Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achieve Your Dream
Being one of the founders of a business which has grown to become the largest in our industry in the world, we know few things about developing a successful business.
Some of the success traits such as deciding on your dream, will to win, taking calculated risks and never, never, never give up are the same traits which enabled Will Kellogg, Howard Johnson and Warren...
Published on September 3, 2012 by Ash D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hope is never lost
Well written book, focuses a lot on staying the course and ho wit makes all the difference. My only complaint is a lot of Rah-Rah inspirational stories, which you've probably heard before. Book is good for someone who needs the inspriation to get past their "Red-Light", but for the already established entrepreneur theres not much new information. I was hoping for more of...
Published 14 months ago by Ty Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achieve Your Dream, September 3, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
Being one of the founders of a business which has grown to become the largest in our industry in the world, we know few things about developing a successful business.
Some of the success traits such as deciding on your dream, will to win, taking calculated risks and never, never, never give up are the same traits which enabled Will Kellogg, Howard Johnson and Warren Bechtel to build world class businesses. Monica articulates these traits brilliantly in her book. Kudos to Monica for giving us the facts, vision and a road map to achieve our dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, easy to read guide to start small business, September 3, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
This book helped me go through the basics of starting up a company, it helped me clear up simple ideas with a few basics questions.
It's diversity of topics and the arrangement of them, make it very simple to follow.
Great book, very happy with it, i'll certainly go back to it as my company goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative & Inspiring, September 2, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
The author debunks certain myths associated with entrepreneurial activity and provides both inspiring and encouraging insight to starting one's own business. This book is a must read for entrepreneurs as well as those aspiring to become successful business owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitting all the right notes, September 4, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
Read some of the chapters on amazon. So far, this book is hitting all the right notes. As an entrepreneur, I know, staying the course makes all the difference. An excellent idea, a winning business case, the gut feeling that you can make it. All winning ingredients. However, without that attitude to just jump in, nothing gets baked. I am waiting to read the rest of the book. Very encouraging & positive. I need this especially when people cite everything from the economy to the politics, as to why this is not the right time to vest in a new business venture, here is a breath of fresh air. Will update the review with more feedback after I complete the book. So far all stars are bright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding the Entrepreneur Mindset, September 7, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
In her book, Monica spends a great deal of time discussing the entrepreneurial mindset, shedding light on the personality traits and risk types of these practitioners. Even with the many 'rags to riches' stories entrepreneurs share, a key aspect was their decision to not seek risk adverse opportunities in their lives. From whatever stage in their lives these folks decided to create their own opportunities, they were determined to go back in and try another idea if the current one failed.

The book is refreshing insight into the process, providing both entrepreneurial mindset discussions along with how to advice on developing a start-up. What is interesting in the discussion on start-up development is the acceptance of risk takers in the corporate environment as service providers. Rather than evaluate start-ups on their infrastructure, they are evaluated on their capabilities of providing services.

For those who view entrepreneurs or themselves as lucky or gifted, my view is 'fortune favors the bold' and this characteristic is key to success.

I highly recommend this book for the author's insight into the entrepreneurial mindset and processes. It is a key part of the discussion of the development of a culture of entrepreneurship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each and Everyone has inherent ability to succeed, September 4, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
The Lord has given each and everyone all the abilities required to succeed in any field we choose to do so. The author has done incredible job and revealed this truth in simple language as to how we all can go within ourselves and charge our self to achieve success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh perspectives for both budding & seasoned entrepreneurs, November 2, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
As someone who is constantly exploring the possibility of starting my own business, this book was extremely insightful and provided a clear framework for overcoming my hesitations. Mehta narrows in on the risks and inhibitors that are holding me back, giving me fresh perspective and renewed inspiration to tackle my business plan and make my venture a reality. The Entrepreneurial Instinct's unique foray into the impact of brain science is fascinating, and I envision would be valuable to seasoned entrpreneurs and anyone interested in the intersection between cognitive science and business. Mehta's writing is concise, conversational and weaves in compelling case studies to highlight her thesis. I learned a lot and expect to refer back to this book often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and Inspiring, September 21, 2012
By 
Meghna Rao (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
As a small business owner and business school graduate, this book clearly addresses the missing pieces you do not learn in any business school course. The way we think, feel, act and the physiology of our bodies has so much to do with our decisions and choices and this book is a must-buy and must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to be successful in business..., September 20, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
...why not listen to people who are successful in their respective fields. I think it is a unique look into what makes businesses successful and more importantly business decisions more profitable. The brain is a very powerful tool and it is refreshing for someone to look into how the brain helps us make those important decisions in life and in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrepreneurial Inspiration, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business (Hardcover)
Excellent Book! This book is a must read for anyone who dreams of starting their own company or re-energizing their existing organization. Monica's straightforward approach, cuts through the clutter, provides a framework to work within and encourages one to tap into their instincts to create success.

I plan to share this book with a group of entrepreneurial students who are working on building their dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Entrepreneurial Instinct: How Everyone Has the Innate Ability to Start a Successful Small Business
$25.00 $16.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.