Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


189 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - a scientific look at the advantages of dyslexia
Now "THIS" is the book I have been waiting for. As a dyslexic myself and the parent of at least one dyslexic (and gifted) child - this book is life changing, especially in terms of the educational outlook for my children. The Eides have done what so many "claim" to do in their books, but never really get there. They show clear, concrete, and proven advantages to the way...
Published on August 22, 2011 by D. A. J.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
This is a good book. Not my favorite, however it is very informative and has good information inside. I would recommend!
Published 10 months ago by nboom5


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

189 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - a scientific look at the advantages of dyslexia, August 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
Now "THIS" is the book I have been waiting for. As a dyslexic myself and the parent of at least one dyslexic (and gifted) child - this book is life changing, especially in terms of the educational outlook for my children. The Eides have done what so many "claim" to do in their books, but never really get there. They show clear, concrete, and proven advantages to the way the brain works for dyslexics, and shows why those advantages have "trade offs" when it comes to learning things such as reading, writing, and spelling. Basically, the way the dyslexic brain works, people with dyslexia tend to be much, much better than average in four particular areas - described as the M.I.N.D. areas. These cover things such as being able to see objects in 3D and manipulate them on ones mind (a great skill for Engineers, designers, builders, etc.), the ability to see advanced and complex connections between things (an amazing skill for systems engineers, entrepreneurs, psychologists, lawyers, etc.), amazing long term memory, etc. While these advantages are amazing, great, needed, and should be utilized to the best of ones ability - these advantages are there because the dyslexic brain is wired in such a way to support them. The down side is this wiring is the most inefficient way to learn the skills of reading, writing, and spelling. While those are true downsides, that doesn't mean dyslexic individuals can't learn to read, write, and spell - most do. The Eides just show a much better route to those skills.
Another BIG thing I love about this book is how they extensively cover accommodations (like speech-to-text software and digital books). In most dyslexic individuals, there will be a point in which one reaches diminishing returns in terms of reading, writing, and spelling - no matter how much intervention they won't get any better than that point. However, that doesn't mean their learning must stop - the proper accommodations will allow these individuals to reach their full potential in life. And surprisingly, the full potential of a dyslexic is actually more "successful" than a non-dyslexic. Dyslexic individuals are over represented in the top tiers among almost all professions - especially the sciences, engineering, and creative fields (writing, acting, art, music, etc.). Yes, dyslexics who struggle with reading and writing turn out to be amazing writers of everything from fiction to fantasy books (and I suppose one accommodation is hiring a good editor who can see past the spelling mistakes to the amazing content).
The last part of the book deals with the best ways of teaching reading, spelling, and writing to dyslexic individuals - from elementary to college to adults in the workplace. The advice and tips are amazing and I plan on incorporating many of them immediately into our homeschooling plans. They also cover proper accommodations depending on the skill and level of the individual. Another important point of this section is to also encourage the strengths of individuals with dyslexia. Again - there is going to be a point of diminishing returns in teaching reading and writing based skills - so also focus on those areas in which dyslexic individuals thrive.
Another area is the best educational options for gifted individuals. Now this will be the area many parents will struggle with. The truth is traditional school environments are NOT set up to accommodate dyslexic individuals. It isn't for lack of want, but many educational institutions just don't fully understand dyslexia for what it is, and what it isn't. As a result, the best fits for dyslexic students (at least for some time in their for educational years) might be special education classrooms (those that focus on education and not so much behavior I am assuming), schools that specialize in teaching dyslexic students, private schools that allow children to work at their own pace (think Sundry or Reggio or Montessori), and finally homeschooling.
The final chapter and another gem of this book is the resources section. It has websites and resources to cover the tips they described in the text.
A lot of thought and and research, and I believe passion and love went into this book. Again, it really will be a life changer for many individuals with dyslexia (heck, there is even a section that covers adult dyslexics in the workplace!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Especially helpful for parents of dyslexic children!, August 26, 2011
By 
S. Richter "a parent" (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
Any parent of a dyslexic child soon learns two things: 1) their child is very bright but thinks and learns differently from peers, 2) the educational system does not serve them very well. Our struggles as parents are often immense as we work to advocate for our dyslexic child in a society that, more often than not, discards a dyslexic intellect as inferior and unlikely to succeed in life. This wonderful book explains through example after example how the complete opposite is the case. Dyslexic minds may have troubles with conventional ways of "doing things" but it is for that reason that they have been the pivotal forces behind discoveries and innovations that have led our culture forward for centuries (if not millennia).

