Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book to get: covers topics other guides don't
I've read a number of "paranormal investigating" how-to books, but this is the one I'm most impressed with. First, it covers topics the other guides don't: a history of hauntings through the ages, following scientific protocols and team member accountability, and mapping power sources and natural anomalies (and that's just the beginning--I've learned more from this book...
Published on September 28, 2009 by Star Girl

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Hunting Book
This has got basic descriptions for most everything a ghost hunter would do coupled with a few selections of ghost examples along the way. The language is easy to read.
Published on June 8, 2011 by teacherlady


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book to get: covers topics other guides don't, September 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
I've read a number of "paranormal investigating" how-to books, but this is the one I'm most impressed with. First, it covers topics the other guides don't: a history of hauntings through the ages, following scientific protocols and team member accountability, and mapping power sources and natural anomalies (and that's just the beginning--I've learned more from this book than any of the others I've read). Second, each topic is covered in depth, and in many cases it takes the reader through a step-by-step how to. Third, it's well written and concise.

This book is not only a wonderful primer for beginners, but a good resource to have for intermediates as well as those who are seasoned: everything is easily found using the index, so it's a great reference guide. In addition, those who aren't paranormal investigators (such as writers and journalists) who need to research the topic in order to sound knowledgeable about what they're writing will also find this invaluable.

If you're looking for a well-researched book that covers every topic in paranormal investigating, get this one. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro reader, amateur ghost hunter, July 5, 2010
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
I have only been on a few ghost hunts with professional investigators, but never on my own. So I decided, from what I had experienced, that I wanted to explore paranormal investigation, ghost hunting in particular, in more depth. I had heard a lot of good things about Ms. Ellis' book, so I bought it and devoured it. Not only was it full of extremely helpful information, but was fun to read. I had some issues with how expensive this "hobby" might get, but after coming to the logical result that to do anything well you must have the proper tools, I purchased the equipment suggested by this book. I can't say enough about this book for a semi-amateur ghost hunter like myself. What a find! I highly recommend this book. Kudos to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT GUIDE!!, June 9, 2010
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
I have no clue what "Marve" read. For that matter, its obvious Marve doesn't know what Marve read! Too bad, because this extremely well written book offers the novice researcher everything he or she needs to know to make a decision as to whether paranormal investigation is for them. This field requires the participant to open their closed mind, not to slam the door and lock it.

THE EVERYTHING GHOST HUNTING BOOK delivers what the title promises and then some. It is highly entertaining, but at the same time its also a painstakingly researched factual guide to all aspects of paranormal research and investigation. Unlike many "guides" before it, it provides the rarely seen diverse insights of actual investigator's working in this field.

Buy this book, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
Great book. Has a lot of good information. Used this book to get my beginner equipment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 23, 2010
By 
B. Klein "philly fan" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
I read This book for the first time and I was very impressed. I am only an amateur ghost hunter and enjoyed the book very much. Loaded with lots of hints and it is an easy read. I think that this book will not disappoint the seasoned ghost hunter as well as the beginning investigator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything, December 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
The book is very factual with most of the information that the author has presented. Would recommend any Ghost Hunter to read this book for some tips on like how to dress, tools, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, March 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
This book touched on all topics of the business of ghost hunting and gave a list of other books to read on particular topics. It was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone who wants to start ghost hunting!, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
Even though I have learned a lot about ghost hunting by watching all of the shows on t.v., this book is a must have. It explains in great detail all of the various aspects of ghost hunting from the types of hauntings to ways to protect yourself and conduct an investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Comprehensive Nut Shell, April 10, 2012
By 
Lu Velazquez (Pueblo, Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world (Paperback)
I have been conducting paranormal research for at least fifteen years. I am currently writing my own book regarding an aspect of this topic. I used "The Everything Ghost Hunting Book" as further research material and was delightfully surprised. I was expecting a rather cursory view since the book title has the word "Everything" in it. Granted, each of the topics that this book addresses could be an entire book of its own. However, I think the strength of this work is that it actually does take the realm of all things paranormal and address them in an entertaining and a cunningly concise manner. There are a few pictures sprinkled throughout and some real life investigation stories to stimulate the appetite for more. This book provides the technical aspects as well as the use of psychics during an investigation. It also deals with the subject of protection and provides reasonable warnings not to take the act of paranormal investigation too lightly. "The Everything Ghost Hunting Book" is a great learning tool for anyone interested in exploring the world of the paranormal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource book!, June 21, 2013
By 
Laura Jo Farries (Stafford, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a fan of ghost hunting books and shows, I really liked this book. It gave some interesting stories, some good references and some good advice for beginning ghost hunters. I enjoyed reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Everything Ghost Hunting Book: Tips, tools, and techniques for exploring the supernatural world
Used & New from: $19.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.