a great story!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Claire on June 15, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
For fans of Phyllis Whitney, Mary Stewart, and Barbara Michaels, reading Ms. Nikas' debut novel will be like curling up with a familiar old friend...at first. The lush settings, gorgeous language and fully realized characters make this book an absolute joy to read, and soon the clever twists and turns of the labyrinthine plot have you too busy guessing what will happen next to think about comparisons. Ms. Nikas makes a stunning debut and I look forward to more murder, mystery and romance from this very talented author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Jane Myers Perrine on July 14, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Ekaterine Nikas is an extremely talented writer who weaves the many strands of this intriguing and suspenseful book together in a thoroughly satisfying story. Set in Greece, the whole story seems to shimmer with the beauty of this country which the author obviously loves and knows well. Ms. Nikas has a gift for drawing characters that are both interesting and real. Her dialog is crisp and believable, and the banter between the hero and heroine is entertaining.
What more can I say? I loved this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Shirley T. Register on October 26, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
A real page turner! The characters were so vivid. Easy to have a mental image of each and every person. I was in suspense from beginning to end, with lots of twists and turns. I am looking forward to the next book from this refreshing new author!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Sue Ann Jaffarian on December 20, 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Although I'm not much of a "romance" reader, I thoroughly enjoyed The Divided Child from cover to cover and found it difficult to put down. The setting is gorgeous and inviting, the chacters well drawn, the "who done it" portion intriguing; but the real treat is the beautiful writing of Ms. Nikas. Her words flow effortlessly and warm the reader like the sunny beaches of Greece itself. I highly recommend this book to all who enjoy romantic suspense, and look forward to more from this talented author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in