Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Since Silent Spring
Capitalism grew out of feudalism and mercantilism, and it has served us well. By harnessing the engine of greed to our development we brought much innovation and growth which improved the lives of most. But infinite growth is impossible on a finite planet, and this book better than all others makes this point. Growth has brought with it two major problems, economic...
Published 23 months ago by George Coder

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Addendum to the book
Good update of the book. demonstrates that up to this moment the books statement are supported by the events. you need to have the book for full benefit.
Published 21 months ago by Imarim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Since Silent Spring, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
Capitalism grew out of feudalism and mercantilism, and it has served us well. By harnessing the engine of greed to our development we brought much innovation and growth which improved the lives of most. But infinite growth is impossible on a finite planet, and this book better than all others makes this point. Growth has brought with it two major problems, economic inequality and environmental destruction. And those problems have achieved crisis proportions.

However, when you have experienced 300 years of continual economic growth and never known anything else, growth takes on the strength of addiction. It becomes difficult to even see the problem, to admit that there is a problem, and that it is serious. Our politicians do not see it because they keep calling for more growth to get us out of this recession. We owe Richard Heinberg a huge debt of gratitude for documenting conclusively the end of growth, and for defending an unwelcome position in the face of a multitude of growth advocates. He is to be commended.

America After Capitalism picks up the story where The End of Growth leaves off. It offers us the solution to our problem of growth. Just like capitalism grew out of feudalism and mercantilism, the new is growing out of the old today -- A Green Democratic Capitalism. America After Capitalism points out that millions of Americans are associated with 14,500 cooperatives. Many more with credit unions, land trusts, and other collective enterprises. The book argues that there is a slow shift from the engine of greed to the engine of sharing, sharing not only with one another but with the planet.

Like Silent Spring those two books are a wake up call for our time. They look at the future and they do not see obstacles so much as they see opportunity. They see a greener more equal future. They are books our youth and their parents need to read and then start to build that future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear discussion, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
This book is a clear, global perspective of the general condition of our planet. No drama or hype (except the inherent drama of living at this time in human history), just incontrovertible facts. As always, Heisenberg is such a pleasure to read, as he presents information so lucidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Word to the Wise, June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
Anything by Richard Heinberg will educate you about the current state of the biosphere and steps that can be/are being taken to preserve it. This book is no exception. Put it on your bookshelf next to "Enough Is Enough" and "Supply Shock".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Addendum to the book, May 31, 2013
By 
Imarim (Paramaribo, Suriname) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
Good update of the book. demonstrates that up to this moment the books statement are supported by the events. you need to have the book for full benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short Update - good resources, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
Quick read. If you haven't spent much time thinking about what comes after an economy based only on continual growth, this will open your eyes a bit.
If you have been fortunate to think about the changes coming just over the horizon, this book has some decent resources (web sites) available for you to continue a personal exploration of possible "what next" scenarios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good analysis, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
A great update which brings us up to date with the current situation. A must read for people who want to understand where we stand. Looking forward for more updates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The End of Growth - update, October 21, 2012
By 
Robert McLean (Shepparton, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
I'm a Richard Heinberg fan for I see him as one of the few in the world, at least popular authors, who understand the dilemmas the world faces. I enjoyed the "update" and was hoping is would have been longer.
Sadly those who need most to hear his message are not reading his books.The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for global knowledge on our economies., November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must read for those wanting to learn more about the world economy and it's current situation and where to from here. Easy to read with clear thoughts and strategies. Strange to enjoy a book that is so alarming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The update is accurate but the even Nostradames got it right for the first few years and this was only one year later., April 12, 2013
By 
rob williams (Western Cape, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
The Iceland, Greece and Ireland crises and the ongoing recession in the USA fell inside the period of the update. China did slow down.

Anyway I agree with the argument that the lack of growth in the oil supply is curbing the growth overall of the world economies. The growth overall has become a zero sum game.

I would have given five stars but Boeing was still able to launch the dreamliner and even survive the battery fiasco. Just maybe there's a pinch of growth still left - we'll see !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I found the book to be excellent, but not on the Kindle., October 17, 2014
This review is from: The End of Growth Update: Europe & America Stumble, China Hits the Wall (Kindle Edition)
There were many useful graphs, but unlike another book I read on the Kindle, I was not able to zoom in on the details. The graphs were almost completely useless on the Kindle Paperwhite. Maybe the kindle version has been fixed by now. I bought around Dec 2013.

I ended up buying the book in hard copy, which also gave me the ability to underline and skip around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.