Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great text, more specific recipes, dubious pictures
This is a definite must-have book -- Mr. DeGroff's reputation is such that you can trust pretty much every recipe he has in the book. If you are wondering whether to buy this book over pretty much any other similar cocktail book, I would advise you to buy it in a heartbeat.

Would I rather have it over his earlier Craft of the Cocktail? For most people, no...
Published on November 8, 2008 by D. Rivera

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book... not great.
Lots of great recipes. Not as much history as I expected. Not as many "special tips" to create a great drink as I expected....maybe my expectations are too high from a bartending book...
Published on February 4, 2010 by R. Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great text, more specific recipes, dubious pictures, November 8, 2008
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
This is a definite must-have book -- Mr. DeGroff's reputation is such that you can trust pretty much every recipe he has in the book. If you are wondering whether to buy this book over pretty much any other similar cocktail book, I would advise you to buy it in a heartbeat.

Would I rather have it over his earlier Craft of the Cocktail? For most people, no. That book covers the basics for the average home mixologist, whereas this sequel tends to discuss more advanced techniques, like certain foam toppings.

Mr. DeGroff continues to share great anecdotes about the cocktail hour in the Essential Cocktail and certainly isn't a dry writer. I also like how many of these recipes prescribe a particular brand of spirit to be used in each cocktail. This specificity is an improvement over the Craft of the Cocktail.

If I do have to criticize the book, it is that I don't always feel that the pictures jive with the recipes. Specifically, many pictures have these peel garnishes hanging off of the glass. It was my understanding that this style is not really Mr. DeGroff's, especially for those recipes calling for flamed peels. There is even a section in the book entitled "Garnishes" that advocates a style in direct contradiction to the pictures. However, I have not had the pleasure and privilege of Mr. DeGroff's live performances. Perhaps I'm wrong, but based on some of the videos I've seen of his, these drinks don't look like they've been made in the style of Mr. DeGroff. In Craft, many of the pictures features DeGroff's hands as he makes the drink. So, unfortunately I get the sense that Mr. DeGroff wrote a great book but then had Potter Publishers provide some generic pictures. A minor issue of trusting what I see that detracts from the sense that this book is all about Dale DeGroff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, but..., December 2, 2008
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
Proofread! Please! While this book isn't as riddled with misprints as Mr. DeGroff's first book, there are still mistakes aplenty. No excuse. The book is beautiful and arguably better laid out than Craft of the Cocktail which is also essential. And, of course, Dale DeGroff is as close as you can get to a cocktail oracle. But, for Chrissake, proofread it! Next time, just drop me an email, and I'll do it for free. It would be an honor. Oh, and throw some o.j. into that Ward Eight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good recipes, beautiful pictures, could have been more complete, June 4, 2010
By 
BoarderPaul (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
This was one of the first cocktail books I bought, and I still turn to it often. It's quite complete, and has beautiful photography. I also appreciated that DeGroff has included a number of his own creations, which add some interest to the book. There's a good discussion of barware, tools, techniques, etc, and just the right amount of cocktail history.

The reason it's a 4-star and not a 5-star is that ultimately it's really just another recipe book--though a very good one. Ultimately, I hope for reference books, whether they are cookbooks, cocktail books, or plumbing repair books, to tell me WHY I'm doing something and not just WHAT to do. If you're already very familiar with cocktails and are looking for some new ideas, you'll probably enjoy this book just fine. However, if you're looking for an in-depth overview of cocktails which will give you more of a sophisticated understanding of the subject, I would recommend The Joy of Mixology: The Consummate Guide to the Bartender's Craft. At the very least I would recommend you check out both books before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drink Porn or should I say Pornography for Mixologists..., October 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
Beautifully done in both material and layout,this is bound to be a must have classic tome on mixology.While it covers only about 500 recipes,it covers 500 worthwhile or essential(hence the title)cocktails, all well worthy of inclusion in a cocktail reference book - not just a compendium of every drink ever concocted (for better or worse). Almost every drink is given a short but interesting history/intro, then ingredients, directions, and photographs of the finished drink.
Larger format (quarto or about 10 1/2" Tall and 8" wide)with a rarely seen (in drinks books past or present) decent binding so it stays open nicely with tasteful graphics,easy to read type fonts,and even a nicely retro cover (under the more modern dust jacket),it combines the practical and the high art both in its content and production. A lot of thought must have gone into not only the contents of the books but also the practical aspects of it.Built not only to please the eye and palette it works well on a counter,(or better yet behind one of those clear plastic book holders),laying flat, easy to read/consult,easy to wipe pages,and logically organized with a fine array of carefully chosen drinks.
While not as exhaustive as Dales other classicThe Craft of the Cocktail: Everything You Need to Know to Make 500 of the World's Best Drinks and Host Legendary Parties It is a precis on how to do the included cocktails properly and artfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just starting out on the mixology journey, June 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
I decided it was time to start finding some more things I'd like to drink other than the 3 things I order at every bar. So I checked a bunch of books on bar tending out of the library. This is by far my favorite so I bought a copy to keep. First, it has a lot of the classic drinks that you'd get at a bar and also lots of others and all the drinks I've made so far are really great. Second, the photos are super - I pick half the drinks just by their looks alone. Third, the stories with each drink just add another layer of fun. I didn't expect to learn anything about the history of cocktails in America, but I have and it's been really fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough and fun resource, December 29, 2008
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
I was surprised how much I liked this book, especially since I am not any more interested in bartending mixology than the average reader.

It is very well layed out with beautiful photos. An earlier reviewer is indeed right that it only covers a "limited" amount, but this is still a large number, and hits on all of the famous ones. Also, the author seems to have a very good historical memory of drinks -- it's not just popular drinks of the last 20 years.

The book has sections for Classics, Martinis, Sours, Highballs, etc... In addition to the nice photos, on many pages it has an "Ingredient Note" that explains an ingredient and gives its history. It also has a section at the end on garnishes and bartending equipment. I think it was very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to have at your bar, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
I've had this book for a couple of years now and have tried at least 1/3 of the receipes. None of them have disappointed. I've given it to multiple people as a gift. It's a great starter for someone building up their home bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only cocktail book you need., December 6, 2011
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
Dale Degroff is a cocktail master. His simple recipes create perfect results every single time. I've seriously used this book more often than other recipe book in my entire kitchen. Trust me, if you want to make quick, delicious cocktails, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband. He loves it. Excellent history of cocktails and their ingredients. Recipes are quite good. A Kansas City bartender we've met said this is one of his favorite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocktailers, Stand Up and Salute Dale Degroff, February 6, 2009
This review is from: The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks (Hardcover)
When it comes to cocktails, Dale DeGroff is the expert. His book, Craft of the Cocktail, is a classic. But we like Essential Cocktail as well. You just can't have too many of his books. When you flip through, different things catch your eye. It also seems to get into a little more technique, and we like the appendix section with the different barware and garnishes. It's our go-to book before weekend house guests show up, and we never run out of inspiration for the perfect weekend drink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks
The Essential Cocktail: The Art of Mixing Perfect Drinks by Dale DeGroff (Hardcover - October 28, 2008)
$35.00 $23.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.