Customer Reviews


414 Reviews
5 star:
 (324)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


131 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love parables, you'll love this book...
Middle aged man comes home one day and starts to take stock of his life - he is failing at his job, in his marriage and with his kids. One day his car breaks down on his way to work and he has to take the bus to work - he meets a bus driver and passengers who force him to reflect on his life and a better way forward. The author, through this parable, reveals "10...
Published on December 10, 2008 by D. Kanigan

versus
47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Takes a Tired Analogy and Turns It Into a Poorly-Written Parable
The idea of getting a work team "on the same bus" has been around for years, and was notably used as an analogy in Jim Collins' Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap... and Others Don't. In this book, Gordon's bus is one full of positive energy or "E-motion".

A scant 157 pages (many of which are mostly or completely white space), this book is a quick...
Published on February 6, 2012 by gahuskerfan


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

131 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love parables, you'll love this book..., December 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
Middle aged man comes home one day and starts to take stock of his life - he is failing at his job, in his marriage and with his kids. One day his car breaks down on his way to work and he has to take the bus to work - he meets a bus driver and passengers who force him to reflect on his life and a better way forward. The author, through this parable, reveals "10 secrets" for success in life, at home and in work that lead to fulfillment and accomplishment. The 10 rules:

1) You're the driver of your bus
2) Desire, vision, and focus move your bus in the right direction
3) Fuel your ride with positive energy (negative energy is friction)
4) Invite people on your bus and share your vision for the road ahead
5) Don't waste your energy on those who don't get on your bus
6) Post a sign that says no energy vampires allowed on your bus (get rid of the malcontents)
7) Enthusiasm attracts more passengers and energizes them for the ride
8) Love your passengers by giving them your time, listening, recognition, service - work to bring out the best in them
9) Drive with purpose
10) Have fun and enjoy the ride

My assessment:

1) Easy to read, can finish in one 2 hour sitting

2) Initially comes off as "too cute" but author manages to pull you in with a simple but powerful message with some basic plays in a ground game that can win

3)Applicable to all ages from teenager on up

4)If you like parables, you'll love the story's messages. If not, you'll wonder why you didn't just jump to the excellent outline recap in the back of the book.

5) This story reminds me of the famous Albert Einstein quote: "Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler." The author succeeds in taking a frustratingly easy trap to fall into with a simple and effective path forward.

Two of my favorite excerpts:

"The goal is not to be better than anyone else but rather be better than you were yesterday."

and

"Your positive energy and vision must be greater than anyone's and everyone's negativity. Your certainty must be greater than everyone's doubt. After all, George, there will always be the doubters who doubt, doubt and doubt and tell you you can't do this and you won't be able to accomplish that. They think that dreams were meant for others but not for people like you and them. And there will even be people who don't want you to succeed because it makes them see their own weaknesses and failures. So that's how important your positive energy is George. You can always kick people off your bus and you'll need to do that from time to time but just remember that there will always be more negative people who get on. And sometimes you will have an Energy Vampire on your bus like a boss or someone who you can't kick off. You got to deal with them. That's why you got to feed the positive dog and why you got to cultivate it every day and why we gave you the Energy Book. One day is not enough, George. It's got to be a habit. Positive energy is a like a muscle. The more you use it the stronger it gets. The stronger it gets the more powerful you become. Repetition is the key and the more you focus on positive energy the more it becomes your nature state. So when someone comes at you with negativity you will be able to respond with strength and positive energy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Your Life Rolling Forward, April 22, 2007
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
I am the editor for a national newsletter and was approached to read this book to do a potential review for our readers. While I generally don't have the time to read everything I'm sent, I did glance at the first few pages of this book and, as the saying goes, "that's all she wrote."

First, the book is very easy to read and it can be read in small increments. In fact, I recommend you read a chapter a day to get the full affect. I found myself looking forward to taking 10 minutes and finding out what was going to happen next. (You would think I was talking about a mystery novel, huh?)

Second, the characters are amazing. These are people you would meet on the street (or a bus in this case). These are people you work with. These are people you have to interact with. These are REAL people doing REAL people things.

Next, the delivery of the underlying premise is excellent. This is not just a "here's your tip, now good luck making it work for you" book. Jon shows you what the main character does to change his life around the tips. He shows you the good, the bad, and the ugly - but in a wonderful way.

Finally, you will be different after you read it. I'm trying to not give away the story because I want you to experience it first hand. However, here's an hint at an example: there is a term used to describe certain people in your life. Once you've read the book, you'll be able to spot these people in a heartbeat and you will "drive a stake through their heart" for good. (My lips are sealed beyond that...so read the book to find out who these people are called!)

