Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Dracula Tape
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars51
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 3, 2004
I really enjoyed this book.

Dracula wants to set the record straight. That horrible book is just not true. To accomplish this, he conjures up a huge snow storm to trap a descendent of one of the original characters and then leaves the real story on a tape recorder.

At first I thought that this was very tongue and cheek, with Dracula trying to convince us that he was just misunderstood. He really wasn't that bad. He didn't bring a baby for the women in his castle to feed on; it was a pig. He didn't kill all those people on the ship; it was the crazy 1st mate. He didn't kill Lucy on purpose; he was just saving her from crazy Van Helsing. And on and on.

But by the end of the book, which I will not divulge, I believed that Dracula really wasn't such a bad guy. The fun part for me was in the process of convincing me.

My star ratings:

One star - couldn't finish the book

Two stars - read the book, but did a lot of skipping or scanning. Wouldn't add the book to my permanent collection or search out other books by the author

Three stars - enjoyable read. Wouldn't add the book to my permanent collection. Would judge other books by the author individually.

Four stars - Liked the book. Would keep the book or would look for others by the same author.

Five stars - One of my all time favorites. Will get a copy in hardback to keep and will actively search out others by the same author.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2000
Have you ever wondered about how Van Helsing could have (safely) given Lucy Westenra four blood transfusions in four days from four different people, without bothering to check for blood types or RH factors? Have you ever wondered how the count could be killed by two knives, one slashing his throat, the other stabbing his heart, when all vampire lore in and out of the novel suggests that normal weapons are useless against him? Have you ever wondered, if you yourself are not religious, why religious artifacts would have powerful effects against him? Then you MUST read this book. Not only is this a fabulous retelling of the story from Dracula's viewpoint, but this version explains and clarifies these and many other weak points in the original tale and is, frankly, a much more enjoyable read for a modern reader.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2003
Anyone who has ever read the original "Dracula" NEEDS to read this fantastic retelling.
Fred Saberhagen does a fine job of transforming the Count from the uncomplicated, run-of-the-mill villain he was in Bram Stoker's story into a likable anti-hero with a full-blown personality of his own. (His subtle, incredibly dry sense of humor had me giggling out loud numerous times.)
Overall, this is a well thought-out, well-written, thoroughly entertaining book, with a nice touch of romance and a GREAT ending. Very highly recommended!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2005
Bram Stoker wrote Dracula as a series of mostly diary entries and correspondence between characters. One of the few characters who apparently didn't keep a diary was the Count himself. Therefore, the reader never gets Dracula's point of view.

In The Dracula Tape, Fred Saberhagen rectifies this omission. The premise is great: Dracula is alive (unalive?) and well in the 1970s (when the book was first published), and has decided that it's time to tell the world What Really Happened. So he discovers the whereabouts of one of the descendants of Jonathan and Mina Harker, makes sure he has a tape player handy, and begins to tell him, and us, his story.

The tale he spins makes a few things clear. For example:

What was really wrapped in the bundle Jonathan saw Dracula bring his three brides?

What really happened to the captain and crew of the Demeter?

Why did Dracula change Lucy into a vampire?

Why did Dracula kill Renfield?

And finally, Why has Dracula chosen this time to tell his story? (The answer to that question is revealed at the end of the book; I'll not divulge it here!)

Dracula's voice is full of humor and wit, but also of sarcasm and occasional contempt, especially for Van Helsing, "the imbecile."

Since The Dracula Tape is essentially a retelling of Stoker's novel, I would recommend reading Stoker first, if you haven't already done so.

