Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that tought me color.
Itten's analysis and application of color is thoughtful and scientific. As a practicing art director, I have successfully used the theories and methods explained in "Elements of Color" for over twenty years. I also teach them to my design classes. Whether you use a paintbrush or a mouse, his "seven color contrasts" will prove invaluable.
Published on May 11, 2000 by jim kelley

versus
117 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the Serious...
It's been difficult to give a balanced critique. On one hand, "Elements of Color" has a wealth of information, but on the other, it takes serious committment to fully understand and comprehensively apply the information Itten presents. There is much valuable data, but it's interspersed with almost stereotypic, outmoded "Teutonic" concepts; e.g. assigning "Blond Types"...
Published on August 12, 2006 by H. P. Tellez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that tought me color., May 11, 2000
By 
jim kelley (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
Itten's analysis and application of color is thoughtful and scientific. As a practicing art director, I have successfully used the theories and methods explained in "Elements of Color" for over twenty years. I also teach them to my design classes. Whether you use a paintbrush or a mouse, his "seven color contrasts" will prove invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for the Serious Colorist, January 26, 2002
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
I have been a professor for 15 years. "The Elements of Color" has been required reading for many of my courses. It is not only enriching as a color theory document, but it helps expand the artist or designers possibility of using, arranging and conceiving color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars colour miracle, March 7, 2000
By 
carmel (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
I took an art course to learn about colour and learnt nothing. Then I read this book...It answered all my questions and informed me about areas of colour theory I had never dreampt of. Now I paint with knowledge and confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so you decided to learn the truth about colors..., July 24, 2006
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
Itten, himself is one of the greatest color theorist of our century, and the masterful mind behind the Bauhaus School.

In this book Itten describes his color theory and the facts of his famous "Color Star", which is one of the most strongest tools for color harmony for designers and alike.

Most color books have samples of color harmonies you choose from when you design, or talk about complementary colors, but cant tell you why u use such combinations or so.

If you have an analytical approach to design, rather than just copying what others do, you will love this book. You will begin to understand the language of colors.

Have u ever heard of "the Seven Color Contrast", if not then it is time for you to get familiar about it.

This book is an evaluation of Ittens masterpiece "Art of Color". The chapter on subjective experience of color is very limited in this book.

If you are willing to invest more on color matters buy "Art of Color"

If you are happy to stay with the basics then this book is adequate for your purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the Serious..., August 12, 2006
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
It's been difficult to give a balanced critique. On one hand, "Elements of Color" has a wealth of information, but on the other, it takes serious committment to fully understand and comprehensively apply the information Itten presents. There is much valuable data, but it's interspersed with almost stereotypic, outmoded "Teutonic" concepts; e.g. assigning "Blond Types" springtime, bright, vivid colored topics, while "Dark Types" should be assigned "Night, Burial and dark room" topics. There is much valuable, technical information, but it is like digging through hard stone to find the gold; overwrought and culturally centered, judgemental statements are very common ("red expresses intermediate degrees between the infernal and sublime"... what's this?!?!). Other statements seem value-laden, i.e., "sentimental blue", "angelic pink", "blue reigns supreme"... Some excuse may be found in realizing the concepts in this treatise may have been developed before the Post Modernist Age, which accepts cultural and ethnic diversity, that accepts art and the use of color as being open to various interpretations, that color is certainly relative and greatly subjective, that many statements about color are only opinions... and that there is no absolute truth as to what color is "right" or "wrong". Unless the reader is studious and very serious about trying to unearth the information contained in this book, he or she is much better served by studing Albers or others. Too bad there is no editing, no index, and no glossary. What would Itten think of the book, "Chromophobia"? ... Pablo Tellez
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition has Black and white images?!, December 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen printed versions of this book and I've been thinking about getting it for a while. Never in my wildest dreams did I think the kindle version would be in black and white. When discussong color and showing diagrams showing the actual colors really helps. I am soo soo disappointed with this purchase. The books content itself is amazing but I'm going to rethink ordering ebooks from amazon in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book to have, November 3, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
I purchased this book because I wanted to understand colors, color schemes and theory(ies) better in order to apply to my necklace designs. It's a good book to have in your library, but it won't answer all the questions you may have about some applications. Itten's other books however cover pretty much everything; try The Art of Color, for example, if you'd like learn more about color effects on moods/feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Color from a master, July 14, 2006
By 
Anna M. Appleby (Socorro, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
Although witten for artists who mix colors for an effect, this small book has a wealth of information for fiber artists and quilters. How do translucent colors interact with other colors? Illusions in color? Which colors can be used in conjunction with other shades and tints? It is all here in this book. Many illustration,color plates,and well written text.

Very scientific, but easily readable. Good reference book on color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars johannes said it all ! PERIOD., November 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color (Hardcover)
JUST UPON READING THE INTRO/FOREWORD OF THE BOOK, YOU WILL KNOW WHO THE AUTHOITY IS WHEN IT COMES TO COLOR + COMMON SENSE.ITTEN ANALYZES EVERY PART, FROM THE VIEW OF THE COMMON MAN,THE PAINTER, PHYSICIST, PSYCHOLOGIST, HISTORIAN AND MORE. THIS IS ALL I NEED IN MY ARTISTIC ATTIC. W/ THIS AS MY GASOLINE,I WOULD NEVER BE CALLED IGNORANT WHEN IT COMES TO GRINDING & MIXING MY OWN PERSONAL COLORS! EVER !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way over my head!, September 6, 2012
By 
BKR, PA. (Allison Park, PA., US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was recommended by an instructor. I am new to this crazy pursuit of oil painting. My instructor called this her "bible" of color theory, but I honestly didn't understand much of it. Way too detailed, written in language that may be appropriate for someone who has a degree in fine art or art education, but certainly not for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Johannes Itten Based on His Book the Art of Color
Used & New from: $15.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.