Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Doors - Live in Europe 1968
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 19, 2009
This DVD covers The Doors' European tour in late 1968. They were accompanied by The Jefferson Airplane on the tour, and The Airplane's Grace Slick and Paul Kantner are the commentators. We see Jim Morrison get off the airplane (an actual one) and flash a great eye-contact smile at the camera after saying he is "Jim." It is cool how, before the same camera, Ray Manzarek, in dark glasses, looks just like Chuck Norris did in "The Way of The Dragon" (in which Chuck faced off against Bruce Lee).

Most of Slick's and Kantner's comments are delivered early on. Grace pays tribute to Jim as a singer and performer, citing his natural manner vs. the posturing of other performers. However, she points out that while they were in Amsterdam, Jim accepted any drug offered to him by fans on the street and got so stoned that he could not perform that night except to interrupt The Airplane's performance of "Plastic Fantastic Lover." Some footage of Jim dancing around is cool to see.

Setting aside that lapse, Jim is shown performing with skill in various locales, intensely posing and gripping the mike, and using his whole face and head to bellow the words out. His eyes may be closed or open, he may be still or moving, but he is always interesting to watch. He does some pretty wild roaming around the stage performing "Light My Fire" at London's Roundhouse Theatre. By contrast, the Denmark TV performance of "The Wasp (intro)/Love Me Two Times" shows Jim at his professional best.

The last sentence of the Amazon.com Editorial Review above states The Doors performed a "silly version" of "Hello I Love You" before "a baffled crowd on a London street." How does the reviewer account for the West German flag in the background? Jim is lip synching the song for the "4-3-2-1 Hot & Sweet" West German TV Show on September 13, 1968, and the crowd is certainly not baffled. Do an Internet search for "Frankfurt Romer Square" and see for yourself.

All the Roundhouse clips that dominate this DVD (along with the de-planing scenes I referenced above) are in "The Doors Are Open." Also, "The Wasp/Love Me Two Times" and the Romer Square performance are on "The Doors Collection." If you already have those, you would essentially be purchasing this DVD for the non-Roundhouse parts of "When the Music's Over" and the mixed clips of "The Unknown Soldier"; there are no rare performances of songs. The passage of time and aggregation of Doors material have eroded my rating for this DVD from four stars to three.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 10, 2005
The Doors. Rock revolutionists. This is The Doors in a 1968 live performance; Everyone is here; Ray Manzarek, Robbie Krieger, John Densmore, and of course Jim Morrison. The songs featured are two Light My Fires, Love Me Two Times, Back Door Man, Spanish Caravan, Hello I Love You, When the Music's Over, The Unknown Soldier, Five to One, and

Alabama Song; the latter which is played while we see Manzarek, Krieger, and Densmore visiting Morrison's grave while everyone follows. The performances are great; everyone is at the top of their form; Morrison has a great stage prescense and seeing Paul Kanter and Grace Slick of Jefferson Airplane recount their time touring with The Doors is also very interesting. Morrison sounds great live; their performance of "When the Music's Over" was my favorite. It's also interesting to see the band introducing themselves.

Krieger & Densmore come out and just say their names, birthdates, and what instrument they play; then you have Manzarek come out and say in this deep voice "Raymond Daniel Manzarek. 2-12-39. Musician/ Organist." Then there's Morrison who simply says "Jim." Overall it's great; there are a couple of songs that I wish they would have done (Break on Through, People Are Strange, The Crystal Ship etc.) but looking past that, it's good. A-/
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2004
This is The Doors, i was to young to see them on stage but this dvd is just like being there and captures all of the bands mystique and essence. a must see for any Doors fan!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 14, 2006
Had this documentary been in color, I'd have given it a five-star rating. I've heard other fan's comments on this DVD and personally I didn't really think the camera work / angling was ALL that bad. Not for a 1968 production, anyway. Paul and Grace of Jefferson Airplane pops in several times to narrate the concert film. Enjoyed seeing Jim Morrison's onstage antics, energy and the way he interacts with the crowd. Best songs performed were "Light My Fire", the boot-stomper "Back Door Man", "Spanish Caravan", "Unknown Soldier" and "Five To One". A should-have for most Doors fans.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2006
Firts off I would like to say that I'm a HUGE Doors fan, and when I watched this, it just simply blew me away! ENOURMOUSLY ENTERTAINING! It also has two members from the band Jefferson Airplane come on and talk about the tour that they did with The Doors, very intersting. I loved it and you will too!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
the best footage of the set comes from the copenhagen gig...that one looks the best almost like they are recording in a private studio. its the footage where there is an american flag as the rug.

i don't like how they cut in between this gig and a couple others and the others look horrible...
they should of just shown 1 gig at a time....all this inter-cutting in between gigs ruins the immersiveness imo.

if you want the complete copenhagen show. get the soundstage dvd.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
This DVD is relatively short, about 1 hour. It is, briefly, narrated by GRACE SLICK and PAUL KANTNER (Jefferson Airplane). Some of the film is kinda' grainy, but for the most part, it looks good and the sound is good. It is an excellent SNAPSHOT IN TIME. The Star of the show is JIM MORRISON with his STRONG VOICE, THEATRICS, and, of course, his GORGEOUS looks. BUT of EQUAL POWER is the MUSIC, the BAND. RAY MANZAREK on KEYBOARDS is EXCEPTIONAL. JOHN DENSMORE on drums and ROBBY KREIGER on guitar compose the rest of the band. The band's EXCELLENCE is showcased in this dvd, UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL, ESPECIALLY in an improvised LIGHT MT FIRE. They were/are INCREDIBLE MUSICIANS.
THE DOORS, truly, were a PHENOM. Their IMAGE and MUSIC remains as strong now as it was 45 years ago. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this dvd for Doors fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2010
I had the opportunity to see The Doors Live in Europe 1968 again recently and I was struck at the raw power The Doors were able to deliver to a live audience at the height of their career.

In a change of pace from having the surviving members of The Doors tell their story, which after 40 years can at times sound rote, the DVD is narrated by Grace Slick and Paul Kantner of the Jefferson Airplane. Slick and Kantner are able to tell the story of The Doors European tour from the unique position of being there. They're able not only to understand what Morrison was going through and experiencing as rock stars in the 60's, they're able to relate that experience to the viewer.

Most of the DVD is of The Doors in concert in England at The Roundhouse. You can't deny the power of The Doors performance. Morrison's lyrics and poems meld with The Doors music to create a theatrical experience that still has the power to draw you in.
77 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2011
This man, adored by women and men, deserves all the attention he received then, and still does, now!

A brilliant performer (it does not truly matter who controlled whom - whether the band controlled him or vice versa).

Jimmy was one-of-a-kind - never to be properly duplicated in any way, shape or form - though a "lotta-wanna-bes" still try!

I applaud the remaining members of "The Doors" to have never wanted to try and replace Jimmy!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2006
Though I have enjoyed the Doors music over the last 40 years, this is the first glimpse I have had into what this group was really like. It seems odd that some of the best music comes from those whose lives are in the worst of turmoil. It appears that Morrison was a very talented addict who was lucky enough to be surrounded by an extremely talented band. Considering the subject matter, the disc was well done and the sound was much better than I would have thought possible from old recordings. My high rating is for the quality of the disc and the accurate presentation of the material.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.