Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and evocative, April 3, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
The first part of the book contains the instructions on how to pray the Rosary, as I would expect in any Rosary book. It is after that that this book differs from most of the other small Rosary guides. Each Mystery is introduced with an appropriate Biblical passage (The Annunciation is introduced by Luke 1:35) and closed with a prayer by Caryll Houselander that reflects the nature and spirit of that Mystery.
A fine way to enrich your study of the Rosary, or to add more thoughts and meditations on the Holy Mysteries. If you want to deepen your spiritual approach to the Rosary, this book will be a loved addition to your library. The book is small enough to be included in almost anyone's luggage, or even in a large pocket, bag, or purse, and can therefore be taken along as a pocket resource on the Rosary and the relevent Biblical passages. Since I occasionally make gemstone Rosaries, I am often asked to recommend a book, and have found this book to be an excellent accompaniment to the gift of a Rosary.
If you are looking for more information about the history of the Rosary instead, then I suggest "Stories of the Rose" or any of the other fine books on the Rosary's history and practice, as this small book does not cover historical practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for everyone, April 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
This is a great book. For beginners it has bead-by-bead instructions and diagram. For people that already know the rosary it has Prayers at the end of each Mystery. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have! God Bless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless Caryll Houselander, November 19, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
A valuable introduction to the Rosary for newcomers; a welcome refresher-course for those who might be out of practice. Veterans of the Rosary will doubtless value the fifteen poem-prayers that Caryll Houselander (1901-1954) wrote for each of the Mysteries: each prayer, a small masterpiece of ardour, humility, and unpretentious artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tool!, September 14, 2007
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
We use this book often, it helps the children remember what they are meditaiting on and they have asked more questions becasue of it. I have found that it makes a great gift when given with a Rosary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book!, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
The art and prayers add richness to praying the rosary. Caryll Houselander is one of my favorite spiritual writers. Her background during and after the war in England (WWII) influences the prayers she writes for the whole world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
For anyone of any age, beginner or not this book is rich in Devotional prayers to Our Lady and Her Son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prayer Guide, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
Wonderful words of wisdom to help you with the praying of the Roasry. Caryll Houselander has a wonderful way of expressing truths of our faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Rosary (Paperback)
thank-you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Essential Rosary
The Essential Rosary by Caryll Houselander (Paperback - May 1996)
Used & New from: $3.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.