Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ;0)
BRIEF SUMMARY
Rukh is a half djinn half human assassin for hire. His current client requested that Sarah, a journalist in Texas, be assassinated. After tracking his assignment in the shadows, Rukh has come to realized that he is strongly attracted to Sarah, and he senses no evil within her. Now that the rules have changed, Rukh sets out to protect Sarah...
Published on November 25, 2011 by Lady Raven RAVE!

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy isn't usually my thing...
But this was a fun read. I had never heard of Djins so learning the mythology is exciting. Ms. Kahn presents a well detailed story and you will definitely feel the heat in the love scenes. ;-).
Published on June 29, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ;0), November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
BRIEF SUMMARY
Rukh is a half djinn half human assassin for hire. His current client requested that Sarah, a journalist in Texas, be assassinated. After tracking his assignment in the shadows, Rukh has come to realized that he is strongly attracted to Sarah, and he senses no evil within her. Now that the rules have changed, Rukh sets out to protect Sarah.

THOUGHTS

The Djinn's Dilemma took me by surprise. I think the glowing reviews that are posted so far should not be ignored for this book. It's an entertaining read from Harlequin Nocturne Cravings. The books I have read so far from the Harlequin Nocturne Cravings are spicy and good.

Right away, Sarah and Rukh has this intense chemistry and attraction that I find appealing and good. Their first encounter was interesting, awkward, and entertaining. Rukh was extremely sexy and Sarah was very likable. We did get to find out a bit about each character's background, which was helpful to the story. I loved their car moment scene; to be driving a car and accomplish what Rukh did to Sarah, was very impressive *wink*. Their intense motel scene was also not lacking. Between their sexual chemistry and the plot, the reader will not be disappointed. The plot that unfolds was engaging, with a villain that did not disappoint either.

Storyline: GOOD
Intimacy: VERY GOOD & a bit of (D.R.I.P) Don't Read In Public
Enjoyment: GOOD

Romance Novel Junkies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy hero, smart heroine, hot couple., January 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
(first posted at Book Lovers Inc)

What do you do when the one person who steals your heart is the person you're meant to kill? That very intriguing premise sets up Mina Khan's equally intriguing (and djinn-filled) paranormal romance novella.

The book gets right down to it, establishing a chemistry between the main characters immediately. It's a pretty convincing chemistry, too, mostly of the "inexplicable attraction" sort but accessible and sweet. And yet, "sweet" is not all there is to it. The treatment of Sarah and Rukh's attraction is rife with delicious sensuality. The sizzling connection between the two leads is clear, visceral, ever-present. It was perhaps the deeper emotion that felt somewhat abbreviated, though I imagine such would logically be the case in a shorter story.

I'll take one Rukh, please! The male lead in this book was perhaps the biggest draw for me, with his intensity and yummy hotness. ^_^ There were the beginnings of some very intriguing elements to his personality and past. And the balance of his being ruthless and principled yet emotional and passionate...it was intriguing and kept me wanting to discover more about Rukh.

Sarah's pretty cool, herself. I must admit, I had to give props for her being half-Jamaican, because it's not terribly often that one would find such a heroine-especially one that embraces her ethnicity and culture. Furthermore, Sarah proves to be reasonable and logical, which is a breath of fresh air from borderline-TSTL characters occasionally found in the romance genre. When a woman wants to be sure that the hot but intimidating and random guy she just met is legit and not a creepazoid? I'm all for it!

There were quite a few single-line bits of exposition that had me thinking, man, this tidbit could totally be developed into something that supports such-and-such later development. In fact, I somewhat wish a few of the passing references were developed into full-on plot- or expository points (Sarah's past preternatural exposure, Rukh's hard childhood and djinn background, his profession). But ultimately, this novella is still a solid, sexy, fun story.

It would be so very cool to explore some more tales from this world. The djinn aspect was very engaging (and different, thank goodness), and it looks like there is much more beneath the surface of what was introduced here in this story. From the ethereal plane to the djinn laws and societal structure...I'm thirsting for more of Khan's djinn. ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars B rating...., November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
My Review:
This is one hot little book. Rukh is a djinn assassin who's been hired to kill Sarah. There's a couple of problems with that. The first is that he can see auras and is used to his hits having pretty dark auras. They aren't nice guys which is why someone wants them dead. That's not the case with Sarah. Her aura is light and sparkly and definitely not the sign of someone that needs to die. The second problem is, Rukh feels incredible chemistry towards Sarah. He's attracted to her...really attracted to her.

Sarah is a reporter in Austin, TX and has no idea that she's attracted someone's attention who now wants her dead. She also has no idea that she should be wary of Rukh especially after he saves her from some muggers. She just thinks he's an incredibly hot, nice guy.

I'll admit, this is a new world for me. I've never explored djinn's before, but they have some pretty cool abilities. Rukh is a half-djinn and can mist in and out of the dimensions. That ability allows him to watch over Sarah without her knowledge. There are a couple of scenes in the book where he uses that ability to help comfort her and I just loved that.

This is a short book, but there's a lot packed into it. Sarah's life is in danger, but you, as the reader, have no idea why. That adds to the danger and suspense of the story. There is also a mystery about Sarah herself. Normally Rukh can access human thoughts, but she is completely closed off to him and he doesn't understand that. Then there is the sizzling romance between Sarah and Rukh...and it is sizzling. This book packs a really powerful sexual punch!

