Customer Reviews


983 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (403)
3 star:
 (169)
2 star:
 (73)
1 star:
 (56)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 146 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THEN THAT'S ALL YOU'LL EVER BE...
Richard Gere, a retired CIA agent is called back from retirement to find a Soviet assassin believed to have been dead. A senator was murdered with the killer using the same MO as code name "Cassius" a former Russian agent assassin who was never caught. Gere is paired with Topher Grace, a young desk jockey from the FBI. Topher studied Cassius and wrote his thesis on him...
Published on January 14, 2012 by The Movie Guy

versus
24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not even a bad tv show, never mind movie
Richard Gere is sometimes tolerable, but not here. And this stinker only gets worse from there. Gere's acting range is limited to the number of times he can blink his eyes and squint, but this script doesn't call for much command of an emotional vocabulary. I found myself laughing out loud at the pathetic weakness of this plot. The reliance upon stale devices wouldn 't...
Published on March 18, 2012 by kennymo


‹ Previous | 15 6 799 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Double, September 7, 2013
Richard Gere is excellent in this movie. Is full of action from the beginning of the movie. I highly recommend this movie for both Richard Gere and/or action fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average thriller, August 31, 2013
This review is from: The Double (Amazon Instant Video)
This is a fairly good movie - not great - but good. Although the ending was a surprise it could have been a bit more dramatic. I would have given it 4 stars but the ending was somewhat anti-climatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done suspense, August 27, 2013
Well done suspense with action and elements of surprise that were unexpected and enjoyed by us and others who watched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Richard Gere, YES -- Topher Grace, NO, August 26, 2013
This review is from: The Double (Amazon Instant Video)
Great acting, as we've come to expect from Richard Gere, but Topher Grace? Really? What a wooden and obviously "I'm acting" actor. Blah. Terrible pairing and it must have been some sort of Hollywood political "let's boost Topher's exposure" or something because this pairing was clearly beneath Gere. As far as I'm concerned, Gere did all the heavy lifting while Grace dialed it in. The plot was decent, yet rather boring, mostly due to the poor acting mentioned above. Would liked to have seen more of Martin Sheen, too. I would give 5 stars for Gere and 0 for Topher, so figured 3 was about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Throwback to the Cynical Cold War Spy Thriller, August 24, 2013
By 
drkhimxz (Freehold, NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Double (DVD)
Can't say much about the details of the film since a good part of its impact lies in the twists and turns characteristic of the genre. Richard Gere is first rate in the part of the retired CIA agent brought back to find the killer of a United States Senator. The killing has the distinctive markings of the work of a Soviet hitman thought to have been dead for twenty years. Gere's character had killed the hitman. Teamed up with Gere is a young FBI agent who had never been in the field before but had made a study of the hitman's career. He is the model idealistic university trained person who joined the service to serve the public interest. With the team formed, the remainder of the film is devoted to the search for the killer and the changing relationship between the older CIA agent and the younger FBI agent, emphasizing the attraction of the older man with no family to the family (wife and children) of the younger. Martin Sheen is solid as the old veteran head of the CIA with others giving solid supporting
performances. There is action but it is not a film dominated by it. The emphasis is on the personal and professional commitments and loyalties among the participants. Should be a satisfying film to devotees and the general viewer, if they can bear with the attitudes manifest and the one bad slip from classic cynicism characteristic of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Russians Are Coming!, December 20, 2012
By 
J. Ridgway "Ridge" (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Double (Amazon Instant Video)
Spy vs. Spy thriller about Russian spies and assassins infiltrating the US. If there were not enough crime elements to worry about for the average American (street gangs, Mexican drug cartels, inner-city crime wave, serial murderers, the Mafia, deranged mass killers), now we have to worry about Russian Assassins!

The assassin in particular is a ghostly guy formerly working for the KGB, code-named Cassius. Cassius put together a team of Russian assassins and controlled them from afar, back in the day (the Cold War). Then he dissapeared for 20 years. Richard Gere plays retired CIA operative Paul Shepherdson, who looked for Cassius and tried to kill his team of assassins in the '80s, and is now called out of retirement. Topher Grace plays Ben Geary, a young nerdy FBI agaent with a wife and young family, who teams up with Gere to solve a Cassius-like murder of a US Senator. Has the fiend Cassius resurfaced in the US? You see, Cassius has a nearly invincible knack to kill people with his "wire around the neck" technique: very gruesome. So when the Senator gets knocked off in similar manner, the CIA gives Topher and Gere the task of tracking Cassius down. Then the dynamic duo get to bang heads with one Russian thug after another.

The plot proceeds in a reasonable manner, until there are lots of twists, a sudden escalation of violence, and you don't know who is the good guy and who is the bad guy (hence the title). There's a big twist at the movie's end (I won't tell it to you).

Does this film, plot, premise and actors work for me? Meh .... The premise of tons of scary Russian assassins infiltrating the US seems to me to be pushing credulity. The premise of Cassius' invincibility and his method of killing also leaves me skeptical. But OK, even if I accept the premise, then I have some difficulty with fully accepting the turns & twists of the plot, especially Gere's character. It's not that it's a bad plot, it just doesn't totally ring true for me. Finally, I like Gere as an actor usually, but I just don't quite feel he measures up in action & dynamism for the role he's playing. A credible job, yes, but another "Meh" feeling for the actors. Which leads to a workmanlike "3" rating for this movie, worth the $2 to rent but that's about it. Also, kids shouldn't watch it because of the gruesomeness of the wire murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Double, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Double (DVD)
Found this movie moderately entertaining. Hard to justify gross killings to a revenge motive. Watched it all the way thru, but wouldn't recommend it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BK, August 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Double (Amazon Instant Video)
The Double is a good movie. It will keep your intrest as the story unfolds. Good movie to relax and eat some pop corn while watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might expect., June 5, 2012
This review is from: The Double (DVD)
This movie was well acted and had a good twist the story was interesting and will keep you involved and if you like Gere you will like this, simply put this is a surprisingly good movie, I will always tell it like I see it.
Scott M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome., April 1, 2012
This review is from: The Double (DVD)
Great movie. i really enjoy watching this movie,have a lots of action and some drama too.Richard gere did a good job keeping you in suspense . Is a good movie from beginning to end .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 799 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Double
The Double by Michael Brandt
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.