Start reading The Essential Performance Review Handbook on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
Start reading this book in under 60 seconds
Read anywhere, on any device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

The Essential Performance Review Handbook: A Quick and Handy Resource For Any Manager or HR Professional [Kindle Edition]

Sharon Armstrong
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: $14.99 What's this?
Print List Price: $14.99
Kindle Price: $9.92
You Save: $5.07 (34%)

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $9.92  
Paperback $10.44  
Kindle Business Book Daily Deal
Today only, Srikumar Rao's "Happiness at Work" is on sale for only $1.99. Shop now

Book Description

“The Essential Performance Review Handbook turns the writing of such appraisals from a tedious paperwork chore to a powerful management and motivational tool—a valuable new way of thinking about an old task.”
—Robert Bly, author of 101 Ways to Make Every Second Count

“This book should be required reading for all employers and their supervisors.”
—Henry P. Baer, former chair of the labor & employment law practice, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Are performance reviews at your company like fruitcake--you get it every year whether you want one or not? It doesn’t have to be like that. Because everyone wants to know how they’re doing, how they measure up, and what their chances are for advancement and rewards. And they want to do things right.

The Essential Performance Review Handbook will help you understand why performance reviews:
  • Serve as an important business tool.
  • Motivate personnel and increase productivity.
  • Help achieve your company goals.
  • Improve manager-employee communication.
  • Reduce your risk of legal liability.

    Whether you’re a manager or a HR professional, this is an indispensable resource to help you create confident, motivated, and productive employees.


  • Editorial Reviews

    Review

    "The Essential Performance Review Handbook turns the writing of such appraisals from a tedious paperwork chore to a powerful management and motivational tool--a valuable new way of thinking about an old task."
    --Robert Bly, author of 101 Ways to Make Every Second Count

    "This book should be required reading for all employers and their supervisors."
    --Henry P. Baer, former chair of the labor & employment law practice, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

    About the Author

    Sharon Armstrong has served as director of human resources at a law firm and several other organizations in Washington, DC. Since launching her own consulting business in 1998, she has provided training and completed HR projects dealing with performance
    management design and implementation for a wide variety of clients. She is the coauthor of The Essential HR Handbook.

    Product Details

    • File Size: 1773 KB
    • Print Length: 224 pages
    • Publisher: Career Press; 1 edition (May 20, 2010)
    • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
    • Language: English
    • ASIN: B003N7MT2O
    • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
    • X-Ray:
    • Lending: Enabled
    • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #145,861 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
    •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


    Customer Reviews

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews
    8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars Applicable for a breadth of leadership roles November 6, 2010
    Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
    This book gave me pretty much what I wanted, which are some best practices for conducting performance reviews. The author illustrates why performance reviews are important to employees, which is often a task that most managers dread. I appreciated the fact the book covers the key elements in performing reviews, as well as varying scenarios that can occur during reviews, in which examples are provided.

    Also covered are the different types of reviews, scoring matrices, compensation, and compliance rules. While the book is geared toward anyone in a leadership role, I believe those who are in an HR position would benefit more from this book, as many of the book's examples are out of my control (i.e. as a manager, I simply employ the type of review established at my company).

    The only downside to this book is that over 1/3 of it (70 pages!)contain example review forms. Once again, I must abide by the review form engineered by my company's HR leaders, thus I gained little from those pages.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars From the Manager's Perspective July 27, 2010
    Format:Paperback
    As a manager who has to routinely give, as well as receive, performance reviews, Ms. Armstrong's book is spot on in terms of the fears and tribulations that manager's go through when being required to go through the review process. As we all know, it is imperative that the annual review is not the only point in time during the year our employee's are reviewed on their performance and that it really is the culmination of a year's worth of discussions. Sharon's book brings this out in terms of the whole performance review process and how it does not have to be stressful for the manager, as well as for the employee. She rightly points out that it is a dialogue and presents the step by step approach to make this conversation much more fruitful for the employee. I would highly recommend this book to those new to the manager's role who need to do performance appraisals on their staff.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent primer for all employees June 6, 2010
    Format:Paperback
    Sharon Armstrong, in her book, THE ESSENTIAL PERFORMANCE REVIEW HANDBOOK, bottom-lines the goal of the performance appraisal process:

    "... these formal interactions between employees and their direct supervisors point out employee's strenghts and weeknesses, and include assessing the achievemnt of previous goals and setting new ones for the employee to work toward... Ideally the performance review is constructive, separate from discussion of compensation, and contains no surprises. It should reflect a series of discussions or mini-reviews that have been conducted throughout the year." (p 14)

    Unfortunately, that ideal perspective is more goal than reality; realistically, most employees would argue their experience with the review process differs. Most employees do not get regular and explicit feedback from their managers and, consequentially, feel blind-sided by their manager's assessments.

