Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 30, 2009
The Kindle volume suffers from a lack of internal linkages. The only way to to use it as a breviary is to set extensive bookmarks -- a tedious, at best, method which does not facilitate ease of use.
11 comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2013
I thought it was the actual entire divine office. I did not realize that it was a short explanation. Thanks anyway.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2011
This book is excellent but it should be noted that it refers to the preconciliar breviary, not the current much-revised LOTH. Hence the references to "semi-doubles," etc. For the modern Catholic this book is mainly of historical interest for getting into the preconciliar mindset when the breviary was for priests and religious only and the common folk prayed the Angelus and Regina coeli instead.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 23, 2010
No navigation? No TOC? No way to easily get from place to place?

Totally and completely worthless for its purpose, worth every penny of the $0.00 I paid.
22 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2012
I'm just starting to read the book. So far, I like what I'm reading.

For example, the author explains the meaning of the word: Breviary. He then goes on and offers various meanings of the "Times of Prayer". For example, the first hour or "Time of Prayer" in times past was "Matins" (now known as the Office of Readings). It was traditionally prayed at midnight and brought to mind that at about this time Jesus was bound.

The other Times of Prayer (TOP) some considered as follows:

2nd TOP: Jesus is reviled.
3rd TOP: He is condemned to death.
4th TOP: He is nailed to a Cross.
5th TOP: He is pierced.
6th TOP: He is taken down.
7th TOP: Buired.

Hope to write more later as I progress through this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
An excellent explanation of the Liturgy of the Hours and how to read it. The author does not talk down to the reader; there is an expectation of having read the breviary for some time, a basic knowledge of Latin ...high school Latin is sufficient, and an understanding of the place of prayer in the life of a priest or religious. This is a thorough exploration. If it seems dated in phrasing and vocabulary, it is more the fault of the times and not of the book.
With some effort, the rewards from reading this book by a reader sincere in his desire to understand all that there is in praying the Hours are great. The Divine Office is not for the dilitant, it is for one mature in faith and prayer looking for a deeper understanding of the Office.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
It is only fair to say that this booklet was written by a knowledgeable Irish priest in 1920, a generation before the Second Vatican Council. The basic history is fine, but it does not anticipate any of the reforms of the Council. Moreover, its tone is highly legalistic and moralistic with emphasis on obligation instead of the sense of ECCLESIA ORANS: Jesus Christ the High Priest praying through His Mystical Body, praising the Father always and everywhere through space and time until the Lord returns in glory. There is little "spirit" in the ponderous book, but it is worth a look by seminary students or others interested liturgical history.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
Again this volume is not well organized and the correct time of day could not be easily located in this volume. The explanations were often very verbose and would lose my attention. Too wordy. I would not recommend. There are better sources on line which are free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
For those who are interested in religious life, this is a good book that explains a lot of the behind the scene day to day requirements--and the semi-historical reasons of them--of those who are priests and to a lesser extent, nuns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2012
When I bought the book I thought I was getting the prayers of the Divine Office itself. Instead this is a book on its importance. An interesting read but not what I thought I was getting. But hey, it was free so who can complain?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.