Now, the above was my editor's hat, quick review. Let me tell you what this did in my real life. The day I received the book, I sat down and read only 3 pages. I called to my husband, handed him the book and said, "if you read this, your life will change dramatically." This book was all about him - as if Jon had somehow gotten into my husband's psyche and understood just what he was feeling. My husband read through the book and each day we discussed it. I immediately begin to see the transformation. He became more positive. He started to believe in himself. He started to become more assertive in his relationships with his family (a MAJOR MAJOR accomplishment). He became more communicative with me. In a nutshell: MY HUSBAND GOT MORE OUT OF THIS BOOK THAN THE PAST YEAR OF CAREER/LIFE COUNSELING (that was costing us $35/week!).

As a writer, you would think I could find a way to tell you how this book is something you MUST HAVE. Yet, how do you express your feelings about something that has so substantially helped someone you love? The only thing I can say is that if you feel that you've lost who you are, and that the world is starting to overwhelm you, step onto the bus and reclaim who you are. It can only make your life better. Then, once you've changed, tell others about the book and sit back and enjoy the ride as you watch them change. Restore that belief in yourself and in your fellow humankind. Yes...you can get all that...just by reading a book!

P.S. Don't be surprised if you find that you want a bus where you live that offers all this. I know that I did! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Applies to organizational leaders AND eight-year-olds!, April 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
I love this book.

Jon Gordon has written a simple life parable that is as applicable to my eight year old (I'm reading it to her now) as it is to any adult. This parable gets you to think about the importance of positive energy in your life and how it affects every part of your life.

As a story it is engaging and fun to read, but it also mirrors real life. The story isn't all rose-colored glasses; it helps you think about your own personal habits and what hard choices might be required in order to create and maintain energy in your life.

The story is structured around 10 Rules that are easy to remember and extremely valuable. As the book ends it offers more than just a summary - it provides an action plan to help you implement each of the rules in both your work and personal life.

As I said, I am reading this book to my daughter, and I've recommended it to clients who are working on their organizational culture as well. I cannot say that about too many books - and feel that it will really be useful to both audiences - but I can say it about The Energy Bus.

If you want more energy and if you want better results (or both) I urge you to get on the Bus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Takes a Tired Analogy and Turns It Into a Poorly-Written Parable, February 6, 2012
By 
gahuskerfan (Kennesaw, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
The idea of getting a work team "on the same bus" has been around for years, and was notably used as an analogy in Jim Collins' Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap... and Others Don't. In this book, Gordon's bus is one full of positive energy or "E-motion".

A scant 157 pages (many of which are mostly or completely white space), this book is a quick read. Unfortunately, the book still manages to lack an economy of words -- due to the story being told as a parable, it largely seems as if Gordon was "filling space" by writing about the way a fictional character looked or whether or not the family dog enjoyed a good petting.

This may be all well and good for a one-hour public speaking engagement (which Gordon pimps in his parable), but this book cannot be seriously recommended for anyone who has even a modicum of management or supervisory experience. The takeaways: Prefer positive people over negative ones, be positive yourself, have a purpose, and communicate it clearly to your team. There, I just saved you ten bucks.

Instead of providing practical guidance to implement these steps, Gordon weaves a fictional story in which a self-imploding individual, threatened with both the loss of his job and divorce, turned things around to become a star manager and loving husband in two short weeks. Why wouldn't Gordon offer specific steps? Perhaps because then you wouldn't download his "action plan" for $12.

Clearly, this was the poorest-written business book I've ever read. Save your time and energy and read something with more substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot Get Too Much of This Kind of Insight, November 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
There are some great reviews below, I am doing this one both for my own notes, and to flag the book for those that follow my reading.

I've been looking over around six books on "positives" and this is clearly one of the top ones. We cannot get enough of this kind of insight, especially since most of us have been trained from birth with the war, scarcity, competition metaphor.

This is a double-spaced fast read. I recommend it be read along with Focus on the Good Stuff: The Power of Appreciation and A Complaint Free World: How to Stop Complaining and Start Enjoying the Life You Always Wanted, both of which I have also reviewed.

CEO Take-Away: Managing the Energy away from negative and toward positive is a big part of your job.

The book has an excellent story to open, and I am learning that the story, not "just the facts" is much more powerful in getting others to receive and embrace new ideas.

+ Everything happens for a reason, make the most of it.

+ The ones who most need help are the most closed off.

+ Love life, live in the moment.