I bought my copy of The Dracula Tape years ago when I saw it on a stand at the supermarket. The blurb said something like "The truth behind the events so shamefully misrepresented by Bram Stoker", and I knew I just had to have it. It's been one of my favorite books ever since!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2003
This is a very imaginative, well written account of the Dracula story from Dracula's point of view. The main theme and events run very close to the original book, but describing the events as Dracula himself saw them; all the way from when Jonathan Harker first came to visit the Count, up to and including Dracula's apparent death.
It is essentially written is somewhat of a diary format and stays very consistent with the original novel. In other words, the pace, the accounts, and overall feel of the book are in line with Bram Stoker's novel. For Dracula fans, this is a must read, since it gives a different perspective of the legend. The Transylvanian Society of Dracula even went so far as to award this book as the Best Novel inspired by Dracula in the past century. You can't get higher praise than that.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
A misunderstood Vlad sets the story straight with a counter-account to the original story. I enjoyed reading from Dracula's perspective as he quoted relevant passages from Stoker's version to provide support to his explanations. It seems, a man with great wit and humor, was nothing more than unfairly maligned.
This book was excellently written and is definitely a must-read to those who were a fan of Stoker's Dracula.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2005
I didn't want to like this book; I didn't want to think of Dracula as a person in his own right who had been deeply sullied by Harker and Van Helsing. Yet that's what happened by the time I finished reading this great book. If you read it without having read "Dracula," by Bram Stoker, you'll miss an awful lot of inuendos. I would definitely read Stoker's book first if you haven't already. Then read Saberhagen's book and be prepared to be highly entertained. What a marvelous sense of humor Saberhagen's Dracula has. I loved the way he sardonically ridicules Van Helsing. By the time you finish this book, you'll have a refreshing new viewpoint of what actually happened, for Saberhagen follows the events of Stoker's book quite closely. And all from Dracula's viewpoint. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
I absolutely love this book series but sadly audibles only lists three books. I wonder if they are aware this series actually has about TEN books. The series was renamed to "The Dracula Sequence" at some point in the 1980s. It hasn't been "the New Dracula" in a long time and it's certainly not a mere three books. The last one was written in 2002 and called A Coldness in the blood.

Robin Bloodworth is a good reader and I would love to hear him read the entire series but I'm afraid thanks to Audible and the clumsy handling of Fred Saberhagen's catalog I am afraid he may only be the narrator of the first three.

In regard to the books themselves...

I only recently finished reading The Dracula Sequence book series by Fred Saberhagen and I think I have grown to adore his version of Dracula. My only regret in regard to these books is that I only recently started reading these books and sadly the author, Fred Saberhagen, passed away in 2007. I wish I had discovered these books while he was still alive. Also, it's very apparent to me that he did not mean for this book series to end where they did. The book series is clearly unfinished.

His first book in the series begins with the novel The Dracula Tape which is a very tongue in cheek re-telling of the novel Dracula by Bram Stoker but from Dracula's point of view. Some of his justifications for the events are somewhat... questionable, such as his claim that what happened on the Demeter was the result of the first mate going insane because he thought a vampire was on board. Okay, so the first mate went insane and caused everything but... the cause of his insanity was true... there was a vampire on board... Then there's his claim that his relationship with Lucy was casual and consensual. But in the next breath he admits she thought it was all a dream. So, yes. Our narrator is not exactly honest and sometimes you have to read between the lines to catch the truth. He leaves out the details he doesn't like, apparently lies, and slants things to the way he wants to remember them. But for all his flaws you start to like Saberhagen's Dracula. He's no Edward Cullen. He doesn't lament being a vampire. He's proud of what he is and has a very strong, personal sense of honor. It also has a very satisfying ending for those who love the idea of Mina and Dracula as a couple, without actually re-writing the ending of Stoker's novel.
The one thing I dislike is that Dracula's only real vulnerability in these books is wood. The reasoning given is that like a vampire wood is something that was once alive and transformed into something new.

The second book in the series is called The Holmes-Dracula file. This story starts with Dracula roaming Victorian London, shortly after the events of Dracula. He accidentally gets involved in a very disturbing case with Sherlock Holmes, who actually resembles Dracula, himself.

The Third book in the series called Old Friend of the Family, serves as a sort of glue linking the literary Dracula to the modern world through his connection to Mina's family. In this novel Mina's descendants are desperate for aide when young Johnny Southerland (the youngest of her line at this point) is kidnapped and his pinky fingers have been viciously torn off. The family, in desperation, use a spell left by "Grandma Mina" to summon help, at which point Dracula (under the alias Dr. Corday) turns up and becomes self-appointed guardian of Mina's family (And certain things in the last book heavily suggest these are actually Dracula's descendants too). And it becomes strangely satisfying when Dracula takes brutal revenge for what was done to poor Johnny. He even brutally mangles one of the kidnappers. You find yourself starting to root for him, despite his viciousness. He is a fantastic anti-hero.
This book also introduces us to Joseph Koegh, who marries into the Southerland family (descendants of Mina and Jonathan Harker). Joe becomes a private investigator and recurring character in the series and he serves as a good counter balance to our not-always-nice narrator.

