Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series ever
I bought the 39 Clues for my grandson, but I must admit that Nana has gotten hooked and can't wait for the 10th book. I just love the writing and the story and will miss the characters when I am done
Published on June 29, 2010 by Linda S. Rentz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book with no contents
this book was great and all. But I didn't get the cards which sucks. So I would buy this from someone who put the cards with it.
Published on February 4, 2012 by whawhawha


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series ever, June 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
I bought the 39 Clues for my grandson, but I must admit that Nana has gotten hooked and can't wait for the 10th book. I just love the writing and the story and will miss the characters when I am done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book in an incredible series, June 14, 2010
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
Gordon Korman does an amazing job on this 8th book in this unique, creative series. The Cahills, Amy and Dan, start in China and the book ends with them heading off to the Caribbean in search of pirates. The main historical figures featured in this volume are the last emperor of China, Puyi, and a British climber named George Mallory. But they also travel back and forth across China and encounter different aspects of Chinese history. Dan and Amy finally think they find out what clan of the Cahill family they belong to. They have a fight and get separated in Tiananmen Square. Some of the family seems to be helping them and some they still mistrust.

This is the first series I have read that was written in such a way - 7 authors in 10 books in under 2 years. The individual books are good but collectively they are great. If you combine the books with the online games and clue hunt, you have an amazing experience for children of all ages. I started reading these books because the concept was so unique and interesting. I keep reading them because they are so well written. The gift and skill of the authors contributing to this series amazes me, each picking up from the previous book and continuing the series while keeping true to the characters and the overall story arc. This series is truly wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to what the series should be!, April 7, 2010
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
Wow, this was such a great read. Before I get to the review, I want to give Gordon Korman props for this book. This is back to what the series should be, and what is expected to be. He did a fantastic job.

Dan, Amy Nellie are in China in search of a clue. It stated when they were on a plane, and everybody was watching the same movie, except for Amy and Dan. They had a special movie, one only that was played for them. In it, they spot something, a sort of secret message, for them, if they saw it, and they did. That lead them to the first clue in China. In the process of solving the clue, it leads them throughout China. Solving the clue is hard, but it's not the hardest thing they have to face. Dan and Amy have to solve the clues apart. I don't want to say to much, but Dan and Amy are separated from each other, and as usual, people are after them. That's all I really wanted to say on the plot, because I don't want to spoil anything.

What also makes this book so great to read is that it has wonderful characterization. Korman puts a lot of the focus on Jonah Wizard, and I'm glad that Korman did that. In the past few books, The young hip-hip-tv star has been missing from the books, and it was nice to see him again. He plays a pretty big role in the book, again, I don't want to say to much. Speaking of characterization, we're able to get into the thoughts of one character (I won't say who) but they've come to terms with who and what they are, and don't want to be in the race anymore, but certain forces are keeping that person in the race. It was nice to see the inside thoughts and feelings of that person.

Korman turned the series to what is should have been, and some of the books haven't done that. He had clues that Amy and Dan had to solve, kept historic elements in the book, but it wasn't overdone. It was a nice blend of mystery and history. That was a very nice touch.

Korman also did something that no other author has done in the series. He left a secret message with in the book. It's easy to follow, if you pay attention and put everything together. It was such a nice touch to add a hidden message in a book that deals with clues. Ways to go!

This has some nice plot twists that will keep the reader glued to the pages. I'm glad to see what Korman did with this book. He brought it back to the basics, and to what it should, and how it was meant to be. Nice job!

If you continue with this adventure, I know you won't be sorry, I sure wasn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book with no contents, February 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
this book was great and all. But I didn't get the cards which sucks. So I would buy this from someone who put the cards with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book in the Series So Far!, May 1, 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
"But Jeroboam caused an ambush to go around behind them; so they were in front of Judah, and the ambush was behind them. And when Judah looked around, to their surprise the battle line was at both front and rear; and they cried out to the LORD, and the priests sounded the trumpets. Then the men of Judah gave a shout; and as the men of Judah shouted, it happened that God struck Jeroboam and all Israel before Abijah and Judah." -- 2 Chronicles 13:13-15 (NKJV)

After several books in a series, a pattern is established that's so clear that the average reader could write the next page pretty accurately without any notes. While such predictability makes a story rewarding by delivering what's expected, it also causes the experience to lose its tastiness . . . much like food without seasoning seems quite bland.

The publishers of the 39 Clues books made a brilliant decision to change authors from one book to another (while having some repeat after a few books) so that there is more variety. That decision paid off beautifully for readers of The Emperor's Code. This book really rocks!

