Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 150 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT BUSINESS ETIQUETTE
Before I sent my young staff out into the professional world, I asked them to read this book. I thought it might help them learn basics like how to handle themselves in a business meeting; how to dress; how to represent the company. It has done all that. What's more, each member of my staff has told me that he or she found the answer to a pressing question (for...
Published on March 7, 2000 by Diana Amsterdam

versus
30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only For Those With Little or No Work Experience
This book was advertised as though it would be valuable for any professional. This is absolutely not the case. This book covers very, very basic guidelines and does so in an overview type fashion. I would recommend this book for college graduates or those who are employed at entry level jobs and are seeking advancement.
Published on September 17, 2004 by M. C. Ciulla


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 150 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT BUSINESS ETIQUETTE, March 7, 2000
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
Before I sent my young staff out into the professional world, I asked them to read this book. I thought it might help them learn basics like how to handle themselves in a business meeting; how to dress; how to represent the company. It has done all that. What's more, each member of my staff has told me that he or she found the answer to a pressing question (for example, the exact correct form for a memo).
They don't teach this stuff in business school.
This isn't a rulesy book. The etiquette isn't handed down as law or must-dos; rather it is practical, real, down-to-earth, useful advice for everybody who needs to succeed in a professional or corporate environment. There is LOADS of practical information in these 550 pages: everything from how to write a Policies and Procedures Manual (information I might actually need if my business keeps growing) to the proper use of business cards (and how to make them look good). The book is also, dare I say, moral or ethical in its viewpoint: it posits that doing things courteously, considerately, thoughtfully and honestly, is THE SAME AS doing them in a way that helps you be a winner. I like that. I think it's true.
You can use the book either as a read-through or as a spot reference. For example, if you're about to go to your first trade show or convention, read the four pages on the subject, and you'll know EVERYTHING you need -- including such details as precisely where to wear your name tag. (This, like all the information given, is in here not for propriety's sake but for real reasons; the best place to wear your name tag is the place it best communicates your name.)
Even an old hand at grammar found a few useful tips in the excellent sections on business writing. Ah, if only everybody who corresponds with me had read this, I would be needing a lot less aspirin.
Although I didn't personally need the chapter on finding a job, I think it's as good as any I've seen -- thorough yet not extreme, giving advice that you can actually take.
Buy it for your office and keep it where everybody can read. You'll see people picking it up all the time, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in Class, January 22, 2002
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
We provide this book to undergraduate students enrolled in a business-engineering program to prepare them for situations they may encounter in their first jobs. These situations frequently fall into the "what you don't know you don't know" category of student knowledge.
Besides preparing them for their first encounters with formal behavior in "informal" business situations (often in job interviews), this book we believe will serve as a useful reference for them as they advance into management. The book is well-organized and well-written. It covers a number of very specific situations that, even if they never occur in one's direct experience, convey the elements of common sense and consideration that underly all etiquette.
The authors thankfully avoid spending time on how to arrange the seating at a state dinner or how to address the Belgian ambassador, a common mistake in books of this genre. What they offer is practical, useable advice on the types of real social interactions that occur in business. A very useful book and well worth the price. Definitely five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Succeed In Business!, June 26, 2000
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
A must-read for anyone who aspires to handle challenging business situations with skill and grace. The Posts provide guidance in navigating the choppy waters of the business world with intelligence, candor, and skill. Most importantly, they let you know which practices are relevant, which are obsolete, and what you must know about the changing face of etiquette as technology advances and the world becomes closer. Their message--that highly effective people are also courteous people--is truer than you'll ever know. The next time you have a client dinner or a staff meeting, thumb through this book first. You'll be glad that you did! --Isadora Fox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on subject, October 8, 2001
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
This is by far the best business etiquette book on the market. The freshness and depth of the Writing and Speaking chapters alone make it worth the price. Never stodgy, the book covers all the bases with clarity and wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only For Those With Little or No Work Experience, September 17, 2004
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
This book was advertised as though it would be valuable for any professional. This is absolutely not the case. This book covers very, very basic guidelines and does so in an overview type fashion. I would recommend this book for college graduates or those who are employed at entry level jobs and are seeking advancement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good add on to the shelf, September 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book has many interesting facts on top of what we already know as someone who has been in the workforce for many years.
An interesting read and a good quick reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent all-around etiquette book., April 14, 2002
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
This book is filled with practical advice for practically every occasion. I bought The Etiquette Advantage years ago, and it helped me tremendously. Now, I work in Career Counseling and have passed along the information to many grateful people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, January 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
A friend gave me this book, and I could barely quit browsing it. Some of the information may be old hat, but the book works as a comprehensive guide to business etiquette. And the witticisms buried here and there gave me a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book should be read and given to employees who lack etiquette is pretty embarrassing when you go out with clients and co workers don't know how to eat or behave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Key Reference Guide, April 25, 2000
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success (Hardcover)
This is the complete and full listing of Etiquette in Business. The Posts have done a great job of bringing together a great deal of information into an easy to read format. - Clint Greenleaf, author of "Attention to Detail"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.