Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 4, 2011
....because this DVD is totally restored in 2011. Excellent video and sound. I listened to the show in stereo, DTS 5.1 and Dolby 5.1 tracks, and found Dolby 5.1 in the standard sound-field was the best.

The concert is 74 minutes + (16 songs - Listen to the music starts and ends the show), plus there are 5 more concert songs from the same show (22 minutes) as a bonus. Also, there are some bonus musician interviews (Not during the concert, but as a bonus).

All the songs are great and very well done. There are a few surprise guests form the Doobies past on stage for the last few songs too.

This concert video will remain close to the DVD player and not end up at the bottom of the pile as a memory. NOTE: Check out the CD version for the track listing and sound samples - The CD sound samples do not do the concert justice - The concert sound is sensational.

The 2 extra songs on the DVD are I keep forgettin' and No stoppin' us now.

Hope this helps, j.
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2011
Judge Victor Valdivia, DVD Verdict-- There's probably no more terminally unhip classic rock band than The Doobie Brothers. Lacking the bad-boy glamour of the Rolling Stones, the mystique of Led Zeppelin, the devoted following of the Grateful Dead, or the sheer popularity of the Eagles, the Doobie Brothers have always been dismissed as musical lightweights despite their undeniable popularity. In some ways, however, that very lack of pretense is what makes the band's best songs still enjoyable even decades later. The Doobie Brothers: Live at the Greek Theatre is a TV special filmed at the last performance of the band's 1982 "farewell" tour (though they would reform some years later) and it demonstrates that the Doobies' most enduring music, especially the songs recorded later in the band's career, remains worthy of respect. The concert was filmed at the Greek Theatre in Berkeley, California, on September 11, 1982.

What the concert makes clear is just how much the band changed when singer Michael McDonald joined. When the Doobie Brothers began recording in the early '70s under the direction of original singer/songwriter Tom Johnston, they were a pleasant guitar-boogie band, as heard in hits like "Listen to the Music" and "Black Water." Johnston left in 1976, however, and was replaced by McDonald, who changed the band's sound to reflect his affection for jazz and R&B. McDonald expanded the Doobies' audience substantially with hits like "Minute By Minute," "Takin' It to the Streets," and "What a Fool Believes," the latter of which scored the band a Grammy Award and was a multiplatinum smash. The band plays both sides of their music with equal skill but the difference is clearly evident in the audience's response. When the Doobies play their earlier songs and even when Johnston returns to join for a closing jam on "Listen to the Music," the audience is pleased. When the band launches into their McDonald-era material, however, the audience erupts into cheers and applause. The early songs are agreeable but it's really the McDonald material that defines what most people think of when they think of the Doobie Brothers. They may not be as groundbreaking or influential as those of their peers, but McDonald's songs remain infectious, well-crafted slices of pop craft that are undeniable. The band's performance is solid (the Doobies were always a consistent, if hardly overwhelming, live act) so the concert delivers the band's most notable songs in entertaining versions that do them justice. It makes for a fine way to enjoy the Doobie Brothers' music.

Technically, the disc is typically first-rate, as is the case with most Eagle Rock releases. The full-screen transfer looks surprisingly sharp and crisp, especially for a concert shot on video in the early '80s. It doesn't suffer from the fading and softness that plagues most videos from the era. The surround mixes are also superb, crisp and clear with good separation of each instrument. There are a couple of spots where they sound a bit tinny, but for the most part these are good mixes. The extras consist of five songs left off the original TV broadcast of the concert.
-Full review at dvdverdict.com
66 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2011
This concert first aired on Showtime in the Fall of 1982 and this dvd is the complete concert as shown on that program (except for the additional songs added as bonuses).
The only reason I was interested in this show was the return of Tom Johnston to the Doobie lineup, and he doesn't disappoint - although he sings only one of his signature songs with the band.
I can only add, here, that his permanent return to the band (in 1987) marked one of the happiest days of my life.
This DVD will really please Michael McDonald fans. It marks the end of his "top dog" status with the band. He plays once in awhile with the band these days, but the original incarnation of the band can't be beat in my opinin.
22 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2011
By Jim Clark, publisher, Lee County Courier, Tupelo, MS

