Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer Soundtrack
I bought this album after immediately falling in love with the track "It Will All End In Tears", which I got for free from U/O LSTN#10. I was pleasantly surprised to see the album on Amazon for only $5. If there was a soundtrack for a day at the beach in Southern California, this would have been it. Tracks like the one mentioned already and "The Future" also harken back...
Published on August 19, 2010 by rollin4eyes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shimmering mix of innocence and misery
It's hard not to make a beeline to the Drums' self-titled debut recording, because it is a shimmering, spectacle to all the wonders of mixing innocence and misery that fueled many of our adolescent yearning and experiences. Moreover, by honing pop music that sounds like it could have been lifted from the any of the past six decades, the band covers its bases and sources...
Published on September 22, 2011 by loce_the_wizard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer Soundtrack, August 19, 2010
By 
rollin4eyes "Rich" (Salinas, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drums (MP3 Music)
I bought this album after immediately falling in love with the track "It Will All End In Tears", which I got for free from U/O LSTN#10. I was pleasantly surprised to see the album on Amazon for only $5. If there was a soundtrack for a day at the beach in Southern California, this would have been it. Tracks like the one mentioned already and "The Future" also harken back 80's pop like Echo & The Bunnymen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Were 23 and I Was 25, December 9, 2010
This review is from: The Drums (Audio CD)
This is like Vampire Weekend in terms of the melodies and general mission statement, but it's Vampire Weekend in 1990 at a crazy dorm party for the gay kids and the art freaks, and they've been taking LOTS of MDMA or acid or something and listening to LOTS of the Smiths. And they're in their underwear, pretending to be at the beach.

Very good stuff, although I will say that I miss the 50s vibe of their first EP, Summertime!, and that the inclusion of some of those previous songs on this LP creates a clash of vibes at times. I guess I just feel like the 80s are getting strip-mined these days. But that could just be personal for me since I was obsessed with the EP for much of last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So good!, August 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drums (MP3 Music)
I saw this recommended on StereoGum and thought, why not? Little did I know how addictive this album is! It is the perfect summertime music, and has a fun 80's pop feel to it. How can you resist a catchy pop song that starts, "You were my best friend, but then you died." Effing brilliant. The whole album is catchy, but not annoyingly so, and has great hooks and beats. Every time I play it, people ask me what it is and find themselves bopping along w/ the music. A nice break from some of the other crap that's floating around this summer. Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll your car windows down and throw your home windows up, September 17, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drums (Audio CD)
If you loved Phoenix's "Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix," you'll love this album.

The Drums are a crazy mix of influences. Some New Order/Joy Division. Some Tears for Fears. Some Ramones (possibly?). Some Morrissey.

They create a unique tension with music that breeds giddy optimism, and lyrics that are whimsical yet yearning.

When I listened to the album front to finish, I felt like I was in high school again. Not one bad song on the album.

If you love jangle pop and indie pop, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant beat!, June 15, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Drums (Audio CD)
US quartet Drums' eponymous album was recorded in a bedroom using a guitar, an old Roland keyboard, a microphone, a tambourine, and an old reverb machine, if singer Jonathan Pierce is to be believed. The result is rather Spartan but highly melodic Synth-Pop rich in harmonies and chiming sixties-sounding guitars.

Opening is the bouncy "Best friend", while "Me and the moon" opens with a beat remniscent of Kenny Loggins' "Footloose" before pulsing synths take over.

The sunny jangly "Let's go surfing" has a nice whistle refrain while Pierce sings "Mama, I wanna go surfing", and just as cheerful are "Forever and ever amen" and "It will all end in tears".

My favourite is the ballad "Down by the water" which is a melancholic slow shuffling Doo-wop song with pleading vocals. Closing is the atmospheric Beach Boys-channeling "The future".

The Drums supply a steady and pleasant beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely addictive ! Saw them live for the first time and jonny pierce is amazing! i want to follow them all over the world., August 5, 2010
This review is from: The Drums (MP3 Music)
The Drums by far are the best band I"ve heard in a long time. I'm highly tempted to see them live in every country! Jonathan Pierce lead singer is charismatic and holds your attention. Great band to see Live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Drums starring the old wave, September 30, 2010
By 
NUEVE "nueve" (Culiacan. Sin. Mex,) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drums (Audio CD)
This is by far a great album for those ones who enjoy living the 80's noltalgia in music which has been long gone already. A year ago I said the if The Sounds record " Crossing the rubbicon" had been released back in 1985 it would've been a huge hit. Well, The Drums album falls into the same category I must day. It's not even possible to start reviewing this record without pointing out the obvious influence that it has from an easy The Cure, a less clever The Smiths or the hillarious A flock of seagulls. There are great songs to be remembered in the album: "Best friend"... The smiths are back, "Book of stories"... this song has the most 80's sound in the chorus,"Let's go surfing"... this has The cure written all over the bass line, and the amazing "Forever and ever amen"... great song that builds an awesome landscape all by itself. This is a good record to enjoy on a summer afternoon but this is not exactly the kind of record that will be passing the timeless test anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shimmering mix of innocence and misery, September 22, 2011
This review is from: The Drums (Audio CD)
It's hard not to make a beeline to the Drums' self-titled debut recording, because it is a shimmering, spectacle to all the wonders of mixing innocence and misery that fueled many of our adolescent yearning and experiences. Moreover, by honing pop music that sounds like it could have been lifted from the any of the past six decades, the band covers its bases and sources well while, amazingly, sounding a bit like a "lite" version of The Cure at moments.

But this trip down memory lane also holds dangers and sometimes the music here becomes just too ingratiating and sentimental. The problem is that everything seems like a glaze, and most of the songs follow a formula: combine a brisk beat; thin, jangly guitars (lots of them); bright vocals and echo chamber harmonies; and goose it all with lots of reverb.

Oddly, the opening tracks smacks of a drum machine instead of flesh and blood drumming, and the rhythm section seems flyweight when a bit more punch would add some heft to offset the cloying does of charm.

Still, it's a fun recording for blaring on a road trip or for playing volleyball on a strip of beach somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain good music!, January 1, 2011
By 
Michael B. (Hartselle, AL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drums (MP3 Music)
You may pick this up or download this album because of their single "Let's Go Surfing," but the rest of the album doesn't sound like that, and that's a good thing. Not that the single isn't good - it is - it's just that the rest of the album sounds different. Actually, better. Whereas "Let's Go Surfing" is feel good, most of the other songs are quite melancholy, without being boring musically. It seems like The Drums are the second coming of The Smiths. Other stand out tracks include "Me and the Moon," "Best Friend," "Down by the Water," and "I Need Fun in My Life."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You!, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drums (Audio CD)
Thanks so much to goHastings for being so quick on delivering my CD! The Drums are my favourite band ever and I love this album so much! I'm so excited for their third full-length album and I ordered Portamento a few days ago too. Thanks again goHastings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Drums
The Drums by The Drums (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.