Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the ball...
This summer I am teaching for the first time an economics course at the local community college. The reputation of this course is such that many people dread it - some take it multiple times, and find it difficult to relate to the subject. Business A making X number of widgets has to respond to Community B exhibiting a demand curve that goes like this... There's not a...
Published on May 22, 2007 by FrKurt Messick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Economic of sports
The book was a very easy read and insightful but the topic just did not interest me as much as i thought it would. If you are a big baseball or football fan you would enjoy this
Published on January 3, 2013 by Stephanie Pustejovsky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the ball..., May 22, 2007
This summer I am teaching for the first time an economics course at the local community college. The reputation of this course is such that many people dread it - some take it multiple times, and find it difficult to relate to the subject. Business A making X number of widgets has to respond to Community B exhibiting a demand curve that goes like this... There's not a lot for people to grab on to for interest in that, even if they are pursuing business degrees. It is all too theoretical.

Enter this book. I found `The Economics of Sports', by Michael Leeds and Peter von Allmen while taking a topics class in economics at the graduate level. It presents much of the basic theory that one would cover in an economics course, but puts it all in the context of sports. This is sure to get the attention of many (albeit, alas, not all) of the students in the class much more so than widgets and `Business A'.

This book has a decidedly North American slant to it - the primary examples come from Major League Baseball (MLB, and the attendant minor leagues), the National Football League (NFL), the National Hockey League (NHL), and the National Basketball Association (NBA). Within the context of these, topics such as wages and salaries, productivity, internal and external negativities, private vs. public funding, training costs, profit margins, along with simple ideas of supply and demand are covered. The ideas of how a monopoly might work, how reduced competition or restricted trade affects sports and their communities, and what happens with regard to college and amateur athletics (Olympics, among other things) get involved, are covered.

Organised in five broad topics, the book covers:

Economic concepts (a brief overview)

The Industrial Organisation of Sports

Public Finance and Sports

The Labor Economics of Sports

Sports in the Not-for-Profit Sector

Each of these areas is subdivided into smaller chapters. Each chapter ends with a biographical sketch, of someone important not only in sports, but in the development of sports as an ongoing business and institution.

This text does draw in some international angles, particularly in sports that have a broader appeal (soccer, professional golf, etc.). It also allows for various departures - for example, The Economist magazine recently had an article on the attempt in the Caribbean for hosting a World Cup of Cricket, and the problems that arose with that: oversupply of tickets, hotel rooms and other tourist amenities, a large public expenditure in stadium facilities and marketing efforts, a drop in demand when key teams failed to advance in the finals (India, Pakistan, and England, for three), and a host of other issues that relate very directly to the topics in the text.

As the book indicates at the start, sports and sports-related concerns are big business, not only in monetary terms, but also in community terms. Most major newspapers and local newspapers around the world have a sports section, and a good number of the articles in these sections address economic issues, from player salaries to facilities building, and are themselves tapping into the economics of sports by selling papers and advertising space. Indeed, as Leeds and von Allmen indicate, sport is the only major business with its own dedicated newspaper space (and often, broadcast news category) of all the various businesses in the world. That makes it worth exploring in more detail.

This is a textbook rather than a general interest book. Stephen Hawking made the observation that his publishers felt that for every equation in a book, it cut the readership in half. This book is filled with equations, charts and graphs that relate to the economics topics. However, while these are important, they are not crucial to the reader being able to understand the broad strokes of the economics of sports. There are appendices with more complicated ideas (utility functions, indifference curves, regression analysis, game theory, competitive balance, the time value of money, etc.) for the more advanced reader or student, but as the authors indicate in their preface, `to make the text accessible, we have written it assuming that students have had one semester of microeconomic principles.'

This text, in the dry world of economics texts (it isn't called `the dismal science' for nothing), is a very welcome one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just about the same as the 5th, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Economics of Sports, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
This has the same content and many of the same questions asked in the fifth addition. Save yourself $200 and get this on for $10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased this for class..., July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Economics of Sports, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my Sports Econ class. I purchased a new book, and it arrived in perfect condition. I took a 5 week summer course, but did not need to use this book much. It has good information and covered the majority of topics covered in class. I thought the book made a few topics seem more complicated to understand than it really should have been. It also doesn't seem to have any resale value at book stores. Our campus bookstore wouldn't buy it and half-price books offered just $2 for it. I'm sure there's an updated edition so I would only recommend buying a used copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Economic of sports, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Economics of Sports, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
The book was a very easy read and insightful but the topic just did not interest me as much as i thought it would. If you are a big baseball or football fan you would enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Economics of Sports, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
It was a used book but I was be able to use well and made good grade I wanted to get. thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, August 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the book was in great quality and i received it quickly. it was a great experience since this was my first time buying from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars typical school book..., March 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Buy it for class, use it, and then sell it to get most of your money back... Its not something you will want to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Economics of Sports textbook, March 5, 2009
By 
M. Hoyt (S.L.C. Utah) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good communication in terms of shipping/tracking confirmation. Book arrived in reasonable time span. No problem with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Economics of Sports, 4th Edition
The Economics of Sports, 4th Edition by Michael Leeds (Hardcover - January 16, 2010)
Used & New from: $31.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.