Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide
This book is a very good guide particularly for new genealogists but is also a great refresher for more experienced ones. It is well organized and comprehensive. It is written in a straightforward manner and well indexed so that it is easy to use and find the various topics that the author is writing about.
Published on April 6, 2011 by Bob Keane

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not a new edition
This is a good book. For 2011, it has a new cover and a new layout. The new cover says "2nd Edition." A new edition normally means new contents. Buyers should be aware that in this case, the contents appear not to have changed substantially from the earlier version in 2008. The use of "2nd Edition" is somewhat misleading, and you don't want to buy this one if you have the...
Published on December 20, 2012 by Michael Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide, April 6, 2011
By 
Bob Keane (Fernandina, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
This book is a very good guide particularly for new genealogists but is also a great refresher for more experienced ones. It is well organized and comprehensive. It is written in a straightforward manner and well indexed so that it is easy to use and find the various topics that the author is writing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All inclusive search tips, October 21, 2011
By 
M. S. Gluck (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
For someone who has a new interest in genealogical research, this book gives a great overview. It provides ways and means for searching and what to do with the info to find even more info. It also has a straightforward, easy to read format. Very helpful all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great genealogy research guide, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
I recommend this book for your library, if you are doing any extent of genealogy research. Lots of great ideas, and reminders for what veterans may have forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but not a new edition, December 20, 2012
By 
Michael Carroll (Oro Valley, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
This is a good book. For 2011, it has a new cover and a new layout. The new cover says "2nd Edition." A new edition normally means new contents. Buyers should be aware that in this case, the contents appear not to have changed substantially from the earlier version in 2008. The use of "2nd Edition" is somewhat misleading, and you don't want to buy this one if you have the earlier one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it is difficult to find free sites that give genealogy info., June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
This book is a good reference. It also supplies you with free genealogy sites, which are hard to come by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am so excited about the help this book has given me. I was looking for a general how to book on genealogy but this book is extensive. My Grandfather was a Veteran and this book actually gives all the information and contacts for recovering his Military records. It's thorough and well written and will help anyone with modern day genealogy research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A big help, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
Has made my genealogy research a little easier, lots of good suggestions for sites that have helped me solve a family mystery. Also found bible pages and manuscripts that I might have missed without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is it for internet genealogy, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
This book has just about there is to know about internet genealogy. It begins with a lot of the other things that you need to know to do genealogy such as interviewing relatives and looking for information that you already have at home.The only way it could be improved is by giving sample questions to ask on an interview.

Cathy Goodwin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all!, October 28, 2014
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
Kimberly Powell’s “The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy”, 2nd edition, is an excellent reference book that gives countless links to websites that will be useful in genealogical research. She covers topics from the basics of family history research to organizational tips in depth. In depth attention is given to each major type of record; such as birth, death, marriage, military, census, immigration and more. In the Kindle version of the book, the links are clickable and make it so easy to just click to the database she is discussing. This can actually make staying on track when reading the book hard; but if you consider this a working reference guide, it is good. Powell gives many ideas for workaround solutions if you hit a brick wall in your research.
The book’s audience is someone doing genealogy or family history research; it is simple enough to be very helpful for a complete novice that is just getting started, but it is still comprehensive enough to be very useful for the seasoned researcher. This book is a definite keeper; it is one that you will be referring to often; and when you hit a brick wall in the research, you can go to that section of the book and will probably find something useful to bust down that obstacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a good reference book., August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to trace your roots, share your history, and create a family tree (Paperback)
This is a gift, so I didn't read it. I skimmed through it and it looked to have a lot of very good ideas for ways to search for your ancestry online. It was updated in 2011, so the links that I tried on my computer were still valid. My sister is just getting into the genealogy of our family, so I hope she likes it. It looks like it would be useful even for somebody who does genealogy a lot, with many tips about places to look that you wouldn't think of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.