Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darwin Meets Corperate Culture
"Nobody Dies" That is what James Harris (David Dastmalchian) tells the group of 4 other applicants when he discovers that in order to win a job at the mysterious "Cacharais Corporation" they must murder each other until only one remains. These are the brutal circumstances put forth by "The Employer." Will they try to make it out together alive. Or will their own fragile...
Published 15 months ago by Matt Robinson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big hype - little delivery
Been looking for this movie for a while and have to say I had high hopes for this one with Malcolm in the cast. Poor acting by everyone else and s***ty ending. I'll stick with MM's other great work.... clockwork orange and such.
Published 6 months ago by LXA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darwin Meets Corperate Culture, June 6, 2013
By 
Matt Robinson (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Employer (DVD)
"Nobody Dies" That is what James Harris (David Dastmalchian) tells the group of 4 other applicants when he discovers that in order to win a job at the mysterious "Cacharais Corporation" they must murder each other until only one remains. These are the brutal circumstances put forth by "The Employer." Will they try to make it out together alive. Or will their own fragile natures ensure their demise. Through flashback we see each of the characters interviews with the mysterious Employer (Malcolm MacDowell) here we see their strengths, but more importantly their weakness as we start to guess the order in which they will die. In addition to everyman James there is the seemingly sweet and naïve Sandra (Paige Howard), the stylish grad student Billie (Katerina Mikailenko) the fast talking huckster Keith (Michael DeLorenzo) and the gentle giant Mike (Matthew Willig) he was ample brains in addition to brawn. After James implores them to not kill each other tensions arise and insecurity about survival takes over. Twists abound and I was left guessing until the very end. Add in a cameo from Billy Zane and you have a great thriller that utilizes character development and suspense not cheap gore. It reminded me of "Die Hard" in the way that it was the characters own wits and faults, not super human powers that propelled the action. I would definitely recommend this well-acted thriller to not just horror and suspense fans, but any fan of well-crafted independent cinema!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great psychological thriller, June 18, 2013
By 
Shirls (Claremont, CA, US) - See all my reviews
"The Employer" is a great psychological thriller. It's about five total strangers locked in a room together. They find out they are candidates up for the same position at a company and this is their final interview. To sum it up, last one alive gets the job. Scary how real fear turns you, and the others, into a killer rather quickly. After watching this movie, I don't think I want to land any job interviews! I thought the cast was great. All were very convincing. Malcolm McDowell is of course, very good at being a demented puppet master of sorts. I recommend watching this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to top form for Malcolm McDowell, May 29, 2013
By 
Jack K. (Pasadena, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Employer (DVD)
I've seen this film twice: first at the Illinois International Film Festival, where it won Best Thriller, and again at the Los Angeles Film Awards, where it won several awards, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor (Malcolm McDowell) and the Audience Choice Award. This movie deserves the accolades, it's a well-made film with a smart script and a lot of cool plot twists. It's not a big budget film, but they made the most of what they had. The performances are all really great, especially Malcolm McDowell as the title character. He has a way of being funny and scary at the same time. In the first half of the film, he appears mostly in flashbacks, but near the end, he takes over the narrative and really owns it. The Horror News Network gave this film a five star review and called McDowell's character "the most sociopathic Human Relations director the corporate world has ever seen." That's right on the money. If his character Alex from "A Clockwork Orange" had lived another forty years and climbed his way up the corporate ladder, he'd be The Employer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Employer Movie, June 25, 2013
This movie is very character driven. As opposed to Saw or other concepts about "fight to the death" films, The Employer brings more perspective than gore. If you like character pieces and thrillers that keep you amped this is a must see. I enjoyed this movie very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller!, September 7, 2013
By 
s. kraus (park ridge, il United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just finished watching this movie--it was GREAT! I love Malcolm McDowell, and he was at his best evil self in this film. The other actors were so good, too, and I loved the script. At first I didn't think it would be so intense, but I was wrong--this movie has so many great twists and turns! If you love Malcolm and thrillers, you've found a winner of a movie--start watching it right now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big hype - little delivery, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Employer (DVD)
Been looking for this movie for a while and have to say I had high hopes for this one with Malcolm in the cast. Poor acting by everyone else and s***ty ending. I'll stick with MM's other great work.... clockwork orange and such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm McDowell is great in this film! Small film big acting!, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Employer (DVD)
I am a fan if indies and many times you watch them and the audio is poor, the camera work and lighting are poor. The Employer's production quality is great. I would watch anything Malcolm McDowell is in. One of the greater actors of our time! Check this little indie out and have some scary fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong Indie Film, August 22, 2013
This review is from: The Employer (DVD)
I'm a big fan of independent film because it takes a lot more creativity, skill and talent to make a great film when you DON'T have MILLIONS of dollars in funding. It just doesn't make sense to compare this film to a big budget Hollywood movie - you either appreciate the craft of filmmaking or you prefer to be manipulated by cheap effects and expensive soundtracks.

I saw this at the Illinois Independent Film festival last year. The acting is stellar and I really liked the writing - not that the storyline is original, because I don't think there are ANY truly original stories - but because of the detailed character development, exciting plot twists, intelligent, multi-dimensional dialogue and clever wit - that's what makes a great script. In my opinion, this would be a great screener for a indy film club, a movie night and even for a film class discussion. There's a very good reason that Malcolm McDowell chose to do this film and it obviously wasn't for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JUST LIKE GARDENING,, July 12, 2013
This review is from: The Employer (DVD)
This is another five men enter one man leaves film. This has become a popular genre due to the pyschological element and the low budget aspect. In this film five people are competing for one job position. They are abducted and placed in a cell. They agree not to kill each other... blah blah blah.

To break up the cell action, there are flashbacks to their interviews and abductions. They are all asked the same question, "Is there anything you wouldn't do for this company?"

Malcolm McDowell, one of my "B" movie favorites plays the role of the employer. Although what owner of a large corporation conduct their own hiring interviews?

There are better "let's kill each other" films out there.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex. No nudity. Rental Only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Employer, June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Employer
89 min
Thriller
June 7, 2013
USA
Director: Frank Merle
Writer: Frank Merle
Stars: Malcolm McDowell, David Dastmalchian, Paige Howard

"The Employer" is not a new story concept in surviving in a group influenced by outside forces, but a slight twist. Five candidates are vying for the same job with a high-powered corporation. They are informed they will be tested, only to find themselves trapped in a room fighting for survival, as only one candidate will get the job. In fact tell me it doesn't sound a lot like "Exam". In EXAM eight people try for a highly sought-after JOB. They are locked up together in a room and given one hour to finish their exam. The exam is a blank piece of paper so they reflect on what they were told and the eight candidates soon realize their only competition isn't the exam, but each other and a fight to the death. There are at least a half dozen movies out there using roughly the same premise of a group of people either trying to gain a job or some other item or they are trapped together in unusual circumstances. The cast including Malcolm McDowell and Billy Zane in this newest version is quite good in acting, camara work, sets and effects, directing, and music. Worth at least a rental, but before you decide to buy be sure to catch at least some of the others. I enjoyed this movie and am surprised at the negative votes just because I pointed out the story isn't new. I bought the Amazon Digital version. I want to thank Jack K. for pointing out a couple more to me that I hadn't seen (The Killing Room and The Chaos Experiment).

Recommendations: Exam, The Killing Room [Blu-ray], Fermat's Room, Ten Little Indians, Would You Rather, The Cabin In The Woods [Blu-ray + UltraViolet Digital Copy], Cube, Saw, The Collector, and Thirteen Ghosts

CA Luster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Employer
The Employer by Frank Merle (DVD - 2013)
$19.99 $3.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.