Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, Insightful and Interesting!!!
I found this book very interesting and informative. It's filled with facts from the founding of our country and the issues that aroused. In my opinion, the author was very articulate in the way how he showed forth the ideas and debates of and between Jefferson and Hamiliton. From start to finish, I was intrigued with the content and it has aroused an eager interest to...
Published 18 months ago by Kerry F.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite enough
Really great information, there just wasn't enough of the material for my taste. It's even really well written though the chapters are exceedingly short.
Published on August 10, 2012 by Brian Bigelow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, Insightful and Interesting!!!, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting and informative. It's filled with facts from the founding of our country and the issues that aroused. In my opinion, the author was very articulate in the way how he showed forth the ideas and debates of and between Jefferson and Hamiliton. From start to finish, I was intrigued with the content and it has aroused an eager interest to learn more about our founding fathers and the history of America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Like this, February 18, 2013
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This book helped me understand how the issues we are debating today started with the founding of our country, and were articulated by Jefferson and Hamilton. Great job on providing their quotes and writings to describe each mans ideal view of government. Well written and to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Very well written. It gives tons of historic facts and is interesting at the same time. Well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The battle for the future, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The book is small, educational and very insightfull. the content of the book is relevant today as 200 years ago. Our founding fathers were ahead of their time and generation. The tussling of today between the two political parties started more than two hundred year ago.Dissenting is necessary in anything and any situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars origins of the USA, October 13, 2012
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very helpful for a discussion I run into over and over again with my peers. It helped me get a very well rounded view of our founding fathers. I reccommend it. Its concise and to the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jefferson and Hamilton, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book interesting by putting the two men against each other. I learned what I needed to know and will refer back to it. Jefferson and the Hamilton are two of my favorite founding fathers; not that the remainder aren't, but these two always stick out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite enough, August 10, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Really great information, there just wasn't enough of the material for my taste. It's even really well written though the chapters are exceedingly short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overflowing with Factual Errors, May 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I was surprised at both the number and the extent of the factual and historical mistakes that found their way into a final, published book.

A few examples of huge errors that jumped out at me:

Theodore Roosevelt, according to the author of this book, was responsible for the emergence of a big federal government in the United States in 1920. Beyond not giving any examples of what specifically Roosevelt was supposed to have done to have caused this big government trend to begin or why the author felt it to be true, there is no way that Roosevelt could have been the cause of anything in 1920 since he died in 1919. Theodore Roosevelt was president from 1901-1909 and had long been out of service to the federal government by the time of his death. It couldn't be a case of the author confusing Theodore with Franklin Roosevelt either since the latter didn't take office as president until 1933. Strike One.

The author further writes "In 1871 Hamilton wrote..." referring to a passage allegedly written by Alexander Hamilton. As with the Theodore Roosevelt error, this could not possibly be true since Hamilton was killed in 1804. Strike Two.

According to the author Thomas Jefferson founded the Republican party. No, Jefferson and his followers formed the Democratic Republican party which later became simply the Democratic party. The Republican party did not emerge until the mid-19th century with Abraham Lincoln becoming the first president elected from that party long after Jefferson's death. Yes, the parties have traded platforms over the intervening decades, but it still doesn't make Jefferson the founder of the Republican party. Strike Three.

There are other problems with this book, not the least of which there are no references cited for any of the quotations or events. The only exception to the lack of citations is a section of the book which contains dialog from an HBO mini-series, John Adams, which supposedly illustrates a fictional conversation between Jefferson and Hamilton. A television show meant for entertainment is hardly a credible source. The author also is confused over the correct use of the word "capitol" and the standard rules of capitalization for titles and subtitles.

Not recommended unless you wish to use this book as part of a game to see who can find the most errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was this book edited before publishing?, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Having just read a biography on John and Abigail Adams, I downloaded this book to complement what I just learned. I was a quite disappointed in the brevity of the accounts of these two men. The biggest disappointment, though, is the how many words are misspelled including Hamilton's name on the cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Folks, this is hardly a book..., January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Duel For America: Jefferson vs. Hamilton (The Founding Fathers Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Oh sure, you'll probably learn something in reading what really amounts to a tract. But a book it is not. So if, by chance, this piece of writing finds itself in your hands, by all means glance it over. It won't require much of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.