Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Black Stone Cherry Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars186
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$17.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 3, 2004
The Dukes of Hazzard aired from January 26, 1979 to August 16, 1985 for a total of 7 seasons and 145 episodes.

Season 2 contain 23 episodes originally aired as follows:

#14. Days of Shine and Roses (September 21,1979)
#15. Gold Fever (September 28,1979)
#16. The Rustlers (October 5,1979)
#17. The Meeting (October 12,1979)
#18. Road Pirates (October 19,1979)
#19. The Ghost of General Lee (October 26,1979)
#20. The Dukes Meet Cale Yarborough (November 2,1979)
#21. Hazzard Connection (November 9,1979)
#22. Witness for the Persecution (November 16,1979)
#23. Granny Annie (November 23,1979)
#24. People's Choice (November 30,1979)
#25. Arrest Jesse Duke (December 14,1979)
#26. Duke of Duke (January 4,1980)
#27. The Runaway (January 11,1980)
#28. Follow That Still (January 18,1980)
#29. Treasure of Hazzard (January 25,1980)
#30. Officer Daisy Duke (February 1,1980)
#31. Find Loretta Lynn (February 8,1980)
#32. Jude Emery (February 15,1980)
#33. Return of the Ridgerraiders (February 22,1980)
#34. Mason Dixon's Girls (February 29,1980)
#35. R.I.P. Henry Flatt (March 14,1980)
#36. Southern Comfurts (March 21,1980)

Five seasons and a total of 109 episodes remains until we all have the full collection. Plus, I would like to see the CBS (120 Minutes) MADE-FOR-TELEVISION MOVIE aired on: April 25, 1997 and the name of the movie is "The Dukes of Hazzard: Reunion".

There is also the Enos and The Dukes Cartoon Series (November 12, 1980 - May 20, 1981) which I also would like to see released on DVD sets.
11 comment|71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2005
It is very exciting to have the original series, "The Dukes of Hazzard" available on DVD after so many years. The shows absence on television, due largely to its contriversal "star" the confederate flag bearing General Lee, has been a generations long frustrations to fans of the series who grew up with the show as part of their childhood culture. The fact is, the show presents about as much racism as it does deep intellectual thought...this was a show about being a couple of "good ol' boys" fighting the system to help anyone they could. The show itself presented family values, the triumph of good over evil and more laughs and action than anything available on television today....and all without the crude (and often graphic) portrayals of drugs, sex and violence that is synonymous with todays media programming.

The central story surrounds Bo and Luke Duke, two cousins who are sent to live with their uncle Jessie and cousin Daisy after being placed on parole for running moonshine in a "dry" county. The boys, reckless and mischevous, go about the affairs of their family while trying to keep their noses clean, despite the best efforts of Boss Hogg and Sheriff Roscoe to bring them down. Hogg, Hazzard's "criminal mastermind" heads up the corrupt (but ever bumbling) police department, and is always scheming to bust the Duke boys for anything possible, since he, too, was a moon-shiner in competition with the Duke family.

Confused? Well, its hard to pack seven years of backstory into a couple short paragraphs. Let me say that this is a series for all ages...created in a time that was more innocent than the world of today. Boys will love the bright orange "01 General Lee" which is as much a leading member of the cast as is any of the actors themselves. Girls will love the Duke Boys, Bo (John Schneider (SMALLVILLE)), and Luke (Tom Wopat (ANNIE GET YOUR GUN)). Parents will love the comedic, often silly, antics of the show combined with the appearant lack of "all that stuff" that makes T.V. viewing so jaded today. Its a family friendly show with a little bit of something for everybody.

This DVD set contains the complete second season of the show along with outtakes, audio commentary from the cast and enough extras to keep even hardcore Dukes of Hazzard fans coming back for more. The digital "clean-up" of the show has restored the original quality of video and audio to as good - or even better - than it originally looked and sounded in 1979-1980.

THis is a must have for fans of the show, and for anyone looking for something fun to watch with the whole family. Give it a try...I am sure you will love it.