The fourth book of the series is Thorn. In this book Dracula is attempting to win (at auction) a painting of his own "deceased" second wife from his mortal life only to find himself involved in a strange mystery that may involve his own half-vampire wife from his mortal life. The quality of the book series starts to slide a little bit here and the story alternates between the modern setting and the past. It actually has the feel of an episode of Forever Knight (The Canadian Vampire TV series from the early nineties). The best part of this book has to be Dracula's temper tantrum near the end of the book where Mina herself (now a vampire) shows up to warn one of the main protagonists not to go near him until it was over because of how dangerous he could be when angry. It was disturbing and amusing all at once. But considering what happened to lead to the tantrum it was completely understandable. Dracula and his lover were both blown up in a car. He survived by turning into mist and narrowly escaping. The woman was badly mangled to the point that she couldn't even ingest Dracula's blood to be transformed into a vampire and so she died in agony in his arms... which lead to a monstrous, probably warrented, vampire temper tantrum from Dracula.

The fifth book in the series is probably my least favorite. This one is called Dominion and deals with magick and Merlin himself (who has been wandering the streets under a curse that has left him an incompetent drunk...) Fred Saberhagen is not very good at describing magick. It's disjointed, hallucinogenic and a little incoherent. Fred Saberhagen can describe vampire powers fairly well but not generic magick or time travel very well. The best part though has to be when Dracula is tossed up into a whirlwind that tumbles him around through time, by an angry Merlin, who doesn't realize Dracula is actually on his side.

After this is the short story From the Tree of Time which can be found in the short story collection Gaslight Arcanum. This one is a short story dealing with Dracula and Sherlock Holmes.

The sixth book in the series is a good one. This one is called A Matter of Taste. In this book it's revealed that the historical rogue Ceasar Borgia became a vampire and now wants revenge on Dracula (for something our narrator claims was accidental but that's debatable considering our narrator isn't very honest...) Dracula ends up poisoned and now it's up to Mina's human descendants to protect him while he is vulnerable. Meanwhile the now adult Johnny Southerland (the one Dracula saved in Old Friend of The Family) has to find a way to explain to his future wife that his "Uncle Matt" is not only a vampire but THE Dracula. The ending is surprisingly endearing and sweet.
In this book we learn that Dracula has a clever way of compensating for not having a reflection. He has replaced his bathroom mirror with a flat screened closed circuit television with a continual live feed of whatever is in front of it.
The seventh book of the series is one of the two I don't care much for. The other is Dominion. In this one, called A Question of Time, a lot of time travel happens and as I discussed before, Fred Saberhagen is not very good at writing magick or time travel. This particular book has no real impact on the majority of the series and I don't feel it was necessary in the grand scheme of things.

The eighth book of the series is called Seance for a vampire. And yet again our "Hero" makes some questionable decisions, such as wanting to seduce a young Medium whose brother has just been killed, But he was "considerate enough" to wait a night or so after the brother's death to seduce her. This was a fairly interesting one but the one thing about the book I don't care for is Fred Saberhagen sometimes puts his own opinion into the character. For example he has Dracula feel that all Mediums are frauds. He does not believe in ghosts. He believes in magick, time travel, spells, wizards, vampires, werewolves, and even karma but ghosts is the thing Dracula doesn't believe in? I don't buy it. It just doesn't make sense to me. This book deals with the historical Rasputin and is another cross over with Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

The ninth book of the series is A Sharpness on the Neck and here Fred Saberhagen seems to poke fun of himself a bit, poking fun of how "Mr. Graves" (Another alias for Dracula) shifts from third person perspective to first person perspective. And it also pokes fun at how boring and long winded he can be when explaining things to people. In this story we learn that Radu (Dracula's vampire brother) wants a man named Phillip Radcliffe dead as revenge against his ancestor. It's up to Dracula and a masked band of helpers (Mna's human descendants) to save them.
The story alternates with the past, particularly The French revolution, and the present day. There are subtle nods to A Tale of Two Cities and The Scarlet Pimpernel. At one point Dracula disguises himself as an executioner (and actually carries out several executions) to save a man he is honor-bound to protect.
The funniest part of this book is when Dracula makes a three to five hour long video tape of himself sitting at a desk explaining the back story and the people who are being made to watch the video find it boring and even try fast forwarding it. At one point he even enthralls them to watch it and they still fall asleep about five minutes into it.
Little things are there to remind you of the viciousness of our protagonist. Even though he goes out of his way to try to rescue a little girl at one point, he still mangles a group of vampires who side with his brother Radu, thralls animals to remain still so a little boy can kill them with his mini guillotine, and carries out executions he doesn't even really agree with. He also mentions beating his brother with a wooden cane and tells us that his brother only cried out in pain to "annoy" him. He is... still... Dracula.