If you have been reading the earlier seven books, you've come to expect a visit to a new country in each book and several references to the new clue. Along the way, there's some double-dealing among the competing contestants. There will probably be an entry into some forbidding place where more secrets are hidden and revealed.

If that's what you expect from The Emperor's Code, you have some nice surprises ahead of you. The formula is shaken up in a way that makes the whole story line seem fresher and more interesting. I felt like I was back at the beginning of the first book when Amy and Dan had to decide whether to give up a million dollars each to engage in the contest. The story has more action and excitement than any other two books in the series.

But the best part was . . . this book has some real surprises that you'll enjoy. I won't say more.

Get this book today and have a ball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Litland.com loves 39 Clues Book 8: The Emperor's Code!, April 28, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
One thing about this series...no matter who the author, you can count on a little humor to lighten up the adventure! Book 8 starts off with comments like Dan's lament "There's an international conspiracy to bore me." And while other books have bad guys chasing good guys, does the good guy almost get made into a lollipop?

Amy and Dan are understandably having to adjust to finding out that they belong to the Madrigal family, renowned evil-doers. Then finding that their parent's aliases in Africa had criminal reputations was crushing. But deep inside remained hope, the hope that they, their parents, and their beloved grandmother were really the good guys. Any other series might have the characters longing to be evil with its false sense of power and control. This is an example of how good overshadows evil continuously throughout the story.

See our review using character education criteria at [...] and our commentary for discussion at [...] , we highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Solid Piece of the Mystery, May 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
Such a great series of books! It is amazing how the various authors can stay true to the story and deliver 8 excellent books in a row. We are looking forward to the two final books of the series.
This series works for both the avid reader and the reluctant reader from age 7+. The characters in the story make it attractive to both girls and boys. This mystery/adventure goes way beyond the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew- more exciting, more current, and more educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because It's There, April 19, 2010
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
Dan and Amy Cahill are up to their faces in mysteries. And now they're on a flight to China as book number eight, THE EMPEROR'S CODE, in the New York Times bestselling series THE 39 CLUES, begins. The only lead they have to go on is a vague symbol painted in the background of an old movie, THE LAST EMPEROR, and that might even be just a false lead. And with the many branches of the Cahill family out to steal their clues and murder them both, every step forward could be their last. But when Dan and Amy are separated from each other - they both have to face the reality: either find each other, or find the next clue and risk losing the only family they have left.

Gordon Korman is not new to THE 39 CLUES. He also authored book number two, ONE FALSE NOTE, which had felt somewhat off track after Rick Riordan's first entry, THE MAZE OF BONES. I was a bit worried if Korman could pull off another book in the series, but he definitely did, and this one ranks as one of the best so far. The writing is crisp and moves along, just like any other book in the series, but what really shines here is the deeper characterizations that sometimes felt lacking in previous books. Dan and Amy are really explored as they separate from each other on the hunt, and it was a very unique opportunity for Korman to be able to reach inside their heads and give us more of their fears and thoughts about the things that have happened to them both. But he doesn't skimp out on the humor, action, or puzzles. And in some ways, the danger was all the more real as they travel into some of their most dangerous situations yet.

While the casual reader will enjoy this next book in the series, those who want to dive a little deeper will find some very intriguing puzzles fitted into the book itself. One code hidden throughout the volume will likely be one of the most shocking clues yet to the overarching storyline of the series, while a couple of other small clues hidden on the front cover will provide some hints that have yet to be understood. Also, the ending note that is usually just a general letter to some branch of the Cahill family mentioning they "Stop Dan and Amy" is something very different this time - and it makes me wonder if there is a huge twist that, in typical Riordan style, is almost impossible to see coming.

All said, THE 39 CLUES series is one of those once-in-a-publishing-lifetime events that comes along and really creates something out of itself, with ingenious references to historical figures, unique puzzles and clues, and all building up to something that promises to be truly astounding. With only two more books to go, things are definitely on a swift-moving track, and all we can know for certain is the end is very, very near.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) (Hardcover)
This book is great! I really like it! The series is amazing. This is my favorite series to date. I like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, May 31, 2014
By 
Charles L. Sterling (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an awesome book. I've read a lot of this series, but this is so far my very favorite. These books cost a lot of money, so if you plan on reading them all, I suggest that you go to your public library. I hope you find this review helpful. Remember, trust no one . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8)
The Emperor's Code (The 39 Clues, Book 8) by Gordon Korman (Hardcover - April 6, 2010)
$12.99 $9.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.