Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The End (The Ausländer Series Book 1)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 14, 2012
This book had a lot of potential: good prologue, interesting, initial set up. However, even flipping between England and United States was confusing, (although that could have been the fault of the editing) characters and circumstances that at first were intriguing, did not maintain my interest. The pay off at the end, did not satisfyingly connect with the long, involved and scattered plot details.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
It is not the kind of story line I expected. It got confusing to where I could not keep with the story line. The end of book had no actual finish.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2012
I truly enjoyed this book and could not put it down once I began to read, in fact the Kindle could not turn the page fast enough.
An interesting concept with good strong characters I hope the whole series comes on the free books section although I am sure they will be worth buying.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
While it may start out a bit slow if you stick with it you will find that it is a diamond in the rough. The story has a great concept and the characters are well thought out. However, at times it may seem to have been a bit too ambitious it is still worthwhile reading. Give Dave Lacey a try, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
This book had me hooked from the start.
The story opens in 1965 in Mexico with a Prologue to the main story and then moves into the current day. There are several threads to follow both in England and America which although seemingly unrelated, lead the reader towards the conclusion of the book.
The characters in this novel are very well developed, especially Detective Jack Sumner, who is down to earth with a good sense of humour. The dialogue between Jack and his partner Smithy is particularly well written, giving the reader an excellent view of their relationship and insight into their respective characters.
Throughout the story, the author maintains the suspense, and although light is shed on various situations, the full story isn't revealed until the very end of the book.
This is an exception novel from a debut author and I look forward to the next book in the trilogy which is due out later this year.
The author has been reading Jo Nesbo who I am a great fan of, and I will now read Conn Iggulden because of his recommendation.

Well done, Dave Lacey, I cannot praise this book highly enough.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
I came to Dave Lacey's book under the impression that it was a vanilla detective story. However, the book also blends in Dan Brown-style mystery, and this begets an intriguing confection.

The mystery is introduced at the beginning of the book, wherein the discovery of a beautiful codex on an abandoned airstrip east of Nuevo Tortuguero, Mexico sparks a series of murders. The middle of the book follows detective Jack Sumner and his sidekick Smithy as they attempt to fit together the puzzle pieces of these bizarre and inexplicable killings, which are somehow linked to the US government.

I was particularly impressed by the concluding chapters, in which Lacey skillfully ties together the disparate plot elements, and ultimately leaves the reader on tenterhooks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2013
Slow starter, but steady action. One can get lost in this author's ADHD writing style, however, I was still able to keep up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
I enjoyed this mind-bending story, although it took me a while to disentangle the plot strands.

A man dies a few hundred yards from his house. That's unusual--and the investigators soon find themselves drawn into a mystery far more serious and far-reaching than they could have imagined. Before long, more inexplicable deaths occur, shady characters loom in the background, and leads are few and far between. Strangely, there appears to be more than one murderer at large; and almost nothing seems to link the victims.

I shan't spoil any of the revelations, but the novel's climax is both thrilling and, somewhat unusually, poses a nuanced moral dilemma for all the characters and the reader to mull over.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
Good character development and fascinating plot potential. Will read next book which should be out soon. The End moves along quite nicely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2013
The book was written very well, great description, flow, interest, but you'll have to read the next book to see what happens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.