This book is not just for parents of dyslexic children, but for anyone who is interested in in deepening their understanding of the human mind/brain and especially those who are interested in correlations between mentation and society. This is an engaging read, full of beautiful thoughts by many of the most influential minds of contemporary society. The Eides (both MDs) bring their extensive knowledge together in a book unlike any other on the market. It will change the way you look, not just at dyslexics, but at how we, as a society, are all too quick to judge those who are "different".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forests of the Mind: Dyslexia, September 3, 2011
By 
Luiza Moreira (Vestal, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
This book is about how to see dyslexia as a forest, rather than as the trees or branches we are most familiar with: the humiliating branch of learning to read slowly, the embarrassing branch of illegible handwriting, the exasperating branch of never quite being able to recall a multiplication fact. When dyslexia is seen as a forest, it is, well -- breathtaking.

In the central section of the book, the Eides show that there are 4 broad patterns of strength in the dyslexic brain: Material thinking, helpful for engineers and others who need to visualize in 3-D; Interconnected thinking, great for seeing connections rather than simply facts in isolation; Narrative thinking, which is good not just for storytellers, and Dynamic thinking, a truly amazing skill to make predictions based on incomplete information. The 4 talents together spell: MIND. Yet those strengths are the flip side of the familiar, painful dyslexic challenges. The Eides devoted a chapter to each of the traits. First they discuss the strengths, then they move on to the trade-offs that come with each talent. Their discussions are clear, packed with information, and very logical. I learned a lot from this part of the book - and I knew a fair amount about dyslexia to begin with - but I needed to stop and think after each chapter. I found the logical and clear movement of their argument from strengths to challenges to be (again) breathtaking.

An introductory section of the book explores the neurological differences that underlie dyslexia, and includes fascinating summaries and discussions of recent research. The concluding section lists excellent resources for dyslexics, and will come in very handy to dyslexics and their families.

The Eides based this book on their broad knowledge of current research on dyslexia in various fields and countries, on their extensive clinical experience with dyslexics, but also on numerous fascinating interviews with dyslexics who figured out how to take advantage of their own talents. The result is an accessible and readable book. It is remarkable for its power of synthesis. _The Dyslexic Advantage_ paints a broad, flexible, yet very precise image of this vast forest, which only now we begin to see in its outlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best resource so far!, December 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
I'm 39 years old and ran my own landscaping business for 20
years. I all ways had problems with reading, writing and math. I failed the sixth grade and was sent off to boarding school. Unfortunately witih the bad economy I lost my business. Now it was time to face my demands once again. I tried going back to school to improve my skills, for some reason I thought
Things would be different. They weren't.

To make a long story short I've been through tons of testing over the years. They all said one thing, that I was lazy. I was tested again and was diagnosed as having dyslexia. I bought this book soon afterwards. It was one of the best resources I've come across yet. I found myself in so many instances. I think this book would be positive for anybody with this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctors Eide Get It Right, August 27, 2011
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
Many aspects of this book will captivate readers, as the authors have duplicated the engaging style shown in their earlier seminal work on The Mislabeled Child. The most useful construct about dyslexia is laid out early in this book, on page 17, when they write that the strengths and the challenges are two sides of the same neurological coin. Nor do the authors sugar-coat the fact that while strengths are to be celebrated and cultivated, weaknesses provide real challenges and hardships. Taken together, this is the paradigm shift that the authors are nudging.

The "MIND" acronym that the authors use to describe dyslexic strengths is innovative, and entire chapters explore each of these strengths with very specific examples. Many of these strengths are paradoxes, and it becomes obvious that the strengths are the areas least valued in traditional education, but are highly valued in our increasingly information rich and iconic society. Conversely, weak areas are those on which traditional education places the highest premiums.

As a developmental optometrist specializing in vision based learning and reading problems, I found the entire book useful and informative. Information on the visual aspects of dyslexia is brief, but succinct, and on pages 180-181 readers experiencing visual symptoms involving reading are advised to consult with a developmental optometrist who has training in this field. That is sage counsel, as is the rest of the advice and guidance given in this marvelous new work.