-Scott Kolecki
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2005
Warner Brothers should be congratulated for their fantastic presentation with THE DUKES OF HAZZARD, SEASON 2.

The sound quality and picture are both crisp and clear, probably more so than when these episodes originally aired on CBS in 1979-1980. The packaging is absolutely superb...great pictures, some never before seen, and it includes a great 1979-era cast photo inside, and everyone is present, including Sonny Shroyer.

I really enjoyed the extra features as well: the screen tests for John Schneider and Tom Wopat were fascinating to see after all these years, and I hope more things like this see the light of day on future releases of the DUKES. The annual DukesFest celebration is also highlighted, and this coverage includes interviews and footage of original stars Shroyer (Enos), Catherine Bach (Daisy), Rick Hurst (Cletus), Ben Jones (Cooter) and James Best (Rosco), who were all guests at the DukesFest event. Footage of the event also includes a stunt show, profiles and pictures of individuals who own replicas of the General Lee, and even a hidden easter egg, showing the original cast clowning around with the crowd, led by Bach and Shooter Jennings, Waylon's son, who leads a sing-a-long of the DUKES theme.

Season 2 featured some of the DUKES OF HAZZARD's best episodes, including "Days of Shine and Roses," "People's Choice," "Granny Annie," "Find Loretta Lynn" and of course, "The Ghost of the General Lee," one of the best episodes of the entire series. A previous reviewer had a concern about "Carnival of Thrills" not being included here, but the episode did air in the third season, even though it was filmed late in the second. Photos that appear on the packaging of any TV on DVD set are usually not always just resigned to that particular season. And quite frankly, I saw the photo and on first glance, I didn't expect "Carnival of Thrills" to appear on this set, nor did I immediately associate the picture with that episode.

Highly recommended, and much looking forward to the release of seasons 3-7. I just hope we don't have to wait too long for Season 3 to appear.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
Well now i just can't believe what's happening with this show i mean i have been watching this show since i was a kid i mean they took it off of tv and now their taking everything with the rebel flag off the shelfs so get the dukes of hazard merchandise as fast as you can because Warner bros are taking them off the shelf and just think about all those dukes fans out their i mean season 1 is 100 dollars and last month in stores it was 10 dollars. plus they sell out fast the DVD's thats why I'm ordering mine today because this show is popular and everyone grew up watching this show.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2005
As a child of the 80s, I grew up watching the Dukes of Hazzard. I was a little too young to really appreciate the whole Daisy Duke look, but I remember jumping cars and bows and arrows as being cool. I think almost everything I owned had some connection to the Dukes of Hazzard. I remember crying when it went off the air.

Years later, in college and even after college, I started watching reruns of the show on different networks and only then did I realize just how cheesy this stuff was. Of course, for the time, it wasn't bad, but looking back now, some of the stories are just so unbelievably silly.

But that's what makes it such great television.

The complete second season of the Dukes of Hazzard is the first full season of the show. It ran a limited run of 13 episodes in the first season and when it became a hit, it was picked up for a full second season. The show follows cousins Bo, Luke and Daisy Duke and their Uncle Jesse in their constant mixups with the law, namely Boss Hogg and Sheriff Roscoe P. Coltrane. Mechanic Cooter Davenport and Deputy Enos Strait join the fray as well.

Tom Wopat and John Schneider play Luke and Bo. They spend much of their time trying to outrun Roscoe in their souped-up 1969 orange Dodge Charger, The General Lee. Schneider was actually too young to play the role of Bo, but lied about his age to get the audition and the creators loved him so he got the part. Both have gone on to have careers in the music business, but have stayed in the acting biz as well. Wopat shows up on Broadway and Schneider is currently playing Jonathan Kent on Smallville.

The late Denver Pyle is great as Uncle Jesse. A former moonshine runner, he gave up the racket to keep his nephews out of jail. He tends to the family's farm, dispenses advice and still has time to help the boys out of their scrapes.

