Customer Reviews


1,025 Reviews
5 star:
 (814)
4 star:
 (132)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


508 of 536 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Writer's Tool.
When I write a book I use only a handful of reference tools: dictionary, thesaurus, Gregg's Reference Handbook, Writers Market, and the Elements of Style. Strunk and White is a wonderfully-written, extraordinarily concise tool that pays homage to classic high-end English. It takes language insight to make this prediction in 1979: "By the time this paragraph makes print,...
Published on August 27, 2001 by Christopher B. Jonnes

versus
174 of 206 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably does more harm than good.
This short, classic book is essentially a collection of the bits and pieces of advice that Prof. Strunk (and later his student, New Yorker editor E. B. White) considered most important some 50 years ago. Much of what they say is wise and useful -- as far as it goes. The problem is that too many people, especially people whose jobs require writing, think that Strunk...
Published on March 31, 2002 by Zeldock


‹ Previous | 125 26 27103 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very direct, and good for such writing., April 16, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
For writing that is clear and concise, "The Elements of Style" is definitive. Unlike most books used in English classes, this book has soul. It is short, but imparts a lot of information and understanding. It is written in the urgent manner of someone who wants to convey a message clearly. It uses short and direct sentences like these. It is not good for all writing, but it is excellent for informative writing. It will probably not help in most essay assignments for English classes, though; anyone who follows its guidelines will say all that they need to say in few words, which tends to upset some teachers. I can't see why, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jyl Scislow- Author of Moral Hazard-A Wall Street Thriller, October 5, 2010
A must in any writer's collection. I began writing with this book at my side and referred to it often when writing Moral Hazard-A Wall Street Thriller. Don't take everything too seriously though. Use your own judgement with your style and always read your writing out loud. Modern writers aren't so concerned with "correctness" as writer's used to be. Use this book as a guideline. And if you stray, it should be because of a conscious effort to do so, having known the "correct" way to write because you read Strunk and White's, The Elements of Style.Moral Hazard - A Wall Street Thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Your English Teacher Didn't Tell You, May 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Why didn't they tell us this stuff in school? You cannot read-and-forget this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., December 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
If you've made it far enough to read this book, then you are without a doubt the exact person who should buy this book. If you're looking for a good book about grammar, then this is the one book you should buy if you're only going to buy one book on grammar. If you don't have a book on grammar, then this should be your starting point. If you have a lot of books on grammar and writing well but don't have this book, then you need to buy this book because you'll still find benefit from it.

Wonderful book. It's simple and concise but has important rules that we should all strive to master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for writers!, March 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
I was thinking about starting an editing business out of my home, so I purchased this with that in mind. Well, I never did get around to editing, but I still read and re-read this book -- many times. In fact, both my adult children bought copies for themselves. One was in college at the time, the other just enjoyed the book enough to want a copy for herself.

This is a great book that would make a fantastic gift for a high-schooler, or someone in college, as well as the linguist in your life.

My copy is now dogeared, and very much worn. It is time I bought another copy for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Concise, high yield look at writing style. Perhaps a smidge out of date though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re "Elements of Style"., January 30, 2006
This review is from: The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
Excellent pocket guide to proper grammar and format for basic writing styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, August 2, 2004
This review is from: The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
The classic case for clarity as the primary virtue in prose. I can't add anything to what has already been said here about it.

If you are interested in reading a brilliant argument for the opposite case--that demanding clarity does not produce better writing; that teaching rhetoric & stylistics, emphasizing writing as play, as aesthetic bliss, is the key to producing more readable prose--then check out "Style: An Anti-Textbook" by Richard A. Lanham. It's a brilliant, quirky book with arguments worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Pure Classic Grammar Style, January 23, 2011
Whether you're having trouble re-writing, proofreading, mispronouncing any words sound similar or familiar or whatever, this one can you through to get better and good understanding. First got into it sometime ago and its the best. Another book I recommend too is Stephen King's On Writing: 10th Anniversary Edition: A Memoir of the Craft, still a great read!

If you wanted to be a success in writing like doing novels, scripts, articles (offline or online), reports, etc., this can help you more and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read This and Write Well, My Child, September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every writer, every student, every parent of a student, every professional of every kind who might only write a letter or email ONCE a year SHOULD READ THIS BOOK. Easy to understand, this book gets right to the point and improves your writing immediately. No babbling, no rambling. Just solid advice we all can use. Solid examples we all can understand.

If you want to write well, you have to read this tiny book. When people like Stephen King say it is essential reading, you KNOW it is an important book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 27103 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition
The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition by E. B. White (Paperback - August 2, 1999)
$9.95 $6.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.