The Eraser

July 10, 2006 | Format: MP3

Song Title

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: July 10, 2006
  • Label: XL Recordings
  • Copyright: 2006 Thom Yorke under exclusive licence to XL Recordings Ltd
  • Total Length: 40:54
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B000S5AIB8
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (248 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #16,539 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

If you're a fan of Radiohead, you'll enjoy Thom Yorke's solo album.
Ben N.
I like their music and I find myself playing their stuff from time to time This CD is really good.
K. Flaherty
This is a very interesting album from a production and song writing perspective.
J. Tillman

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful By A. A. Ehritz on July 12, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Amazon reviews are funny things. Let's face it. They typically go one of two ways. Either the reviewer LOVES or HATES the product and/or artist. This is rarely the place for objectivity. Hopefully this review will be different.

I'll confess up front. I love Radiohead and would have bought this album regardless. That said, let me list some of the pros and cons of this CD.

1. If you are looking for easily accessible music with deep hooks, you probably won't like this. Radiohead (and Yorke) have always been more about sonic landscapes and tone than catchy grooves. Of course, they often manage to accomplish both.The bottom line, I think, is this is an album for Thom Yorke fans.

2. Much of the disc is rooted heavily in ambient music. Although this isn't necessarily a bad thing, if you are like my best friend who has an automatic bias against music without lots of guitar, you probably won't enjoy this much.

1. As mentioned above, this album is full of atmosphere. It takes a few listens before it worms its way into you brain, but once there it becomes increasingly compelling. Have patience. Put it in the disc player in your car and try to drive around until the album is finished. Like "Kid A," this is best listened to uninterrupted (at least at first).

2. Like some of Radiohead's best tracks, much of this album is richly if subtly layered. The result is that tracks not only hold up to repeat listening, they change with increased familiarity. This material won't quickly wear thin the way overly catchy pop does.

3. Don't forget. Yorke himself is more like an instrument than a singer. His voice is simply gorgeous and compelling.

Why only 4 stars? Well, I'm still getting the feel for the disk.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
169 of 194 people found the following review helpful By Scott Bresinger on July 12, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Warning to all Radiohead fans: if electronic music turns you off, you'd best avoid this first solo album by the band's frontman Thom Yorke. Not only is it alomost completely electronic, but much of it has a mildly glitchy quality. Further, most of it isn't at all danceable (of course, I still don't get how people dance to say, drum n' bass, but they do--which is another matter entirely).

However, if you're the type of person who can easily get into the chilly, synthetic soundscapes of modern electronica, or if you just like the persona that Yorke has made for himself over the years, then this is the type of thing you'd dig. "The Eraser" is low-key electronic pop of the highest order, perhaps comparable to Radiohead songs such as "Idioteque" or "The Gloaming," but really closer to Bjork's "Homogenic" album. While this is definitely not the overwhelming masterpiece that many Radiohead fans seem to demand with each new release (only to be disappointed when they discover that it's actually made by mortal men), it's a modest thing, the perfect kind of interim release to tide us over.

Some things, of course, never change. Yorke is as anxiety-ridden and morose as ever. On most of the songs, he's pretty much resigned to being uncomfortable in his own skin. Unlike some of Radiohead's best moments, such as the uber-landmark "O.K. Computer," Yorke is at least seeing himself as part of the problem. "The Eraser" is the story of the "I"; previously, his complaints and harangues were often depersonalized and coldly observed. Some of this could be the work of Trent Reznor's nerdier brother!

A couple of moments are even overtly political. On "Atoms For Peace" he moans, like a mantra, "So may lies, so many lies, so many lies" as a way of referencing the Iraq war.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
45 of 53 people found the following review helpful By Paul Allaer TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on July 17, 2006
Format: Audio CD
It wsa quite a surprise when it was announced a few months ago that Radiohead's Thom Yorke was about to release a solo album. Unlike many releases (say, Radiohead's next album, slated for a 2007 release), there had not been a long built-up to it. The news came out, and not long thereafter, the album came out.

"The Eraser" (9 tracks, 41 min.) is very much a solo release, even if sniffs of unreleased Radiohead music is used (such as the Johnny Greenwood piano "riff" in the title track). This is basically Thom noodling at home/in the studio with electronics. There are no drums on this album, and no guitars to speak off. Also not very many melodies, which may bother a lot of people. It didn't bother me at all. This is a mood piece, pure and simple. If you like this mood (reminiscent of the title track of Radiohead's "Kid A" album), you will enjoy this a lot. If you don't, do yourself a favor and don't buy this.

It's hard to point to highlights as such, as the tracks kinds flow along (and at 41 min., this album is over before you know it, which is not a bad thing at all). My personal favorite tracks are the title track, "Black Swan" and "Harrowdown Hill", which is being released as a single in the UK. If you like "Kid A" (which happens to be my favorite Radiohead album), you surely will like this. Yet, that said, at certain points in the album, I find myself wishing that the muzzle that is around these tracks, would come off and burst into more. But that is why this is a solo release, and not a Radiohead album. Proving perhaps that the other Radiohead members contribute a lot more to the "Radiohead sound" than what is often believed to be the case.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category