Catherine Bach played Daisy, the short shorts wearing female star of the show. Some of her outfits were quite risque back in the day, but nowadays look tame. But, as a woman who could handle a car with the best of them, she fit right in on the back roads of Hazzard County.

County Commissioner JD Hogg was portrayed by the late Sorrell Booke. He and his brother in law, Sheriff Roscoe P. Coltrane, are constantly coming up with ways to catch the Dukes doing something illegal so they can put them in jail. Of course Boss Hogg is always looking to make a quick buck and the Dukes always want to stop him. As the sheriff, James Best is great. His dimwittedness is practically legendary in television history, but inside he has a big heart and that gets a chance to show in this season.

Ben Jones as Cooter and Sonny Shroyer as Enos round out the season two cast, but contract negotiations put a damper on some of the episodes. Cooter didn't appear in a number of different episodes and the same goes for Roscoe. While they both returned, it wasn't the same without them. And it wasn't nearly as bad as the season Bo and Luke left the show and were replaced by Vance and Coy. Aghh.

With extras that include a great look at DukesFest, a fan gathering in Tennessee, this is a solid set and worth the purchase, if only for a look back to see what we were watching in the 1980s.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2005
Here in the second season(the first full one) of THE DUKES OF HAZZARD,we see a different guitar played by the late Waylon Jennings(only his hands are seen). We still hear the same theme written and performed by Jennings,the off-screen narrator. Sonny Shroyer is officially part of the DOH cast now. He is Enos Strate,the Hazzard County deputy who still has romantic affections for Daisy Duke(Catherine Bach). Luke(Tom Wopat) and Bo Duke(John Schneider) are still escaping the clutches of J.D."Boss" Hogg(the late Sorrell Booke) and sheriff Roscoe Coltrane(James Best). And again,there's Uncle Jesse Duke(the late Denver Pyle) and Cooter Davenport(Ben Jones),a service station attendant. Also in the opening montage,we see Luke and Bo shooting arrows into a powder shack that explodes. This montage would be used thru the remainder of the series except for 1982-83 when Byron Cherry and Christopher Mayer filled the shoes of Wopat and Schneider when they abruptly left and later returned to DOH. We hear Wopat and Schneider yelling "Yee,hah!" at the end instead of their "Yee,hoo!" in the first season. In the closing montage is a new version of the instrumental closing theme.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2005
it's about time this show gets the recognition it deserves.

the fans will prove that.

this was a good natured television show.

not a racist statement!

the flag is cool!

to me it represents freedom and the beginning of the true America.

the only people saying racist remarks are the racists themselves.

if this is considered racist to you then you are the racist!

why burden yourself with hog wash?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
This series gets better and better I'm so sorry I never saw this as a kid I would always play during this show until the next show would come on which was the incredible hulk but I'm glad I have access to this these dukes are the nicest kindest people who would not fail to help there fellow man and woman and daisy omg looking at her you feel her free spirit and independence. this show has humor drama car chases music family oh yes and daisy (yes again) I am definitely completing my collection of this fantastic series heck I even brought the general lee from Johnny lighting on amazon and I'm sorry to hear of the actor who played Roscoe P Coltrane passing away now just getting in to this I feel the same hole in me as in losing a kin .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
I just recently discovered this show when my friend gave season1 on dvd for Christmas. Since then i fell in love with it and i'm going to buy all the seasons. This dvd collection is great! Great show.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2005
Warner Bros. should be proud of this product. Everything from the packaging to the great looking episodes themselves. Its very nicely done!! And, NO...I don't work for Warner Bros. As a long time Duke's fan, I've always felt that the 2nd Season was the best season overall. Its really great to see them all un-edited also. The most popular season of the Dukes is Season 3, with the "Carnival of Thrills", with a little luck, Warner Bros. will make that DVD later this year. Maybe for that DVD, the cast can be re-united again to talk about episodes from all of the released DVD's. Its always interesting to hear about memories from certain episodes from the cast! The Dukes 2nd Season DVD is excellent! Thanks.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.