I hope that the ground-breaking ideas and resources put forward in this book find a wide audience, and congratulate Drs. Brock and Fernette Eide on a wonderfully researched and innovative approach to the complex processing style of individuals with dyslexia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Positive, August 27, 2011
By 
Denyse (Riverside, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the most positive perspective of dyslexia that I have ever known. They acknowledge truths about the dyslexic brain that everyone needs to be aware of. It makes me proud to be dyslexic. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, October 26, 2011
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
My 24yo dyslexic daughter is reading this book and says that is eerily good to read a book that can explain you to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awesome, the best book on dyslexia ever, September 18, 2013
By 
Megan (DENVER, CO, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Since I got diagnosed dyslexic as an adult, I've read/listened to every book I can find on it. This by far is the best book that I've found. The author has a tendency to become a bit cheesy at time by trying to give dyslexics their self esteem back after years of discrimination but he's absolutely accurate and scientific which I appricated. The authors describe the strengths and symptoms of dyslexia not just on their observation but on tested evidence. This is also the ONLY book that I have found that not only deals with dyslexia in children but ALSO dyslexia in adults. Dyslexia is not a disorder that can be "overcome" or "cured" (nor should anyone want to get rid of because of the improvements that it provides); it is a learning difference, caused by a structural difference in the brain, that can be harnessed for disaster or power in academics and life, depending on how one accommodates for it. This book describes perfectly how a dyslexic learns effectively whether in grade school or college (which I happen to be in now). I realized that my method for solving math problems where working against my dyslexia, by trying to memorize meaningless procedures. This poor method that seemed well enough until multivariable calculus, where I realized that I hadn't actually learned any concepts of mathematics to use in complex problems. I was brute forcing a battle with my dyslexia my entire life when should have been using a better method to work with my dyslexia. Such as working backwards from the answer to learn the procedure in my notes and to give a narrative to the concepts that I should have learned. These methods they describe are invaluable and actually would have help every level of learning of my life if I had only understood this sooner. Everyone should read this book, teachers, parents, coworkers, employees, and especially the dyslexic themselves immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS BOOK IS A "MUST READ" FOR ANYONE DEALING WITH DYSLEXIA, October 24, 2011
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
This book is FANTASTIC! It offers hope and so much reason for optimism, even in the face of the challenges dyslexia presents. Not only does the book give some scientific explanations for dyslexia, but it gives practical suggestions on how to teach dyslexics using their strengths. It is a book that really does focus on the many POSITIVE attributes that many dyslexic people exhibit....

The book uses the acronym "MIND" to explain 4 key areas that dyslexics may excel in:
M is for Material Reasoning (a 3-D spatial advantage)
I is Interconnected Reasoning (strengths in perceiving relationships between things)
N is Narrative Reasoning (ability to construct mental scenes from fragmented memories)
D is Dynamic Reasoning (power of prediction)

There is an explanation of different types of Memory, not just long term and short term/working memories... Long term they further break down into Declarative (facts about the world) and Procedural (ie, rules and procedures) AND then they discuss Declarative Memory as breaking into Episodic/Personal Memory and Semantic/Impersonal Memory. The book gives an example of how "tears taste salty" may be recalled either as something you've experienced (an Episodic/Personal recollection) or a fact you know without knowing where it came from (Semantic/Impersonal recollection.)

There are positive recommendations made to some other experts' helpful books and methodologies for improving reading and writing, and suggestions for thriving in different settings, such as high school, college, and the workplace. The end of the book is filled with pages of resources and accommodations. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT EVERY FAMILY WITH A DYSLEXIC MEMBER GET THIS BOOK, AND IT WOULD BE GREAT FOR TEACHERS TO READ IT, TOO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful text for educators that serve dyslexic students, September 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain (Hardcover)
This is a really important book for educators who work with dyslexic kids. It provides a set of clues to look for when trying to understand why a particular child may be struggling, and suggestions on what accommodations might work. But the most important message here is that teachers can best serve kids by identifying areas of strength and using those strengths to help them become more of who they already are, instead of trying to turn them into something they're not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Dyslexic Advantage: Unlocking the Hidden Potential of the Dyslexic Brain
Used & New from: $8.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.