Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not what it says
First of all, this is NOT, as the title claims, a cheat sheet to The Four Steps of the Epiphany.

Right in the book, on page 21, the authors state that this book focuses on the first step only (Customer Discovery). And I quote: "Future books will attempt to tackle other portions of the Customer Development process - believe us when we say that Customer Discovery...
Published on September 27, 2010 by Dan Bergevin

versus
56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Insanely High Price for a 30 Page News Article
This is book is a hack job - bad editing, very small amount of content stretched out through use of many blank pages, huge spacing, lots of drawings that add very little, tiny page size, and other tricks. Even with all their chicanery, the book is only 96 pages. It's hard to get past the lack of business integrity given the ridiculous price for this long article posing...
Published on February 16, 2011 by SH


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not what it says, September 27, 2010
By 
Dan Bergevin (danbergevin dot com) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback)
First of all, this is NOT, as the title claims, a cheat sheet to The Four Steps of the Epiphany.

Right in the book, on page 21, the authors state that this book focuses on the first step only (Customer Discovery). And I quote: "Future books will attempt to tackle other portions of the Customer Development process - believe us when we say that Customer Discovery is more than enough to 'bite off' at one time."

I am docking the book one star for this. The authors should know better.

Okay, now for the real question - Is this book worth getting, or should you just get Blank's original?

Get them both. Read Blank's first, then read this one and use it to update the notes you took from Blank's book. They work well together but I would not just get this one, as you only get a small piece of the whole picture (per the authors' own admission).

It's worth $30 if you actually use it, but don't assume it's a shortcut to Blank's book. It's only 1/4 of a shortcut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Insanely High Price for a 30 Page News Article, February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback)
This is book is a hack job - bad editing, very small amount of content stretched out through use of many blank pages, huge spacing, lots of drawings that add very little, tiny page size, and other tricks. Even with all their chicanery, the book is only 96 pages. It's hard to get past the lack of business integrity given the ridiculous price for this long article posing as a business book.

Borrow the book if you most - these guys do not deserve your money.

Other books are better and cheaper - try "Marketing Straight to the Heart" for one.
It's half the price, has 200x the amount of tips and info, and the writer has more experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, but I had to return it, April 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not sure what is going on here, but I should have read the other reviews first. Another reviewer mentioned it was only 30 pages. Seems a little longer to me, but not more than 45 or 50.

I'm giving it 2 stars because although it wasn't that bad, it's just not complete nor honest. And it's way too expensive for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy - complete rip-off, January 19, 2012
This review is from: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback)
This book is an outrageous rip-off. The authors have taken on board rather too much of their own advice and produced an exceptionally `lean' volume that does not reach even reach the standards of a "Minimally Viable Product".

Here are some useful metrics on the book. It has 103 numbered pages. However those page numbers appear to start at the blank flyleaf at the start of the book
- 20 of those pages are completely blank
- 5 pages container `filler' (A `disclaimer', `forward', `Author biographies' etc.)
- 2 more are used for the table of contents
- 10 more pages are only half-full

So do the math: for your £12 you are getting 71 pages! And these are rather small pages, with a rather large font, and a few badly drawn pictures strewn around.

One of the images (Figure 10 "Business Model Value Path"), in contrast, has a font size which renders 6 lines of text in 1 centimeter - I would judge to be about 5pt font and hence completely unreadable. But no free magnifying glass with this volume.

I heard Eric Ries talk at a conference the other day and heard him say "If you are not embarrassed by your first release then you waited to long.". Well the author's of this volume certainly didn't make that mistake. I can't say if they are embarrassed or not - but they certainly should be. Otherwise it is complete arrogance that would make them think that their trivial, low-content 71 pages are worth £12 of anybodies money.

By the way - big chunks of the information in this slim volume are also in the Reis book, so you might as well buy and read that rather than waste your money here. The rest of it you will find by Googling for around the area of `customer development' and `lean startup' for an hour or two.

A am putting my copy back in the post to Amazon to get my money back. Either don't buy this - or wait a few weeks until they are selling for a penny second-hand on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Customer Development resource, December 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback)
This book is an excellent tool to put in your Customer Development arsenal. I found it a valuable companion to The Four Steps to the Epiphany as it boils down many of the core processes outlined therein. The Customer Development process is intense and time-consuming, and learning the core concepts should't require reading a 500 page textbook. This short form resource makes it easier to learn and discuss CD as it relates to your business. I also recommend this book as part of the Customer Development education process as it's much more accessible and easier to digest than The Four Steps. Get a couple copies of The Four Steps and several copies of this book for your team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, November 6, 2010
This review is from: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback)
If you're someone who is looking to improve the way you build new products or services this is the absolute best resource. What's the #1 reason new products fail? There were no customers to buy what you built.

"The Entrepreneur's Guide" is a "cheat" sheet to Customer Development - a methodology for reducing risk in the early stages of product development when you should be focused on learning about your customers and their problems.

Brant and Patrick walk you through the key concepts, the process and steps involved with Customer Development. If you're new to the customer development process, the case studies are helpful to get the concepts across. Furthermore, the book contains email scripts to help guide you along the way. I highly recommend this book to anyone in new product development (large or small organizations) or startups!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jump Start, November 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback)
I wanted Blank's book but needed a digital edition. This is a great intro with very specific actionable items. If you're looking for fluff or tales of VC derring do then look elsewhere. If you want real advice and a proper plan then this is your book. Grab this now, read every post on Steve Blank's blog, and GET OUT OF THE BUILDING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY (BUY LEAN STARTUP INSTEAD), August 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback)
Skims over the major points. Basically all stuff you can find online. Either buy Steve Blank's book or buy Lean Startup. Took me 10 minutes to go through the entire thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and easy read if you don't have time for the original 4 steps to epiphany, January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is very straightforward (and short) when it comes to explaining Steve's book so it does exactly what it sets out to do.

I read that some people are annoyed with the 'tweets' throughout the book - To me it helped emphasis what was important.

The graphics are hard to read on a kindle but when I approached the writer (Patrick Vlaskovits) I got a pdf of the book on the same day which was very nice of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Light but timely, November 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Kindle edition has quite some typos and the illustrations (graphics) are mostly unreadable.
I get the impression the book is put together really fast.

As some reviewers on Amazon pointed out:

"the authors state that this book focuses on the first step only (Customer Discovery). And I quote: "Future books will attempt to tackle other portions of the Customer Development process - believe us when we say that Customer Discovery is more than enough to 'bite off' at one time."

All in all, it just covers 1/4 of the original Steve Blank book, and is rather light on content. On the positive side however: this book still is an example of what Kindle ebooks can and should be: timely, readable content lots of people are willing to spend money on rather than perusing tens of blogs with fragmented information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Entrepreneur's Guide to Customer Development: A cheat sheet to The Four Steps to the Epiphany
$20.27 $16.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.