Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Dreamer, The Believer [Explicit]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 5, 2012
Sweet is the only song that is truly out of place on this album. Common has a moment where he's trying to channel some wanabee gangster and it fails miserably. Other than that one fail everything else on this album is solid. Dreamer, The cloth, Believer are all very strong songs with Commons usual thoughtful approach.

Granted Commons rythmic choice of words have never been overly complex but they work here and they get the job done. Is it a classic, no but hip hop hasn't produced any true classics since.... well lets just say it's been awhile. In that absence one might as well go for someone and something reliable and the Dreamer is just that reliable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2011
For all Common fans who have been waiting for Common to take it back to Resurrection and add some traces of Like Water for Chocolate, get this album. I had the honor of listening to it in it's entirety and clearly was amazed by the Shaq-sized chip Common had on his shoulder. The first track with Maya Angelou(perfect visual of our ancestors), the smash hit Ghetto Dreams with Nas (SMH, a match made in heaven.), the song with John Legend, and Poppa Common himself sealing the deal, you AUTHENTIC Common fans will appreciate this. Not too long or too short. A dozen tracks of rare hip hop, not hip-pop.

P.S. That reminds me, listen to track 4 as Common personally calls out artists that couldn't "jam in traffic". Get it? Well then, just got the album and pay attention, ok?!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
Most Definitely the best Common album.
Hes taken his best aspects from every album and finally wrapped it into one. It seems as if Common found the perfect balance like the album cover seems to depict. The production is on point getting back to straight killa beats and just ripping MC's, but still able to give deep insight into social ills, or just describe everyday life in a extraordinary way.
Only thing is I wish they put the song Lets Move was on the album.
I don't see how this could get less than 5 mics if this was the old source rating, or anything less than a classic for hip-hop.
maybe you techno heads, or cats on some other ** looking for something else, but the real youngins, hip-hop heads, or anybody who care about lyrics in a song and not just the beat alone. This is the album you buy this year.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
The Dreamer, The Believer defines Common at his best. I'm a fan of this album because of overall message which is" Dream" "Believe".

In today's tainted music industry, conscious rappers aren't as plentiful as they once were in the early 90s. Today's music is infested with material gains, excessive adultery and drug abuse, which is a product of our society, but shouldn't be glamorized.

Common's "The Dreamer, The Believer" is out to change your perception by feeling your ears with gritty, yet positive lyrics. NO I.D lace Common with top notch beats which is why I consider this album a rear gem.

Must own!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2012
Common delivers yet another solid album.It may not be on the same classic status such as like water for chocalate,resurrection or be but it's enjoyable none the less.highlights and recomended tracks include the dreamer,ghetto dreams ft. Nas, cloth, raw & the diss track sweet aimed towards wack Drake.No I.D's production was smooth,eccentric,jazzy feel to it.If you like rappers like Nas,a tribe called quest, Wu tang clan,Gang starr,talib kweli, pete rock cl smooth etc... Then this is right up your alley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2012
I got hook on common when I heard like water for chocolate, but I first bought cd is Electric Circus, since then I've bought every album that came after that, yup even the universal mind control. No I.D. did a wonderful job with the beats, got common back on his prime, love every song and wish all turn into music videos. Mostly windows, cloth and the believer. Common's best work since finding forever, I hope he goes gold with this or atleast an award for having one the best album of 2011, as far as I heard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
I only usually BUY albums for certain atrtists that are out these days... I heard some of the tracks for the Dreamer/The Believer and was very intered..I also heard some great things about it from some friends... Im pretty open minded so I listen to lots of diff types of hip hop....This album is the real hip hop...It was worth the $12.96 and I do recommend it for any average fan. It is easily one of the best albums of the year.. go buy it and support these artists
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2011
Been a fan of common since "I Use to Love Her". minus his last album, the sub par effort of UMC, this album more than makes up for it. Another classic under his belt no doubt. From beginning to end this is pure, untapped, unadulterated HIP HOP. While its nice to hear the new blood like J Cole, Common remains untouched in certain aspects. Picked this album up without hearing any of the songs and Iam very much happy I did. NO ID gets huge props because he brought it here. Its a shame hes not on GOOD music no more BUT No ID isnt no drop off from Kanye on the beats. KIDS THIS IS HIP HOP!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
Gonna keep this simple. Lyrics are thoughtful,smart,clever & inspiring at times. Delivery is spot on. Common is one of the best. Beats are dope. Wide variety of instruments being used. Definitely a head nodder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2012
This album is raw, it's dirty, it's dusty, it's dingy. But somehow at the same time, warm, gentle, mellow, sometimes even soothing. This album sounds nostalgic. Like a distant, long-forgotten memory. It sounds like something you may have heard when you were a child. Only you haven't. Buy this album if you love and miss real music and hip-hop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.