After this is the short story Box Number Fifty which can be found in the short story collection Dracula in London. This is a sweet story dealing with Dracula and two street orphans and serves as a sort of mid-quel to The Dracula Tape.

The Tenth book in the series is called A coldness in the blood and deals with a self-proclaimed Egyptian deity and a quest to find the Philosopher's Stone. A serious and not-quite resolved strain is put on "Uncle Mathew" (Dracula) and his relationship with Mina's human family (who he's been more or less stalking ever since the book Old Friend of the Family, set twenty years earlier...) The strain comes when Andy (Joe's son) goes to Uncle Matt's apartment to put together a website for him. While there he gets unintentionally wrapped up into the chaotic adventure which subsequently leads to Andy's mother forbidding him from ever helping Uncle Matt with his computer and or going to his apartment again. I can't help but feel sorry for Dracula here because he's clearly grown attached to these people that he has made himself protector of and it's apparent they're all still quite afraid of him. Well, I suppose I'd be a little nervous too if Dracula decided to become my guardian Angel but I've grown to like the guy.
Dracula has been trying very hard to get others to adopt the term Hmo-dirus or Homo-sapien-dirus as a subspecies title for Vampire or as he says Nosferatu. ...It doesn't seem to catch on.

The one thing I dislike about this novel is yet again, like with ghosts in Seance for a vampire, Fred Saberhagen puts his own views in Dracula and it doesn't make much sense that a man from fifteenth century Romania would have issues with a young man having an earring and yet he does. And the author goes out of his way to have multiple characters unrealistically hate the earring, including even a very young character named Dolly. Since when does Dracula have a 1950s middle America mind-set about Jewelry? It doesn't fit.

In any event it's obvious here that this was not meant to be the last book of the series. And it's disappointing to know the book series never truly will be completed since the author passed away.
But for anyone who misses vampires who could be terrifying and charming, charismatic yet violent, and not sparkly, I strongly, strongly recommend these books. I think this book series is highly under-rated and Fred Saberhagen's version of Dracula has become one of my favorite literary characters.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
First let me say I am not a fan of the kindle format. I prefer physical books or audio books. Now on to the actual review...

I only recently finished reading The Dracula Sequence book series by Fred Saberhagen and I think I have grown to adore his version of Dracula. My only regret in regard to these books is that I only recently started reading these books and sadly the author, Fred Saberhagen, passed away in 2007. I wish I had discovered these books while he was still alive. Also, it's very apparent to me that he did not mean for this book series to end where they did. The book series is clearly unfinished.
His first book in the series begins with the novel The Dracula Tape which is a very tongue in cheek re-telling of the novel Dracula by Bram Stoker but from Dracula's point of view. Some of his justifications for the events are somewhat... questionable, such as his claim that what happened on the Demeter was the result of the first mate going insane because he thought a vampire was on board. Okay, so the first mate went insane and caused everything but... the cause of his insanity was true... there was a vampire on board... Then there's his claim that his relationship with Lucy was casual and consensual. But in the next breath he admits she thought it was all a dream. So, yes. Our narrator is not exactly honest and sometimes you have to read between the lines to catch the truth. He leaves out the details he doesn't like, apparently lies, and slants things to the way he wants to remember them. But for all his flaws you start to like Saberhagen's Dracula. He's no Edward Cullen. He doesn't lament being a vampire. He's proud of what he is and has a very strong, personal sense of honor. It also has a very satisfying ending for those who love the idea of Mina and Dracula as a couple, without actually re-writing the ending of Stoker's novel.
The one thing I dislike is that Dracula's only real vulnerability in these books is wood. The reasoning given is that like a vampire wood is something that was once alive and transformed into something new.

The second book in the series is called The Dracula - Holmes file. This story starts with Dracula roaming Victorian London, shortly after the events of Dracula. He accidentally gets involved in a very disturbing case with Sherlock Holmes, who actually resembles Dracula, himself.

