Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD DEAL
Essential packages or Greatest Hits often times aren't the best way of becoming familiar with an artists work. However when the tracks are personally selected by the man himself it thankfully provides an excellent primer for Montoya's percolating brand of R&B and soul/ blues. The Albert Collins and John Mayall protege is a master showman who can fire off tight leads...
Published on October 20, 2009 by dickydo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
An OK album
Published 8 months ago by Bob in Colorado


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD DEAL, October 20, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Essential Coco Montoya (Audio CD)
Essential packages or Greatest Hits often times aren't the best way of becoming familiar with an artists work. However when the tracks are personally selected by the man himself it thankfully provides an excellent primer for Montoya's percolating brand of R&B and soul/ blues. The Albert Collins and John Mayall protege is a master showman who can fire off tight leads with the best. The opening track, a cover of Robert Ward's "Fear No Evil" starts things off beautifully. "Am I Losing You", and "Sending Me Angels" are mid tempo gems showcasing warm expressive vocals in Montoya's signature rich deep baritone. Hopefully this will lead you to all his Blind Pig recordings from the 90's which are all still in print and without question his best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICK ""SHAQ" GOLDSTEIN SAYS: "TOE-TAPPING BLUES-ROCK & MESMERIZING BALLADS.", October 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Coco Montoya (Audio CD)
I'm an electric-blues fanatic and my all-time favorites are Albert King, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Buddy Guy, Otis Rush, Luther Allison and Albert Collins. And when you think of these string bending blues-men you think of down and dirty... growling... rough and tumble blues. This CD of early Coco Montoya songs is a combination of blues... blues rock... and blues ballads. Coco's music doesn't emanate the kind of blues that takes you down dark alleys... jail cells... gun battles and painful physical destruction. At least not like the other fella's I just mentioned. And that isn't necessarily a bad thing. With Albert... Stevie... Buddy... and the boys... you know going in you're going to be tumbling in the mud and if you're wearing a new suit it's going to be a filthy mess. But what Coco presents on this CD is such a beautiful... velvety voice... that it seems almost too beautiful to be singing the blues. The imagery that his "blues" voice creates is one where Coco is wearing a brand new white suit... and as he jumps into muddy water... he comes out on the other side without a spec of dirt on his clothes. His guitar work is in a different category than my favorite "six". Where Stevie and Buddy can bend thick "steel-girders" with their magical blues fingers... and your ears can literally "see" the mystical reshaping of those strings... Montoya's strings are like *SILK-ON-POLISHED-STEEL*. This CD contains twelve songs that total fifty-seven-minutes-and-thirty-six-seconds... and everyone of them... rock and ballad alike are flawless.

Coco Montoya on this CD delivers a combination of voice and guitar that is absolutely pristine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, February 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Friends recently introduced me to Coco Montoya. After hearing him play at a club in NJ, I got this album and have not stopped playing it since. Fantastic guitarist, great voice, thrilling music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guitar CD, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Coco Montoya (Audio CD)
Love it. I saw him at the Guitar town Music Fest in Copper Mountain this year & was impressed by both his guitar playing & singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compilation, February 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Coco Montoya (Audio CD)
Sometimes when an artist or record label offers a retrospective collection of the artist's earlier recordings you get a mish-mash of songs, outtakes, or even new material that really doesn't do justice to the artist. That is not the case with this collection of songs from Coco Montoya's early Blind Pig catalog. I was very pleased with the selection of songs as I feel they really do showcase his musical talents. I have always thought Mr. Montoya was an exceptional guitar player with a soulful voice. The song "Am I Losing You" is a great example of this. For those who like Coco Montoya and want to backdate their catalog, this is an excellent opportunity to do so and save big bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 7, 2014
By 
Bob in Colorado (Montrose Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Coco Montoya (Audio CD)
An OK album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guitar and Vocals, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first saw Coco at the San Jose Jazz Festival this year (2012). I was blown away by his guitar skills. His playing reminded me of Gary Moore who is/was (died at 50 something 2010)a great and under rated guitarist. This album is a great listen and displays both guitar and vocal skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WoW(!) Essential indeed..., January 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Coco Montoya (Audio CD)
I rotate CDs in and out of the car from a collection of about 350. Somehow this album always makes the cut of the dozen or so albums I stash in the visor. I've had it something like 3 years now, and so the review isn't an initial impression. The album is one that becomes a favorite, and stays that way even after the 2,000th time it's been played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album from a tremendous guitarist, February 9, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Coco Montoya (Audio CD)
Great album from a tremendous guitarist. Fantastic voice as well. Can't wait to buy more from Coco.
Quick shipping and disk in great condition. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I saw him in concert, August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just saw him in concert and had to get this "best of" album. Fabulous music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Essential Coco Montoya
The Essential Coco Montoya by Coco Montoya (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.