The 10 rules:
01 You're the driver
02 Desire, vision, and focus TOGETHER
03 Positive energy is fuel (negative energy are the brakes)
04 Invite others to SHARE your ride
05 Don't waste energy on those who do NOT want to share your ride.
06 No energy vampires (people whose negativity will offset)
07 Enthusiasm attracts and energizes
08 Love your passengers with time, listening, recognition, service; bring out the best in them
09 Drive with purpose
10 Have fun.

The book ends with a self-survey and ideas for action.

This book at this price at this time is a VERY good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you on the Energy Bus! GET ON IT!!, May 12, 2007
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
This book has changed my life, and is a quick read, but so powerful that when you read it, you will have to stop because you will be remembering things in your life that all of a sudden make perfect sense, then you will go on with tears in your eyes because it's like everything powerful is being revealed to you in ways you never thought possible.

You can read this book in one night, simply because you can't put it down, and definitely read it with a highlighter pen because you will want to refer back to the points in it. In fact, you will need to write down the points and maybe even make a poster for your wall so you can see them at a glance every chance you get!

You will love this book, I sure do, and I have read it many times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pop religion infused motivational parable, June 16, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
I avoid these types of books like the plague, but this was required reading for work. I knew things where things were heading when I read the author's acknowledgements and found this: "Most of all I'd like to thank God..." "Your holy spirit flowed through me as I wrote this book. You strengthen me and you are the ultimate driver of my Energy Bus."

As others have pointed out, this book is incredibly immature and poorly written. Everything is black and white and easily fixed if only you believe. Being positive or negative is a simple choice, doggonit. It's all about religion and I'm guessing by all the positive reviews must appeal to someone (evangelicals?).

Amazing insights (and religious references) you'll gain:
"...when you ask someone how they are doing, an easy way to show you are listening is to actually wait for the answer and make eye contact."
"...find the bigger purpose ...and your purpose will find you."
"Too blessed to be stressed."
"Another energy convert..."
"...the ultimate GPS system (God's Positioning System)"
"All any of us really want is to be loved, and all your employees really want is your love." (Who needs a salary?)
"Great things are coming your way if you're open."
"Our thoughts are powerful because they are loaded with energy."
"...if you are open to the signs and look for them they will always tell you where your bus needs to go..."
"...tell people you will not allow any negativity on your bus." Repent or get off the bus. No infidels or skeptics allowed.
George, the main character, dreamt he was driving a bus into an abyss when "an invisible hand lifted the bus" and "an incredible feeling of peace come over him..."
"...God keeps breaking your heart until it opens."

There are references to very dubious surveys and research that I guess are meant to prop up the author's little parable. For example, "research" from the Institute of HeartMath stating "The heart's electromagnetic field is 5,000 time more powerful than the brain." Another gem for which no source is stated: "Research says [emotional intelligence] is responsible for 80 percent of adult success." and from High Energy Living research: "...in more than 95 percent of daily interactions there is no moistening in the eyes."

At least it's good to know the author is "sending positive energy your way." while we send money his way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much "The Secret" and not enough "The Goal", March 28, 2013
By 
J_C (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Maybe if you are in sales.
Maybe if you are in a job that doesn't actually produce anything concrete.
Maybe if you are in an unskilled service job.
Maybe if you are in a simple marriage where you don't have real conflict or money problems.

If pure motivation is what you need, and you have the mind of an elementary school child, this book is for you.
But if you live in the real world, where real products must be produced, and difficult services must be delivered, people have to actually take responsibility for and answers are complex, don't bother reading.

Oh, and the author is no Mark Twain, though he tries to capture an African-American bus driver's poor grammar.

My summation of the book:
Smile, be positive, be friendly, be easy to work with, look on the bright side, set goals.
There, I have saved you some money and some time, and some ENERGY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple Truths, September 21, 2009
By 
Jim Abbey (Lakewood, Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
The book begins with George leaving the house to discover a flat on his car. George is not only having problems with his car, he is under pressure at work to perform well or lose his job and is having trouble with his marriage. George hops on the Energy Bus for a ride and rules that will transform his life. Guided by the driver, Joy, he navigates and learns what he must change.

10 Rules for the Ride of Your Life
1. You're the driver of your bus.
2. Desire, vision and focus move your bus in the right direction.
3. Fuel you ride with positive energy.
4. Invite people on your bus and share the vision of the road ahead.
5. Don't waste your energy on those who don't get on your bus.

The story is a simple tale that provides bullet points for a quick life lesson. A quick read, however, not much depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Energy Bus, March 8, 2007
This review is from: The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (Hardcover)
Get on the Bus! If your struggling at work, home in life get on the energy bus. Here you will find energy and easy ideas to change your direction. An easy, quick read which leaves you energized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy
$22.00 $12.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.