The Third book in the series called Old Friend of the Family, serves as a sort of glue linking the literary Dracula to the modern world through his connection to Mina's family. In this novel Mina's descendants are desperate for aide when young Johnny Southerland (the youngest of her line at this point) is kidnapped and his pinky fingers have been viciously torn off. The family, in desperation, use a spell left by "Grandma Mina" to summon help, at which point Dracula (under the alias Dr. Corday) turns up and becomes self-appointed guardian of Mina's family. And it becomes strangely satisfying when Dracula takes brutal revenge for what was done to poor Johnny. He even brutally mangles one of the kidnappers. You find yourself starting to root for him, despite his viciousness. He is a fantastic anti-hero.
This book also introduces us to Joseph Koegh, who marries into the Southerland family (descendants of Mina and Jonathan Harker). Joe becomes a private investigator and recurring character in the series and he serves as a good counter balance to our not-always-nice narrator.

The fourth book of the series is Thorn. In this book Dracula is attempting to win (at auction) a painting of his own "deceased" second wife from his mortal life only to find himself involved in a strange mystery that may involve his own half-vampire wife from his mortal life. The quality of the book series starts to slide a little bit here and the story alternates between the modern setting and the past. It actually has the feel of an episode of Forever Knight (The Canadian Vampire TV series from the early nineties). The best part of this book has to be Dracula's temper tantrum near the end of the book where Mina herself (now a vampire) shows up to warn one of the main protagonists not to go near him until it was over because of how dangerous he could be when angry. It was disturbing and amusing all at once. But considering what happened to lead to the tantrum it was completely understandable. Dracula and his lover were both blown up in a car. He survived by turning into mist and narrowly escaping. The woman was badly mangled to the point that she couldn't even ingest Dracula's blood to be transformed into a vampire and so she died in agony in his arms... which lead to a monstrous, probably warrented, vampire temper tantrum from Dracula.

The fifth book in the series is probably my least favorite. This one is called Dominion and deals with magick and Merlin himself (who has been wandering the streets under a curse that has left him an incompetent drunk...) Fred Saberhagen is not very good at describing magick. It's disjointed, hallucinogenic and a little incoherent. Fred Saberhagen can describe vampire powers fairly well but not generic magick or time travel very well. The best part though has to be when Dracula is tossed up into a whirlwind that tumbles him around through time, by an angry Merlin, who doesn't realize Dracula is actually on his side.

The sixth book in the series is a good one. This one is called A Matter of Taste. In this book it's revealed that the historical rogue Ceasar Borgia became a vampire and now wants revenge on Dracula (for something our narrator claims was accidental but that's debatable considering our narrator isn't very honest...) Dracula ends up poisoned and now it's up to Mina's human descendants to protect him while he is vulnerable. Meanwhile the now adult Johnny Southerland (the one Dracula saved in Old Friend of The Family) has to find a way to explain to his future wife that his "Uncle Matt" is not only a vampire but THE Dracula. The ending is surprisingly endearing and sweet.
In this book we learn that Dracula has a clever way of compensating for not having a reflection. He has replaced his bathroom mirror with a flat screened closed circuit television with a continual live feed of whatever is in front of it.

The seventh book of the series is one of the two I don't care much for. The other is Dominion. In this one, called A Question of Time, a lot of time travel happens and as I discussed before, Fred Saberhagen is not very good at writing magick or time travel. This particular book has no real impact on the majority of the series and I don't feel it was necessary in the grand scheme of things.

The eighth book of the series is called Seance for a vampire. And yet again our "Hero" makes some questionable decisions, such as wanting to seduce a young Medium whose brother has just been killed, But he was "considerate enough" to wait a night or so after the brother's death to seduce her. This was a fairly interesting one but the one thing about the book I don't care for is Fred Saberhagen sometimes puts his own opinion into the character. For example he has Dracula feel that all Mediums are frauds. He does not believe in ghosts. He believes in magick, time travel, spells, wizards, vampires, werewolves, and even karma but ghosts is the thing Dracula doesn't believe in? I don't buy it. It just doesn't make sense to me. This book deals with the historical Rasputin and is another cross over with Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

The ninth book of the series is A Sharpness on the Neck and here Fred Saberhagen seems to poke fun of himself a bit, poking fun of how "Mr. Graves" (Another alias for Dracula) shifts from third person perspective to first person perspective. And it also pokes fun at how boring and long winded he can be when explaining things to people. In this story we learn that Radu (Dracula's vampire brother) wants a man named Phillip Radcliffe dead as revenge against his ancestor. It's up to Dracula and a masked band of helpers (Mna's human descendants) to save them.
The story alternates with the past, particularly The French revolution, and the present day. There are subtle nods to A Tale of Two Cities and The Scarlet Pimpernel. At one point Dracula disguises himself as an executioner (and actually carries out several executions) to save a man he is honor-bound to protect.
The funniest part of this book is when Dracula makes a three to five hour long video tape of himself sitting at a desk explaining the back story and the people who are being made to watch the video find it boring and even try fast forwarding it. At one point he even enthralls them to watch it and they still fall asleep about five minutes into it.
Little things are there to remind you of the viciousness of our protagonist. Even though he goes out of his way to try to rescue a little girl at one point, he still mangles a group of vampires who side with his brother Radu, thralls animals to remain still so a little boy can kill them with his mini guillotine, and carries out executions he doesn't even really agree with. He also mentions beating his brother with a wooden cane and tells us that his brother only cried out in pain to "annoy" him. He is... still... Dracula.