I was fortunate to catch the Doobie Brothers live in 1975 or 1976. I'm not really sure. I caught them with a friend of mine, Daniel Timothy Moore, who passed away a few years back.
The Doobies had just added Michael McDonald to the mix and released one of their best albums Takin' It to the Streets, which launched two singles "Wheels of Fortune"'and the title cut.
I was especially impressed with the stage presence of Tom Johnston, who sang lead on "Wheels" and Jeff "Skunk" Baxter who was ablaze with energy.
The Doobie Brothers got their name from, not a band member, but a housemate Keith "Dyno" Rosen. The guys originally called the band Pud. Johnson would say later they got the name "because Dyno had a fondness for `doobies' (slang for marijuana cigarettes)."
My friends at Eagle Rock recently released Doobie Brothers: "Live at the Greek Theatre 1982" on DVD and on a two-CD set.
The two hour DVD'has all their greatest hits including "Rokin' Down the Highway,"'"Long Train Runnin,'" "Black Water,"'"Minute by Minute," "China Gove" and many more. Even my personal favorites turn up -- "Jesus Is Just Alright," "Out On the Streets" and "Listen To the Music."
This would not be just the final tour, but final show of the tour so you can feel the hometown heroes feed off the audience and visa versa.
Of course, if you're a true fan you know the Doobies are still rockin' with two of the original members, Tom Johnston and Pat Simmons and have a new CD out, World Gone Crazy.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2011
I can review this DVD with three words. Wow! Wow!! and WOW!!! I am 63 yrs. old and Doobie Brothers: Live at the Greek Theatre is pure excellence.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2014
Pretty ok, worth the money, not their best. This is the Doobie Brothers as far as I can tell just before Michael McDonald leaves the group. The players are good but they seem to be individual wannabe rockstars trying to establish an identity for when he leaves. His keys are well down in the mix. Apparently half of these guys were new to the group and trying to fill big shoes. They sound like good musicians playing together on the songs Michael McDonald leads and when the old lead singer comes back as a special guest with some of the older members at the end. I'm guessing or rather whoever had his guitar turned up too loud on Michael Mconald's songs is ashamed now. It was amazing to see how the same band sounded like completely different groups depending on who was leading the song. At one point the rest of the band is hyping the crowd and its just MM and the organ/sax player. That interlude is glorius and glaring. If you are a Doobie Brother's fan, buy this its still pretty good. Or you can call me and I'll lend it to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
Great concert.....I have one by them when they are much older...it was great to see them young and perfectly on key...these guys play awesome together...and the play list is pretty much what any fan would want it to be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
I'm not a music-reviewer, of course,...just a fan of the 'DB's' for decades. The audio/video on this performance isn't quite as good as the one done at Wolf Trap,.... but let's put things into perspective. If you're a fan, marginal or full, you'll enjoy this performance and the quality of the presentation. I remember paying almost 10 times the price of this video to see a live concert,....with a bunch of stupid-acting jerks around me. The price of this performance on DVD is WAAYYYYY worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
I first saw the Doobie Brothers in concert in 1975 at the H.I.C. In Honolulu.. My then girlfriend " Barb " gave me my first album by this group and I was hooked.. Great music.. And you can understand all the lyrics also.. They sing , not scream.. All my friends at Maryknoll H.S. and my friends in Kailua loved these guys.. So, Thanks " Barb " from Aikahi Park.. You,our friends and music like the Doobies played made High School a perfect time in my life.. Check this and their other CDs and DVDs and get hooked also..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
Mainly I wanted to see and hear the younger Mike McDonald who is in great form. The Doobies are a complicated band with different lead vocalists and music styles. The overall effect is quite fun. The late Cornelius Bumpers is on tenor sax and organ and sadly passed away a few years ago. I met him once and liked him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.