    The fact is that most large firms hold dear the appraisal process -- for fear of litigation by its employees from suits of unfair treatment, termination, discrimination, or harassment. By preparing and confirming delivery of a performance review in writing, companies hide behind the process as their ability to document status of work and goals, areas of problems, areas of strengths. Whether the employee agrees or not, the company has its documented file... just in case.

    Despite my cavil, Sharon Armstrong shares crucial guidance and pointers throughout the book:

    Excellent:
    '- Fine overview of the employee's and manager's feelings towards this process. (p 15)
    '- Guides both a supervisor and employee as to why a good performance appraisal process can be important.
    Read more ›
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    Format:Paperback
    As HR Director at a Washington, DC based trade association, I've had to prepare PowerPoint and training presentations around the subject of performance reviews, so I thought I've seen and heard it all. That was until I read "The Essential Performance Review Handbook". Sharon Armstrong has done a great job at capturing the essentials enhanced with sidebars, examples, and checklists that work for everyone. This book is a must read for anyone that wants to improve their performance evaluation and review experience.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Performance Review Handbook April 4, 2012
    Format:Paperback
    Ah, the dreaded performance review: You and your employee feel uncomfortable. Together, you either inadequately address issues that really matter or just mechanically fill out and sign appraisal forms. You both leave the meeting dissatisfied. If this describes the way you conduct employee evaluations, take heart: It doesn't have to be like that. In fact, if you handle the performance review process properly, it can make you and your staff happier, increase productivity and keep your most talented people from looking elsewhere. Human resources consultant Sharon Armstrong provides a practical guide, complete with helpful checklists and sample documents. getAbstract believes that managers who suffer performance-review anxiety just need to follow Armstrong's deft advice and soon they'll look at employee evaluations as productive, effective tools for reaching company goals.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know June 20, 2011
    Format:Paperback
    Doing a performance review is tough, but Sharon makes it easy with her conversational style, samples, tips, and suggestions. The book is a quick read and puts you in the right frame of mind to make the performance review process a constructive two-way conversation, not a punishing task. It's a great resource for any office.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Most Recent Customer Reviews
    5.0 out of 5 stars A workplace essential
    At my job we have to write our own performance reviews then our manager reviews them and makes their edits and comments. Read more
    Published 5 months ago by Deborah
    5.0 out of 5 stars Ordered as reference for work
    We were re-doing performance reviews and evaluations at work. This book had some great ideas and we used it as a reference quite a bit.
    Published 7 months ago by Tasha Crandall
    4.0 out of 5 stars Good Place to Start.
    If your new to writing performance reviews this is a good book to get you started. I performed my first review using this book as a guideline and it went well.
    Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer
    4.0 out of 5 stars Good Methodology
    It was a good general text to start thinking about questions to pose for conducting a performance review. Read more
    Published 13 months ago by Alisson Atwell
    4.0 out of 5 stars Great refresher material.. or if it's your first time reviewing...
    It's that time of the year again for employee reviews and I decided to read this book to see if there was something I could learn to make the experience better. Read more
    Published 20 months ago by Robert Kirk
    5.0 out of 5 stars performance review handbook
    this is a very good book that contains excellent suggestions. it is very helpful and i would definitely recommend this book.
    Published on May 20, 2012 by kp
    5.0 out of 5 stars Performance Reviews--the proper way!
    Sharon Armstrong has hit a home run with her new book, "The Essential Performance Review Handbook". This valuable handbook provides a clear and concise tool for executing fair and... Read more
    Published on February 1, 2011 by Carol A. Wells
    5.0 out of 5 stars Madelyne D'Angelo, Senior Director, HR Administration, L-3 STRATIS
    A tremendous mix of authentic case studies, information, and skills discussion support a truly clear and functional tool for BOTH managers and employees. Read more
    Published on July 8, 2010 by Madelyne D'Angelo
    5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference For HR Managers
    As an HR Consultant, I am always on the lookout for best practices and the latest research. This book is a great tool that I will provide to all my clients.
    Published on July 5, 2010 by Kimberly M. Keating
    Search Customer Reviews
    Search these reviews only

    More About the Author

    Sharon Armstrong began her career in human resources in 1985 as a recruiter/trainer in a large Manhattan law firm. Since launching her own consulting business in 1998, she has provided training and completed HR projects for a wide variety of clients. She is the author of Stress-free Performance Appraisals.



    Forums

    There are no discussions about this product yet.
    Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
    Start a new discussion
    Topic:
    First post:
    Prompts for sign-in
     


    Look for Similar Items by Category