The Tenth book in the series is called A coldness in the blood and deals with a self-proclaimed Egyptian deity and a quest to find the Philosopher's Stone. A serious and not-quite resolved strain is put on "Uncle Mathew" (Dracula) and his relationship with Mina's human family (who he's been more or less stalking ever since the book Old Friend of the Family, set twenty years earlier...) The strain comes when Andy (Joe's son) goes to Uncle Matt's apartment to put together a website for him. While there he gets unintentionally wrapped up into the chaotic adventure which subsequently leads to Andy's mother forbidding him from ever helping Uncle Matt with his computer and or going to his apartment again. I can't help but feel sorry for Dracula here because he's clearly grown attached to these people that he has made himself protector of and it's apparent they're all still quite afraid of him. Well, I suppose I'd be a little nervous too if Dracula decided to become my guardian Angel but I've grown to like the guy.
Dracula has been trying very hard to get others to adopt the term Hmo-dirus or Homo-sapien-dirus as a subspecies title for Vampire or as he says Nosferatu. ...It doesn't seem to catch on.
The one thing I dislike about this novel is yet again, like with ghosts in Seance for a vampire, Fred Saberhagen puts his own views in Dracula and it doesn't make much sense that a man from fifteenth century Romania would have issues with a young man having an earring and yet he does. And the author goes out of his way to have multiple characters unrealistically hate the earring, including even a very young character named Dolly. Since when does Dracula have a 1950s middle America mind-set about Jewelry? It doesn't fit.

In any event it's obvious here that this was not meant to be the last book of the series. And it's disappointing to know the book series never truly will be completed since the author passed away.

There are two short stories set in the world of The Dracula Sequence but I haven't had the chance to read those yet.

For anyone who misses vampires who could be terrifying and charming, charismatic yet violent, and not sparkly, I strongly, strongly recommend these books. I think this book series is highly under-rated and Fred Saberhagen's version of Dracula has become one of my favorite literary characters.

The books are all told from Dracula's point of view. The book series inspired certain aspects of the Gary Oldman Dracula movie. And it's really, really under-rated.

The Dracula Tape - Which retells Dracula from Dracula's point of view.

The Holmes-Dracula File - A cross over with Sherlock Holmes.
An Old Friend of the Family - Mina's descendants are forced to summon Dracula for help.

Thorn - Every other chapter deals with Dracula's mortal second wife.

Dominion - A cross over with King Arthur. (I'm not a fan of this one.)

From the Tree of Time - A short story available in the book Gaslight Arcanum. This is another Sherlock cross over.

A Matter of Taste - This one deals with Dracula and The Borgias and what happened the night Dracula became a vampire.

A Question of Time - An odd time travel one. (I didn't care for this one.)

Seance for a Vampire - Another Sherlock cross over.

A Sharpness on the Neck - Deals with Dracula's brother Radu returned as a vampire.

Box Number Fifty - A short story (and a really good one at that) in the book Dracula in London.

A Coldness in the Blood - Sadly the last book in the series and deals with the philosopher's stone. Fred Saberhagen died before he could write another after this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 27, 2012
2012-11-27

I read The Dracula Tape in mebbe 1997. What a great re-spin of Bram Stoker!

According to Saberhagen, Dracula is a very proper middle-aged man living in a Chicago high-rise, and fighting the forces of evil (they're all trying to get him, y'know). Ya gotta love it!

The Dracula Tape has gone in and out of print, and I wanted to make certain I had a copy available. I was happy to see The Dracula Tape (Saberhagen's Dracula Series) for KF. Now that it's digital, it will live forever. (HEY! Just like the old man!)

The entire Dracula Series gets my highest recommendation! Holmes, the Borgias, and other familiar names pop up in the different books - they're all a hoot!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.