It was definitely an interesting read. I enjoyed it and loved that it takes place in a corner of the paranormal world that is new to me. I love that Mina has introduced me to another hot paranormal being to fall in love with! I look forward to exploring more djinn books!

I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Read, November 4, 2011
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
If you're looking for a fast-paced escapist read that holds your attention and keeps you wanting to turn the page, this novella is the one. Has all the elements--suspense, mystery, likeable romantic hero and heroine. Hope this is not the last we hear from Ms. Khan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Dilemma, July 29, 2013
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
What's a djinn to do when he has a contract to fulfill and the contract happens to be on an innocent. He shouldn't care, just do his job, but there is more than meets the eye with this innocent.

Mina Khan draws the reader into the fantasy world of djinn's, twists it up with a political machine that makes Watergate look like a Sunday afternoon tea party, and a sizzling love story that would make an iceberg melt.

A delightful read, and I can't wait to see what's next in Ms. Khan's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Refreshing Unique Tale, November 6, 2012
By 
Jen Berg "book lover" (Prince George, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
This short story was a refreshing change to a lot of the paranormal books out there. It was the first time that I have read a book about Djinn.
In this story the Djinn named Rukh, is a hired assasin and has been hired to target a reporter named Sarah. Unfortunatley for Rukh, he is immediately attracted to Sarah and the idea of killing her is not something that he is looking forward to.
The attraction between these two is explosive and once they meet the sparks fly.
I loved the relationship between Sarah and Rukh and the scenes in this book when they are intimate are beyond hot. The shower scene was one of my faves and Mina Kahn knows how to write passion in my opinion! I loved this book and it had a great story to it as well. It will be on my keeper shelf for sure and I look forward to reading more by this author. I highly recommend this story to paranormal lovers, especially if you are looking for something a little different from the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rukh Rocks The Book!, August 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
This is the first paranormal / djinn book I've ever read... so it was interesting to see how the character(s) change their shape and form as the story flows. An interesting story with a fast-paced plot that makes you want to know how the story will finally end. Will Rukh O'Shay and his love find peace with each other or will revelation of the truth tear them apart.

Great writing, sizzling scenes and lots of chocolate in this read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy isn't usually my thing..., June 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
But this was a fun read. I had never heard of Djins so learning the mythology is exciting. Ms. Kahn presents a well detailed story and you will definitely feel the heat in the love scenes. ;-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hot, intriguing and irresistible, May 1, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
USA Today interviewee Mina Khan is a wonderful writer, and her djinns are masculine, compelling and irresistibly sexy. Her book is unabashedly erotic, and steamy hot, but it's not the thin-to-nonexistent-plot-linking-tiresomely-detailed-sex-scenes that you so often find in erotic fiction. I enjoyed the characters, the story and ... well ... ALL the different kinds of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GraveTells Review: A Fun, Sexy Novella!, April 18, 2012
This review is from: The Djinn's Dilemma (Kindle Edition)
The description of this book is what made me want to read The Djinn's Dilemma in the first place. A guy who falls for the woman he's supposed to kill? Um, yes please! It totally sounded like the kind of book I'd love, and I'm happy to say I really enjoyed it.

Rukh O'Shay, the half-djinn assassin, is... hot. Really hot. He's intense and passionate, yet vulnerable. His family viewed him as impure, a "mutt", since he's only a half-breed. Rukh's powers didn't develop until puberty, long after his family had abandoned him. He's had to live on his own, not quite fitting in in the djinn universe or in the human world. He focuses his attention on his targets, and his most recent one is hardly what he expected.

Sarah White is a journalist, and when Rukh comes into her life, she can't believe her luck. She has an immediate connection with him, but little does she know that the guy she's falling for is a mythical creature who has been sent to kill her. The chemistry between Rukh and Sarah is sizzling, and I liked that even though there was an instant attraction, there wasn't any instant love. Their feelings developed as they spent time together. And the sex scenes were VERY steamy (two words: shower scene.)

It's not long before Rukh realizes he won't be able to kill Sarah, and instead decides to protect her. In order to do that, though, he must find out who wants Sarah dead and why someone would want to kill this compassionate, bright woman. The plot is pretty fast-paced, and there aren't any dull moments in the story. I thought it was interesting that Mina chose to write about the djinn, as there aren't that many books out there that feature them. It was refreshing and different.

The Djinn's Dilemma was a short but sexy novella with likeable characters and a good plot. I'm glad I got the chance to discover a great new author, and I look forward to Mina's future work.

Favorite Quote:

"Am I hallucinating?" Her question came out as a croak.
"Yes, yes you are." That seemed a much better answer than the truth.
She pinned him with her dark, direct gaze. "You're just a figment of my imagination. A fantasy?"
"Yes." He didn't dare move.
"Then why are you still wearing clothes?"

The Djinn's Dilemma is a romantic story about being accepted for who you are. It's a unique novella that paranormal romance readers will want to check out!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Original Review by Rachel Elizabeth of GraveTells Paranormal News and Reviews
***All reviews posted by GraveTells.com are our honest opinions. We do not receive payment or compensation for these reviews.***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Djinn's Dilemma
The Djinn's Dilemma by Mina Khan
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.